Phone Scoop

printed April 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=277

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 2285 / 2275

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  18  

Average Ratings

3.92
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Good phone, but better ones are out there (2126i)

 

Nov 29, 2005 by dwbdave

This phone held up well, but I deactivated the ones I had and moved the service to the Nokia 2126i model.

Battery life was OK, but for the phone's size, the battery should have been upsized. I would have not chosen this phone based on appearance, I never got accustomed to its goofy appearance. The keypad was OK, it functioned well despite its layout (each row of three keys was one oval bar).

Three advantages this phone had over other Tracfones I used:
The display screen is larger and more easily readable than others, but is monochrome, not color.
The GPS capability of this phone is selectable, meaning that you can set it to be located full time vs only during a 911 call. This was no real advantage to me, since I'm not a (hardcore) conspiracy buff and wasn't using it for nefarious purposes.
This phone appears to be more durable than other Tracfones I have used.

I chose the 2126i to replace this model, and so far have been pleased with the move. The 2126i, cousin of the Nokia Shorty, is a little smaller, weighs a little less, has a larger, more powerful battery, color display, and a speakerphone. Click on my profile above and email me if you wish for more info.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Less is More!!! (Great Phone)

 

Sep 2, 2005 by eyeluvfonez

Greetings Mobile Users. This phone is an awesome starter/replacement/or just daily use phone.

Some PROS are.... Its small, compact. The design is real sleek and updated. The phone itself is quite durable (I would drop the thing all the time-and mine didn't have a case!-yet it barely even scratched and always displayed perfect!) I had great reception during the time I had it. It had three nice games and has Blue Back lighting. You can also buy face plates for this phone. Oh, and one feature that I really enjoyed(although its very simple)is that the antenna is pushed flush and smooth on the phone, so u dont have to worry about a protruding stub poking out of your phone. And overall it is just a great phone that does what it is intended to do...make calls!

As far as CONS go....I bought this phone to replace one that I had used through the "Cricket" carrier-I bought this phone through the Tracfone Prepaid and honestly that was my only CON,( the airtime was too high for the minutes you recieve)That was the only reason I got rid of this awesome phone.

If your mobile needs are simple-Cute phone, A few games, Couple of nice tones...Durable and Actually Make CALLS!!!-Then this phone is Definitely the one for you!( I just recommend that you shop around for carriers-B/C "Tracfone-in my opinion was TERRIBLE!!! I honestly would still have the phone today if I could've had better air time rates.-But Like Stated earlier-the phone is awesome for what it was intended for!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


I like it.

 

Oct 20, 2004 by oleg106

I like simple phones that are phones and not cameras and flashlights. Battery life and reception are more important to me than color screens and Get It Now. Prior to getting this phone, I had used a V60c for about two years, and after it died, I tried the Samsung SCH-a670 and Nokia 6015i for a while. I like this phone the most. The reception is good, and the battery life is excellent.

PROS:
small, light
huge, bright, easy to read screen
good reception
excellent battery life
changing the snap-on covers replaces the screen and keypad, this is a big plus if you carry the phone in your pocket - replacing the cover pretty much gives you a new phone
good features and menus
calc, games, etc

CONS:
bad selection of ring tones
when you are in a no reception zone, the phone will search for a while and then it will go in to a "no reception" save mode - the issue is that sometimes it doesn't recover from this mode for minutes after you are back in a normal zone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Small & Sturdy

 

Mar 26, 2005 by republican_guy

Let me preface this review by saying that this was purchased as a TracFone.

First off the Nokia 2285 has a nice sturdy feel to it. Some of the phones offered by TracFone have a very cheap appearance and feel to them.

This display and keypad are decent sized and extremely well lit. It almost glows and are very easy on the eyes.

The Menus are easy to navigate and the instruction manual, while daunting at first is pretty much not needed for basic functions.

Pros: Better than average reception, Easy to read Battery & Signal levels, Intuitive menu system, Inexpensive accessories.

Cons: The Antenna is hard to extend for people with trimmed fingernails.

Overall the Nokia 2285 is a real good choice for the TracFone program. You can actually pay more for the Motorola 120t and get a more cheaply made phone that is not nearly as good.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Got it and love it!

 

Sep 29, 2010 by usedirection

I bought this phone back in august with the Tracfone service provider. I must say that not only is this phone the perfect size it really fits wonderfully into my life in other facets as well. I am a little clumsy....Thankfully after dropping this phone a number of times it still hasnt broken. This phone is indestructible.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


very good phone

 

Sep 29, 2010 by jinders9

I have this phone with tracfone and truly believe in its ability. This phone has a cool calculator that works well for generating tips at restaurants. If you want a good phone at good price you may want to look into this one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good inexpensive, basic phone

 

Aug 14, 2006 by pLuTa

I got this phone for only $20, with some airtime included. i can't remember how much, it was a long time ago, but i don't think they have that deal anymore. However, if you can get a good deal on this phone as i did, and you only need a very basic phone I would recommend it.

The phone has a black & white screen, but since there's nothing fancy on the phone, it is fine. the plus side is you can see it well in bright light. you can see the screen very well in the dark too with the backlight. It basically has all the basic stuff - texting, voicemail, organizer, and a few games. The games are snake, space impact II, and bumper (pinball). Snake is my favorite game, it is actually pretty fun to play. the other ones are ok.

I like the TracFone service. Minutes are pretty expensive, but the prices keep going down, and you can get deals from time to time. You can also start out with 130 free minutes, I will talk about that later.

Basically, I would recommend TracFone if you don't use a phone too much and don't like the contracts. I would recommend the Nokia 2285 if you just need the basics and if you can get a good deal on it.

Design - 2/5
Reception - 3/5
Price - 5/5
Battery life - 3/5
Overall - 3/5

If you want 130 FREE MINUTES to start out with, you can use the refer-a-friend program to get 120 free minutes, and you get 10 minutes free if you activate online. If you wish to use the refer-a-friend, please consider emailing me for a referral, we will each get 120 free minutes. Just email me at pluto034@hotmail.com, and I will promptly go to the tracfone site and get a referral email sent to you. You can go ahead and order your phone, because you don't need to use the referral email until you have your phone and you're activating it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


!NOKIA 2285

 

Feb 28, 2006 by xavier_w.15

this is an ok phone but there are better phones out there. i had this phone with tracfone, i live in uniontown pa and its great

pros:
good signal
good battery life
all the tools
preloaded games
preloaded ringtones
nice size

cons:
no color screen
big antenna
hard to find some things

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome Phone

 

Jun 28, 2004 by Coolact2

This phone is very good and has very good battery life...The calendar is very helpful, lets you put in messages and have it remind you by beeping or another tone. Although it doesn't have internet or downloadable ringtones, i think it is a good phone. I have dropped it a couple of times and it still works fine. The bright backlight is nice looking... I gave this phone a 3.5 because it isn't a very "In style" Phone...But that doesn't mean it isn't a good phone...Sound quality is very good

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone

 

Feb 17, 2004 by aro1975

Good phone with great battery life. I love this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1