Phone Scoop

printed October 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=27

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sony Ericsson  ›

Sony Ericsson T61c

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  5  

Average Ratings

3.66
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

love my t61c

 

Nov 20, 2005 by TVP125

I love my Sony t61c this is a solid phone and can take a beating. this phone has never let me down the only problem is that the battery live is very short. i got this phone for Metro pcs. i never have any problem with service always a good signal plus VERY loud would recommend it to anyone who wants a cheep phone that works great
great job Sony blows everyone else out of the water.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Just a few notes...

 

Dec 7, 2002 by soulbarn

Hi. Just a few notes and additions/comments to the above spec. I have a T61C and the DBA-10 bluetooth adapter. Though Ericsson does not "support" the adapter (at least according to some - there have been several different statements on this) it works fine. The connection to my headset seems more reliable than the BT connection on my previous phone, the Motorola 270.

Note that the DBA-10 is not the "smartback" accessory mentioned in the above spec. I couldn't find that accessory at all. The DBA-10 plugs into the bottom of the phone, extending the phone's length by about one inch. The connection seems a little fragile. It is definitely ugly, at least in my opinion (the module is also compatible with the smaller Ericcson flip fones, and it seems to be better integrated, stylewise, with them.) But it works.

I think the Ericcson overall is a nice phone, though I find it's interface less intuitive for me than the Motorola's. The phone has a lot of great features - like voice command and dialing by speaking individual numbers - but they also "pop up" when you don't want them, and you have to root around the complex menu system to find out how to modify them.

There appear to be some faceplates, but if you look carefully, the plates seem to require a slightly different keypad. Some of the plates, I gather, do come with a keypad, as well, but I don't know if they'll fit the T61c.

Overall, a very nice phone. It is currently Verizon's only Bluetooth unit that works on the higher-speed express network. Note that as of this writing (Dec 08, 02), you can't buy the phone direct from Verizon. Radio Shack has it for about $50 after rebates. This isn't a big deal unless you need technical assitance setting up some complex features, like express network. The Verizon techs don't seem to have much info on the phone, so you're probably on your own (or on Phonescoop.) :)

- Dan

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


was my first cellphone ever

 

Dec 30, 2005 by ihaveaphone

this was my first cell phone ever, and i liked it!

PROS:

was my first cell so it was soo cool when i got it

durable. dropped it on tile floor worked perfect

small

cool unique design. Reminded me of a fish?

CONS:

it got crushed :(

funny too look back at it, i now have cingular service with a mp3 player camera flip phone. haha

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great phone

 

Jul 1, 2003 by Antoine Victor

I would have to say that this is the best phone I've own in a great while. I used Motorola's and have plans of getting the v60p when it comes out. If Sony Ericsson would make one then I would get it. but I hear they are getting out of the CDMA market....

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone!

 

Sep 8, 2002 by Hairy Peters

I really like this phone! I had been waiting for it for a long time, and finally found it a few days after it was released. The only thing I wish was better is battery strength! Oh, and signal strength by my house (not the phones fault, and may be responsible for a part of the battery problem.) I love the Ericsson OS, it's WAAAAAAAAAAAAY better than the Nokia interface. So, I say go out and buy this phone (or one of the other versions if you don't like Verizon, but it works great around here!)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice features, very low priced phone

 

Mar 22, 2003 by anthromatt

This is a nice, no-frills phone. Integrated POP3 email client is very nice, especially if you have no deisre to subscribe to the mobile web. Voice commands, voice dial, and voice answer are excellent. Earpiece volume, call clarity are great. Battery life could be better, but small phones do have small batteries. The retractable antenna is flush with the top of the phone as well, so if you keep the phone in your pocket you won't have to worry about being poked by the stub of the antenna.

My only complaints would be that the backlight time cannot really be adjusted (15 seconds, always on, or always off). I would prefer about 8-10 seconds of backlight. Also, the number buttons on the keypad are a bit small, but after a week I was used to them. Keypad backlighting is not great in medium lighting situations, it can actually make the numbers/letters harder to read against the silver color of the keypad. Lighting works fine in very low/no light though.

If you don't need the flair of a fancy color phone and you prefer bar-style phones to flip-phones (I hate flips), give this phone consideration. You can't buy it from Verizon direct, but for a retail price of less than $100 you can have a brand new, very capable phone without extending your contract.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Googlely Mooglely

 

Oct 15, 2002 by Aelst Staravan

Great phone! I've had it for a couple of days with really no problems. The only thing that is bad about it is learning how to type in letters...but after you learn it's easier.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


From The Repair Guy

 

Feb 24, 2003 by Alfred Neuman

From a repair standpoint, I have seen a number of these phones power off and never turn back on, and/or show no signal all the time, even when the signal meter should be full. I would steer anyone I meet from purchasing this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


had phone...

 

Nov 25, 2002 by Lee Hnakins

I had waited for this particular phone for a while, and when I received it, I was a little disappointed. Mind you, I used a Nokia for years, so when I went to program names, numbers, and anything else. I had a fit. Phone very difficult to program, hard to navigate through web, buttons too small, and last but not least, very small list of ring tones. The phone is nice looking though.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sony Ericsson T61

 

Mar 18, 2003 by brandon bonzer

I've just purchased the T61c and I only have a few issues with this phone.

First off, I can't find free ringtones, or even a how to to download them. All I want is the Simpson's theme song as my ring...is that so much to ask?!?

My next issue was with the battery life. My first charge only seemed to last a few hours. However, this seems to be getting better the more times I recharge.

Other than this, I like the phone. I really like being able to just push one of the softkeys and saying who I want to call.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2