Phone Scoop

printed November 26, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2477&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Backflip

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.67
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34

backflip fails

 

Aug 8, 2010 by fritzlaw

Because of my traveling I constantly used voice dialing. THIS PHONE WILL NOT VOICE DIAL. AT&T replaced the phone twice and it never worked. I went to AT&T and Motorola tech support and neither could make the damn thing work. When giving it a comand it generated random phone numbers to try. This was less than useless. When that fails you have to touch the screen several times to locate and call a contact. I would have thought that Motorola would build on the almost perfect Razor Flip in voice recognition technology--no they digressed 20 years. Bottom line is that if you travel and rely on voice dialing (to avoid looking up and seeing tail lights) stay away from this phone. I had to go back to the Razor and pay at&t for the privledge of ditching this piece of junk (and commit for another 2 years).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Decent But...

 

Jul 19, 2010 by natalecalandra

Phone is a really good phone however, the operating system is still 1.5 and you wont receive 2.1 until the third quarter... The phone is very small and the design is awesome. The camera and keyboard is cool too. I like that its ATT's first Android based phone.

PROS:
5mp Cam w/ Flash
Track Pad on the back of the Screen
Sleek Keyboard
Moto Blur
Light and Small sleek Backflip Design

CONS:
1.5 Android
Phone Lags at times
No Live Wallpaper
Limited Apps due to 1.5

I personally think this phone is more of a girls phone, but either or would like the design and its ease to be able to use social networking and email.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Gets the job done w/a Full Keyboard

 

Jul 15, 2010 by trobbins43

Millions of people are making the switch to the Android platorm and the Backflip is one good reason to do so.

Pros:
Full Keyboard (not on screen)
5 Meg Camera (placed on front of phone for Video chat >>Skype.com)
Xenon Flash
Responsive touchscreen
ANDROID=Free Apps galore
Fun Design
MotoBlur.com>>find where your phone is if its lost or stolen
Headphone jack
5 Home Screens to customize to your liking

Cons:
Runs on the older Android platform (which I find to be a very small difference)
Not exactly Durable
First generation for AT&T (HTC Aria just released giving AT&T theyre second Android handset)

AT&T's soon to release more android handsets however the Backflip is a quality device. The price is right at under $100 after mail in.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Better have a charger handy

 

Jul 11, 2010 by blessedwithboys

Let me say first, this is my first Android as I'm a LONG time AT&T customer, so I don't have other Android experience to compare. But I LOVE my Backflip, all except for the batter life. It is awful! I'm a stay at home mom, and I'm really not on my cell that much, and sometimes the full charge doesn't even last a day. I charge it every night, which would be okay if it would last the day. I shutter to think of how long it would last if it was used lots.

Improve the batter life, and this would be a great phone. For now, I have my home charger and car charger handy. :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


HATEIT but im a teen

 

Jul 9, 2010 by footballking412

at first i thought: WOW AMAZING

After 4 months: HATE ITTT

pros: the look

Cons: my main problem is that it is so slow!!! the keyboard is horribeee and it is so hard to have a conversaion with some one over texts because it takes forever adn i laggs out horribly.

if you are a teenager who does alot of texting and doesnt want to wait for a phone DO NOT GET THIS PHONE

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Att & Motorola's biggest flop

 

Jul 3, 2010 by josuarez0629

Hello all

i have had the motorola backflip for the past 4 months and have had a warrenty replacement on this model five times..

Pro's
Full text keybard
5 mpix camera

Con's
Everything
locks up
shuts down and restarts on its own
makes phone calls on its own to people on your contact list and sounds like a fax machine when it calls that person...
Device responds slow between apps
slow when closing apps and switching screens

the biggest flopp by motorola

Please stay clear of this device...

Going on number six for warrenty replacment
wish me luck

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone for size

 

Jun 23, 2010 by FloDiesel

had phone for a month good screen,call quality,sound,not iphone but a good little giant and I love it . Cons; battery life ,and screen should been larger. speed dial should been a little more easier friendly. because of yahoo instead of google it runs slower then other ones . Hope at&t get more Motorola android phones. Way to come back Motorola move over Htc Motorola is coming .

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Phone

 

May 29, 2010 by Braille

Overall I enjoy the phone. I've had it for a couple of months now and its been reliable. Im not to fond of the phone dialer and I hate constantly having to change which contact folder to view (shows ALL by default and I only have 300+ facebook friends that i never call).

Pros:
Great keyboard/camera (no issues with rebooting when i take a picture)
Screen size/Browser

Cons:
Battery Life
Phone dialer
Signal

Overall it was worth it... I won the phone. Honestly I am not sure if I would buy it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


MOTOROLA BACKFLIP AWESOME PHONE

 

May 28, 2010 by mw1733

THIS PHONE BY FAR IS THE BEST IVE TRIED SINCE SWITCHING FROM HTC TOUCH . EVERYTHING ON THIS PHONE WORKS FLAWLESSLY N SMOOTH . I HAVE HAD IT FOR FEW DAYS AN ABSOLUTLY LOVE IT .

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Backflip is FTW!

 

May 10, 2010 by zandercarden420

OK, so the only bad thing about this phone is the Android 1.5, when they update with 2.0 and multi touch, the phone will be perfect. i give it a "4.5 out of 5". call clarity is great, software is seamless so far other than the AT&T bloat-ware. if you have the problem with your phone turning off and rebooting, its because you have too many apps running in the background, get an app killer for when your phone starts to slow down, this is for all android phones though. keyboard and virtual keyboard are very responsive. MOTO did a good job with this one. good droid competitor.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 34

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1