Phone Scoop

printed November 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2456&r=39416

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG GS170 / 420g

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  3  

Average Ratings

3.94
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Simple, Elegant, Delicious

 

Aug 3, 2010 by GravityFails

As you might have noticed from the FCC ID numbers on this phone's main page, it's identical to the LG420G for Tracfone. And that -- for both T-Mobile and anyone who might consider getting one -- is a Good Thing.

The 420G sports only 10Mb of memory, and it's not going to win anyone over with its multimedia capabilities, but as far as finding a simple device for making calls and sending texts, you can't go wrong with it. It's well-built, has a great screen (much better than the one on its Straight Talk slider counterpart, the 620G), and the earpiece produces great sound. The buttons are a bit clicky for my taste, but that's a subjective preference, really, and can't be held against it in terms of functionality.

The camera takes decent enough pictures, which fill the screen nicely when used as wallpaper. One drawback is the fact that the outer screen cannot be customized in any way on the 420G.

The glossy black finish drives me absolutely insane with fingerprints, but what can you do; I knew this would be the case when I bought it. Perhaps the T-Mobile version will fare better with its exotic Pepto Bismol color scheme.

I don't know that this sucker would be worth T-Mobile's current $60 asking price (sans contract, o' course), but it was certainly a good deal from Tracfone at $20. Though not advertised on the package, when the phone was activated, Tracfone's website displayed a message stating that it was enrolled in the Double Minutes program. I never received such a message on the phone itself, and have yet to add minutes to it, so I don't yet know if this was simply an error, or if it truly did come with DMFL. If so, this would certainly increase the 420G's already strong value.

If you're looking for a simple, well-built phone without all the knobs, levers, and doodads, and if you're sick to death of hearing about Android, give the LG GS170/420G a look. It's a fine example of competent, uncluttered function without pretense.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very very nice device

 

Jun 18, 2012 by Magnagarde

I loved this phone for the single month I used it. It has fantastic reception, is very quick and responsive, and is just a nice phone.

Call quality is amazing, has a speakerphone which is also great. Great sound quality as well. People said I sounded very clear. Extremely loud ringtones!

Text messaging is super quick. I'm used to a texting experience on tracfone where I'll compose a message and then send it, where it will take a few seconds for a message to pop up telling me minutes deducted, that it's sending, and finally that it successfully sent. not so with this phone. 15 seconds were reduced to about 2.

The camera is surprisingly nice for such a low resolution device. Pictures were of slightly better quality than expected.

Has access to the ever expanding tracfone store, which is really neat.

Has the basic notepad/ calculator/ calendar/ alarm clock thing going on. All of these tools worked as they should have.

Everything this phone attempts to do it does wonderfully. I highly recommend this phone if you're with tracfone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Bad call reception

 

Apr 7, 2012 by craig4him

Only bought the phone to make calls. I lived in two different areas that were supposed to have "moderate" reception. Both places I lived I could only make "Emergency Calls Only". Away from the house was very hit and miss. The place I live now is a 200,000 population. Same problem. I had another Android phone that worked great in both places. This was with T-Mobile and they replaced (after I paid) with another phone and I had the same problem. Changed SIMS Card. Same problem. T-Mobile won't work out any deals that don't involve extending the contract.
I can't comment on any other features of the phone since I didn't buy for anything but calling.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


this phone is god for a flip phone

 

Dec 26, 2011 by phonefreak98

i acually like this phone. i have had it for 9 months at first i was ike no way i dont like it but now i realized its pretty good the way it looks is not the best but its ok. and its bettery life can last me a whole week :D its a nice phone for somone who just started having phones
pros: fast, nice camera, easy to text, good for internet, batterylife
cons: display, sometimes it freezes

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice, basic phone

 

Jun 21, 2011 by DogDaddy

This is an attractive, good quality basic phone. I recommend it to anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Basic, for the money.

 

Nov 23, 2010 by halfdeaf

I needed a temp phone for a week and chose the Tracfone LG 420g version. Great price at $20 and that includes DMFL as well. The Tracfone version is all slick black plastic, unlike it's T-Mo cousin, but seems tough enough. It's small & lightweight- fits great in your pocket. Has good basic features an a Small but brite screen, good call quality, loud enough ring-tones and good battery time as i could go 2 days between charging with heavy talk-n-texting ..The only real complaints i have is the Dinky screen and the VERY CHEAP-n-Plastic D-Ring, has no feel or definition to it-HORRIBLE.

Pros
-Tough
-Bright Screen
-Good Call Quality
-Geed Battery Time

Cons
-CHEAP-n-Plastic D-Ring
-Small Screen
-weak vibrate

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


basic but decent phone

 

Oct 13, 2010 by bolthead

This is a basic but decent phone if you are buying this for web or MP3 player or taking pictures you will need to look at something else but if you want a talk and text device this warrants a closer look, it pulls a strong signal so far even in weaker areas. Nice display with strong color and good contrast. Big easy to read keypad, very good battery life.

No micro SD slot but 64MB of memory surprised me, no headphone jack it uses USB port to plug in included headset. No 3G or EDGE but with a basic device you don't really need it, North America use only as it doesn't contain overseas bands.

Nice feature set for a basic phone and so far seems reliable.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LG GS170

 

Aug 19, 2010 by patwackp

Bought this phone through a T-Mobile corporate store in Hayward, Ca. today and paid $59.99 plus tax. I currently am on their $50 Talk & Text Prepaid plan. I love this phone. Which is what I say about any LG phone I've used. It's perfect for what I use it for. I can also use all of my charging accessories I currently own, which is great. I also love the soft "matte" feel of the phone. The menu is taking some time to get used to, but overall it's worth the cost.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1