Phone Scoop

printed August 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2446&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry Curve 8530

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  66  

Average Ratings

3.84
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 345

Very impressed

 

Dec 4, 2009 by Sayrah

I had a bold before this phone and compared to this and the 9700 curve I was very impressed with the fact that it doesn't freeze up as much as either of these phones!! Optical pad doesn't freeze up if you put both on 60!! Great thing to know there!

Pros:

Less freezes than previous models
User friendly
A faster processor than the 9700

Cons:

No flash
Internal media slot
screen flashes out some so you have to hit blackberry button to bring it back with heavy usage.

Overall, the cons are not enough for me to not love my phone!! I work for a phone company and have carried different brands and different models!! Fave so far..including the iPhone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone

 

Mar 12, 2010 by racerx66

This is pretty good phone with a loud ear piece and nice touch scroll. The speaker phone is decent and calls are crystal. My biggest gripe is the keypad. The buttons are very small and I'm always hitting the delete key and making corrections. The battery life is exceptional. I've read other reviews that mentioned poor battery life but that all depends on your calling coverage and if your blue tooth is on at all times. I don't use a blue tooth device so I leave that off. Verizon's signal is pretty strong at home and work for me so the battery goes like 3 to 4 days between a charge. I let the battery go down until the battery meter flashed red before giving it a full charge. The apps for this phone aren't great either and the Web interface is poor.

Over all it's a good phone but not a great smart-phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


I LOVE MY BB CURVE!!

 

Feb 24, 2010 by ELF090109

The title says it all, I love my curve. I originally had a red blackberry 8330 from Sprint a about 2 years ago, and I LOVED that phone. At the time it was the most durable, reliable phone that I had ever had, until I dropped it and ended it's life. I had several various phones since, none that I was happy with until my new BB Curve 8530.

This phone just has style and class, and is very much a durable phone. On my first day of having it, I dropped it 3 times, and there's not one scratch on it.

The Pros:

- Black is very stylish looking, with a beautiful bright screen, and bright keyboard.
- Speaker phone & Handset is loud
- Nice strong vibration, and loud ringers
- Everything appears to be organized on the software
- Phone doesn't heat up when charging.
- Music Player keys at the top of the phone
- Wifi
- Keyboard is a pleasure to text on, does not feel cheap.

The Cons:
- Internet is a bit more laggy then it was on my Pre.
- No flash on the camera, but that's not a big deal, I have a digital camera.
- Sometimes runs a bit slow

Overall, I am very happy with this phone, and have no doubt that I'm a die-hard blackberry user.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT PHONE

 

Jan 29, 2010 by coltsfan561

pros. wifi os is better then the tour lighter then then the old curve and tour i am coming from a tour very happy with it 2.0 mp camera not to bad battery life ok need to turn your apps off when not used and your wifi and turn your back light off after 10 seconds of none use tips how to save battery life . cons. no flash or sd card with it wow rim step your game up!!!! i use verzion wireless jumped ship from sprint pcs horrible customer service lol...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


cricKet's best phone, in my humble opinion

 

Apr 21, 2012 by tgc1980

I've traded phones a lot. I started off with cricKet's Huawei Ascend II, then I went to the ZTE Score (both are Android phones), then (after losing calls and work because the Score sucked), I went back to a BlackBerry phone: cricKet's only BlackBerry, the 8530 Curve.

Pros:
E-mail.
Better call signal than the previous cricKet phones I had.
Decent camera.

Cons:
Like other cricKet smartphones, it suffered slow speed because of the 1GB per month data allotance.
Cheap feel. I had the 8520 Curve (T-Mobile's version) and forgot about the cheapness of it. Thankfully, RIM learned from that.
Mine had a glitch with the address book. Couldn't save contacts. Big no-no.

I'd probably still have it if my loving lady didn't get me an at&t BlackBerry 9810. I'll make a review after I've used it. If it doesn't work with this phone, I'll gladly try another 8530 with cricKet. Thanks for reading my ad and God bless.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


WORST PHONE EVER

 

Mar 21, 2012 by sarabeara6393

i got this phone as a present and had always wanted a BB. it worked for a while then about 6 months after i got the phone it stopped working. the phone repeatedly froze rebooted itself and took for ever to respond. the battery sucks and when you call support the costumer service reps are pushy and rude. do not waste your money

pros
App store
decent battery

Cons
EVERYTHING ELSE

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Another Good Blackberry

 

Jan 5, 2011 by drake

Similar to 8330, newer OS and lighter

Pros
Sleek
TRACKPAD!! So much better than Trackball
Keypad is easy

Con
No Flash
Thin Lense

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My First Blackberry!

 

Nov 28, 2010 by mjsmith1965

This is my first Blackberry, and I just love it! I've had this phone for a little more than a couple months now and I can honestly say that I will never go back to regular phones. Pro's and con's? No con's that I can possibly think of. I'm still learning stuff about this phone, it's almost mind boggling lol I would suggest this phone to anyone who is thinking of purchasing a smart phone for a beginner or even a seasoned veteran!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Xcelent Phone.

 

Nov 23, 2010 by halfdeaf

This 8530 on Boost Mobile is my 2nd BlackBerry, as I had a 8330 before. I abandoned my iPhone 2 years ago (due to not wanting to give AT&T $100+ a month..) an have never looked back, these BB's have been the Best phones I have used to date and have the best call Quality, I am Hard of Hearing & these phones work Well.
MY phone needs are texting, e-mail, MMS and no other phone will do this combo better. Great Apps to be found in BB App World, and yes, you do have to pay for most of the Apps BUT BB Apps are higher quality programs, not just a web portal app.
I did test drive a Moto Cliq XT Android a year ago, THE WORST PHONE EXPERIENCE- EVER! I spent 80% of my time dealing with Freeze-ups, FC's & Battery pulls. Eerrr.... lasted all of 7 days before that POS went back..
My BB 8530 runs Great, Has the BB Keyboard, Good Battery Life, 2 mega pix camera w/decent pic's, smooth UI but horrible web browser (Use Bolt Browser-problem solved..), Great Multitasking, Xlent sound quality AND you can see the screen outdoors, in the Sun, with No Problem.

Pros
-Call Quality
-Dependable
-BB Keyboard
-Brite Screen
-Good Battery Life
-Multitasking
-Camera
-did i mention the BB keyboard ?

Cons
-Web Browser (but can be solved)

Cons

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Boost Mobile BlackBerry Curve 8530

 

Nov 4, 2010 by patwackp

I'm hooked. This phone might very well be the last phone I get for a while! I have fallen absolutely in love with the BlackBerry Curve!!!
I bought the Curve at a Best Buy in Mountain View, Ca. today for $249.99.
I use it on Boost Mobile (Sprint Prepaid) with a $60 Monthly plan.
What an IMPROVENT over MetroPCS.
All I have to say is: WOW!!!!

PRO'S:
1) Reception
2) BlackBerry App World
3) Run's on Sprint's 3G Network
4) Email
5) NO CONTRACT!
6) Everything else!
Con's:
Uh, Nothing

A must buy if I do say so myself!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 345

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1