Phone Scoop

printed November 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=244&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Audiovox  ›

Audiovox CDM-8600

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  41  

Average Ratings

2.42
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 456

Best Flip So Far

 

Apr 10, 2004 by 5u2uk1b0yI4

I have had this phone for about 3 months and I have still not been able to do everything possible on the phone (that is a good thing.) There are more than enough features and ring tones and even more can be downloaded through Get It Now. Easy phone book navigation Plus bright LCD screen in side and analog screen out side(prefect for caller-ID). This is an overall great phone for anybody.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


While it is good, the battery life is really suckish

 

Dec 11, 2010 by narn3049

I'm sorry but even though this phone is pretty durable, it has a bunch more cons then pros.

Pros: Lasted me awhile, and was fun to text on, because the keys had a nice layout, and was one of the first I had texting on, as this was awhile back. Was on Verizons network so pretty much always has coverage.

CONS:
Battery life from the start. This thing was absolute junk. I knew I was in a 2 year contract, but if I wasn't I would've honestly tossed this in a flash and upgraded. It also wore off. I had grayish paint on the front because the silver was already wearing off 5 months into original purchase of the phone. I didn't even drop this phone in that timeline. I think you should stay clear away from this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Yeh......no

 

Sep 28, 2006 by SpeedDemon

Phone was great at first, being my first phone period, but after a few months it started having problems. first the OK button stopped working properly.
After that came the screen, at first it just took a restart, but soon after i had to start tweaking the top half of the clamshell to get it on again until is just stopped working. wasn't too bad since i had my contacts already in so i could see who was calling on the external display, but once that went i threw it out the window. literally.

i give it a 1.0 because it took a beating while i had it and still made/received calls, until the antenna started acting up.

PROs:
-Durable
-screen was bright (when it worked)
-compact

CONs:
-Cheap
-speaker phone got softer over time.
-easy to loose the rubber cover for charger. With out it the phone doesnt look as sleek.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


THE REAL REVIEW OF A REAL OWNER

 

Aug 3, 2006 by alexRedArmyOfficer

I am a real owner of the phone for 2 years and I am a real person not like virtual puppets published their crapy "reviews" here.

+++
- small
- durable (survived after car went over, it was splitted by two parts so I used a glue to reanimate it -- making battery non-changeable :))
- good signal
- normal quality of sound though after rogers nokia sound was not really good

---
- missed calls all the time without any ring or, 2 last ring only hearable while caller gets 6
- limited memory
- RIDICULOUS navigation! Can you believe that you may only call ONE (!) last dialed number. For the rest you have to press 10+ times various buttons although up/down buttons, that are used in other phones to scroll over the list of last dialed nubers ARE NOT ASSIGNED TO ANYTHING. Can you believe?
- You gotta be careful during text messaging - I locked my phone twice accidentally (! designers are drug-addicts I bet). I am not a keen of text messaging, used just several times and been trapped twice.

Resume: not the phone you want to buy.

Personally, after this experience there is no such company as Audiovox for me. Never gonna buy their products, fed up.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone is crap!!!

 

Jul 24, 2006 by supermanatv

The only thing I can say good about the CDM 8600 is it is small. This is my 2nd one from the dealer, the 1st one, the screen went blank and I lost all of my info.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not durable

 

Feb 7, 2006 by nyyjilly

I had this phone less than 3 months before it broke the first time. The screen completely died on me after everyday use. It was not dropped off a 3 story building or anything. It was replaced because it was still under warranty. The new phone worked fine for a bit but again slowly developed the same problem. I would go days without a screen if it was tossed onto the bed. I was going to stick it out until I was able to upgrade but then had complete shutdown and could not receive or send calls. If it a call did manage to go through, it would last about 15 seconds before the call was lost. All while I had full service. I live in a city and rarely had service problems with Verizon so it was the phone dropping the calls. I eventually gave up and got a new phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


oookkk

 

Jan 28, 2006 by CeLLpHoNeCrAzY

good stable phone.
volume sucked.
overall ok.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Dissapointing at best

 

Dec 15, 2005 by Bandu

I now have this phone for about 4 months now, and I am ready to throw it away. Within the 1st week, the phone would just turn off for no reason. After I turned it back on (with the charger, the on button stopped working), the battery was juiced. The phone drops calls in the Brownsville Tx area VZN like there is no tomorrow. The phone fails to charge at times and spends most of its life searching for signal. Worst phone I have owned to date.

Pros: Basic features, back display, speaker phone

Cons: Terrible battery life, poor volume during calls, filled with crazy glitches, fragile, poor signal finder.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Dont Do It!

 

Nov 30, 2005 by michellekondry

This phone is way to compact. For some that may be a good thing. Also not reliable at all. I had this phone for about 3 months, and honestly the worst phone I have ever had. I will admit I have dropped it about once on my floor carpet but that is all.

The battery life is pretty decent, i have seen better. Fun to have a speaker phone, but not worth it.

This phone starts to fall apart after awhile, my computer chips and backing are starting to separate from the phone.

I recommend that you just put up a few extra more dollars and get a phone that is worth it.

Or unless of course you are gentle with phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


OK if you don't use it much

 

Nov 18, 2005 by fishingmike

I received two of these phones on two lines when I switched from Sprint to Verizon. I have to say it is the worst phone I have ever had, at 18 months, it is unusable because of bad connection in the flip point.
Coverage switching between digital and analog drove me insane, constant beeping. Ringer not loud enough, always missed calls.

To be fair, my Wife's phone (same) is alright at 18 months but she rarely uses it.

Speaker was ok, better than the Motorola V120e that I bought to replace, but the V120 has much better coverage.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 456

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1