Phone Scoop

printed October 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2433&r=40106

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG Rumor Touch / Banter Touch

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  16  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.54
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Awesome Phone

 

May 17, 2010 by proudsprintcustomer

I got this phone about a week ago and so far I really like it. The touchscreens not bad, and I love the 5 row keyboard. I got this phone after having the original Rumor for two years. It is a great improvement, especially screen size. The battery life is also incredible for a touch screen phone. The guy at the Sprint store said it had 7 hours. The Hello UI is cool too. I don't use it, but thats just me. One thing I don't like is the home screen. Most touchscreen phones have shortcuts and things on the home screen. All the rumor touch has is a menu button.

Pros:
-OK touchscreen
-Long battery life
-Great Keyboard
-Hello UI

Cons:
-Home Screen
-No dedicated text button
-Touchscreen is not the best

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great device

 

Mar 22, 2012 by skywy1963

I had this phone on sprint but ditched it because the media player was'nt working. But now i have for virgin mobile and it runs great. Only thing is it seems locked down compared to sprints model.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Buggy, but not a bad phone

 

Dec 22, 2011 by smashme101

I had this phone for a year and a half and let me say, this might be one of the best phones I've ever had.

Pros:
Battery life is acceptable
Call quality is decent
Full keyboard is well out
Touch screen is very accurate and feels good
Loud speaker
UI is surprisingly decent
3rd party Java apps supported
Opera Mini is quick and nimble
Charges fast
Camera is decent

Cons:

Phone does tend to reboot sometimes out of the blue
Few camera options
If you listen to music, you can ONLY listen to music, no multitasking
Processor is a little slow
Data speeds aren't the best
Handwriting recognition is mediocre at best
Screen does scratch a bit too easy
Vibrate is a bit weak
My speaker blew after 7 months. Still usable, but doesn't sound crisp

Despite all the cons, this phone is worth buying. I would highly suggest this phone to anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LG RUMOR IS THE BEST!!!

 

Nov 14, 2011 by faigybh

i just wanted to share my experience as i think this phone is the BEST! it is massive!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LG Rumor Touch Phone is the WORST!!!!

 

Aug 31, 2011 by Tammy in CT

This is the worst phone I've have ever owned. I have owned the LG Rumor Touch phone through Virgin Mobile for about a year and it's terrible. Virgin's network is awful. I can never get a signal in my home. Customer service is terrible. They never know how to resolve any problems whenever I have called, never mind if they can even understand English! The phone itself is lousy! The touch screen is useless. It just stopped working on me last night. Don't know why or what could have happened but I have tried relentlessly to get the touch calibration to work and that's just impossible. I try to send a text with the keyboard and that's impossible. I can type the text but can't figure out how by using the keypad to get to the send button on the screen. It's just been a very frustrating experience with this phone and with Virgin Mobile and would not recommend either to anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Its an OKAY phone...

 

Aug 2, 2011 by lauren_copeland

i have had this phone now for almost a year. i havent had any major problems out of it. the keyboard is nice, the screen size is great however it is sensitive, so you may end up butt dialing often. it is slow on the internet... but also makes normal webpages easy to read. its a fragile phone, easily scratched.. as i have plenty. i recommend that you get the purple because it looks better in my opinion.the battery life is terrible... i find myself charging it very often. apps like twitter and facebook are already there and you dont have to go on the web everytime you want to check up on stuff. camera quality is better when it is light other wise it is very dark and blurry. nice picture, wish there were more things to do but overall this is a great phone with few problems. i recommend this phone to social networking freaks and texting addicts (: ... like my self. hope that i helped!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Would not recommend to anyone

 

Apr 27, 2011 by Melissa B.

I got this phone months ago for Virgin Mobile.
Every single month I spend hours of my life with their (so called) customer service department trying to resolve issues : I am unable to send/receive picture messages and I am unable to browse the web. Though I call every month they don't ever know how to resolve this issue and so I continue to pay for services I am unable to use and have to wait weeks for any kind of resolution. Not sure if it's Virgin Mobile or a problem with the software on the phone. I am unable to update this phone as it does not have many options with Virgin Mobile than other carriers that use this phone.

PRO'S -

Keyboard is nice and easy to use.

CON'S -

Can't use your music as ringtones.
Can't play music when doing anything else.
Can't update software.
Can't view web pages accurately.
I can't send/receive picture messages.
Can't browse the web most of the time.
Music quality sounds bad.
Phone screen auto locks too quickly.
When using touch screen to answer call you easily hang up on people.
Doesn't come with barely any ringtones.
Camera is horrible - only takes good pictures outside in daylight otherwise blurry and dark.

I would not recommend this phone to anyone especially if you get it from Virgin Mobile.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


very disappointed and aggravated

 

Mar 14, 2011 by girl4god2005

This phone has been very disappointing since I bought it through MetroPCS a few weeks ago. It is unbelievably annoying because it sends duplicate text messages constantly-sometimes in the middle of the night! It's driving me nuts! The voice thing that will read your messages for you screws up sometimes to-like a scratched cd. Many times I try to get on the internet it is very slow or it will say its unavailable and to try back later. Grrrrrr.

PROS- I like the keyboard and the little functions like the drawing panel and voice command. The camera and video are nice too.

CONS- the obvious annoying duplicate messaging, sporadic internet access, delay of touchscreen, rather uninformative owners manual

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not bad for a prepaid phone...

 

Aug 17, 2010 by K.Midas

So I purchased this phone through Virgin Mobile because I didn't want to chance another two year contract just yet. So many options out there for phones and many more on the way it seems like every two weeks. I feel like a kid in a candy store but since im not quite ready to sign on the dotted line yet, I chose this phone after much research and through reading many reviews.

Pros: decent screen size and touch caliber
(although not a big fan of resistive
touchscreens)
ok keypad (don't like how period button is in bottom right hand corner)
fairly sturdy slide out mechanism
decent look and feel
lightweight and compact
$149.99 is a fair price for this device
plays youtube videos and, with Opera Mini installed, web browsing is alot more
pleasant

Cons: no flash for camera
ringers and notifications could be a bit
louder
not much customization other than
changing wallpapers

All in all i think i made a good choice. I recommend this phone to anyone in the market for a prepaid phone. I feel that you get the bang for your buck with this one. Thanks for reading.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Virgin Mobile's best phone yet!!!

 

Jun 23, 2010 by MaxSnax

I got this phone a few days ago at Radioshack and I have to say... it's AWESOME! When you first get it, you might have to get used to it, but by your second day of having it, you will easily be able to use it.

Pros: Large touchscreen
nice 5 row keyboard
takes nice photos and videos
plays youtube
has 3G
great battery life
opera mini web browser is snappy.

Cons: Hardly any, but if there was a problem, it would be that when you check the battery statuss of your rumor touch, it says 25%, 50%, 75% or 100%, there are no points. But that is not too much of a problem. This phone is just too good. Spread the Rumor!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2