Phone Scoop

printed July 29, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2419

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry Storm2 9550

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.34
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

So Far so good

 

Jul 28, 2010 by stormhater

After having 10 replacement Storms, I am hoping for the best with a Storm2. Day 1 was fraught with frequent freezes, but it seems to have settled down. All in all, the 2 feels more substantial, seems to be more responsive, and faster. The only negative that I can see (so far) is that the battery life is much less than the original. Hopefully, this is a resolution of year long problems with the Storm series-the bar has been set low, so a reliable, effective device would be a success.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Phone - Having Problems Though

 

Jul 24, 2010 by Nicole18

This to me is a great phone; however, I have had a few problems when it comes to the speaker. I have exchanged the phone twice already, and am still not completely done with the issues. The first phone had to be replaced due to a speaker problem (perhaps it got dropped in the shipping process or something), and when I got the 2nd phone, if ever two people are talking at the same time, their voice ends up sounding like a radio frequency. DOES ANYONE ELSE HAVE THIS PROBLEM???? If you do, please comment and let me know. Maybe I am just losing my mind.

Other than that, great phone. Love the size of the screen, the quality of graphics on it, and takes good pictures also. I just hope to be able to get the sound issue resolved, and soon!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Love the Storm 2

 

Apr 12, 2010 by Axhole

This phone is what i was looking for in a mobile device. It doesn't do everything perfectly but it does alot of things very well. I am very impressed. Very powerful handheld tool. Blackberry OS is a little different at first but very useful once it is learned.

Pros- Great camera and video camera. Very very customizable. Lots of onboard memory. Beautiful screen. Beautiful design.

Cons- Not the fastest web browser. Needs more free apps!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My First Blackberry!

 

Apr 6, 2010 by Sara419

This is my first Blackberry. I love this phone!

Pros:
Colorful screen
Solid
The interface (touchscreen) is great.
The phone quality is great.
The music player is excellent. (Play music from iTunes!)
Camera is good. Not much of a big deal deal.
Web browser is fast.
Battery life is okay.

Cons:
None so far!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Blackberry Storm is GREAT!

 

Apr 4, 2010 by MsBlkALABAMA

In my opinion, Blackberry's are the best smartphone on the Market for real time email-personal or professional accounts. The BB Storm 2 of course, allows pleasure for those desiring to use a 'touch screen'. The touch screen is very responsive. I also used the Blackberry Storm 1. The BB Storm 2 is a great improvement which adds wireless and more memory. For entertainment, there is VCast Video and Music. A great addition is Slacker and Pandora Radio. The facebook and Uber-twitter software is grandtastic! The volume is appropriately loud. Speaker phone has good quality. I enjoy the "App World" as there is lots to choose from. Web browser is 'ok', but you can download the Opera browser if you choose.

Slightly on the downside---I had to learn how to type proficient on the keyboard. Multi-tasking abilities could be improved.

This phone caters greatly to my person & professional side.

Highly recommended.

p.s. I thought I wanted to try the Motorola Devour. Tried it for 30 minutes---went back to my Blackberry Storm 2!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


More Enjoyable than the Tour - Solid Phone

 

Mar 31, 2010 by dave_7248

I thought a physical keyboard was a 'must' and initially went for the Tour. But after 30 days with the Tour, I was a bit board and traded for the Storm 2. Well worth it --- I now prefer the touch screen with its larger buttons. Great experience.

Pros:
-Intuitive, user-friendly
-Calendar program is easier to navigate than track-pad / track-ball options
-Apps are more fun with the larger screen
-Touch screen exceeded expectations
-Battery life has been quite good --- makes it through the day for me (a moderate user)

Cons: None

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone is a winner!

 

Mar 27, 2010 by DirtyHarry

As an engineer, I'm pretty critical of all things and especially something I use all the time for work like a cell phone.

I been using a Blackberry Pearl 8130 for the last 2 years and felt it was the perfect phone for me based on size, email utility, and ability to occasionally access the web. It did everything perfect except the web. The screen was tiny and I now access the web a bunch, so I was looking for a better way to go.

I wanted an iPhone like crazy but its not available on Verizon, AND I'm located in the Rocky Mountains so ATT was not an option due to poor coverage. And from all I researched, the iPhone's email implementation(s) is/are weak, so that's a deal breaker for me. So I read everything I could find on available phones including the new Android based phones, and then reread everything on the Storm 2 and gave it a shot.

I'm glad I did! It is really an amazing phone, email tool, and web browser. Yeah its larger and heavier than my beloved Pearl, but it works flawlessly and is stunning to look at, and looking at it is what you do when you use your cell phone for email and web surfing.

Pros:
Beautiful build and screen.
Solid.
The interface(touch screen) is just wonderful and natural. Touch to select and click to implement. One stroke or two... you choose.
Phone call sound on both ends is great.
The music player output is stunning.
Battery is okay for me with about 20-25% left at bed time.
Even teeny tiny virtual buttons on web sites are selectable(and you CAN make them bigger if necessary).

Cons:
Rarely, the virtual buttons at the bottom of the screen will be momentarily unresponsive. No big deal!

You couldn't pay me to use an iPhone now. This IS the ticket as far as I'm concerned. Am I biased? I am now!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


So close but soooo far

 

Feb 21, 2010 by hmm228

Coming from the Storm 1, the new Storm is a big improvement. That being said, I'm returning it for a different phone. This is the second Storm I've had in 2 weeks and they have both had the same problem. The buttons for send, end, Blackberry and return were replaced by virtual buttons on the surepress keyboard. They are unresponsive, especially the send and end keys. I frequently can't hang up a call and/or answer a call on call waiting.

Outside that issue, the new hardware is a big improvement. The typing on the surepress keyboard is much better. I like alot of the features of the Blackberry including the push e-mail and integration with MS Exchange on the BES. My preference would be to stay with Blackberry but since the device doesn't work well as a phone, I can't keep it.

Pros
Great display
Blackberry 5.0 software (including auto change time with time zone)
Solid feel
Wi-fi

Cons
soft keys for send and end
browser
screen slow to "wake up" when in sleep mode

I really wanted the Storm 2 to work, but I'm going to look at the Droid tomorrow. Better luck next time, Blackberry

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


95% of where it needs to be

 

Feb 5, 2010 by mauricer1

The phone is amazing, it does everything i need it to. It is much improved over storm1, my ONLY, and i mean ONLY issue with the phone is that sometimes it slows down and the usual blackberry IDLE icon shows as its processing (so i wish the phone was just a LITTLE faster to avoid this) to be closer to that of the iphone speed with applications.

The screen is great, the phone is great, everything said in other reviews is accurate. I would not go for any other touch screen phone in the market, for someone who needs security and a touchscreen phone this is YOUR BEST BET.

Hopefully sotrm3 will completely eliminate any IDLE waiting when the phone is 'processing' or thinking.

This phone is 95% of what i want it to be, for comparison, the storm1 was 75%. iphone is 90% (it lacks security and business integration but has a slightly better OS and processor)

The touchscreen i personally LOVE on the storm2! much better than any other technology out there, better than droid, iphone, etc. I LOVE THE CLICK!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great SmartPhone

 

Jan 21, 2010 by toddraderman

This is my 2nd BB phone and my first touch-phone. I was concerned after all the bad reviews with Storm 1, but I love the Storm 2. My friend has the Iphone and besides hating AT&T the phone part of the Iphone sucks. The Storm 2 after a little getting used to texting on a touch-phone is great. You will love.

Pros. Everyhting.

Cons. Nothing

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2345

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1