Phone Scoop

printed April 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2399&r=36174

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Quantico V840 / W845

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  5  

Average Ratings

3.81
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Great (almost) phone

 

Feb 4, 2011 by painter97

This is a great phone, battery life runs me about 4 days between charges. I use a phone a lot. Volume is good. Have dropped, accidentally kicked, backed over and left out in rain and this phone still works great. Just wish had better selection of ring tones and a GPS (if it does, have not found it yet). Very few dropped calls with this phone as with previous 2 phones. Know there is no perfect phone, but this one has to be close. It is very tough and I have no problem with the opening and closing back cover and it does fit tight. I started with Motorola 13 years ago and am now back with this brand and continue to stay with Motorola because of quality. I hope Motorola continues to make these type phone for folks like me that need a rugged and dependable phone that is a phone and not a mini computer or smart phone as they call it. No overall regrets with this model.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Sep 25, 2010 by Leonard80

Long battery life
loud
rugid
good, clear reception
great hand fit
good design

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Predictive text issue ruins this phone!

 

Sep 21, 2010 by brewsterlewster

Despite the Quantico being rugged (except for back that will not go back on tight!) and great sound, it is useless if you need to text at all. Predictive text software is messed up and will spit out letters randomly BEYOND the suggested word and stay there! So you have to forward and back up to erase them! AND you cannot turn off the predictive text which would make it a non-issue. No one at USCellular could figure it out or shut it off and then they admitted that they are having issues with this phone with respect to predictive text. Now my phone is in service for weeks and who know when I will get it or if it will be fixed?!?!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


High Quality MetroPCS Phone

 

Jun 3, 2010 by erikclarke

PROS:
Great Battery Life and Talk Time
High Speaker-phone Volume (Full-Duplex)
Compact Size
Slim Battery
Tough Exterior
Tight-Fitting Battery Cover (read directions for attaching properly, its easy)
MP3 Ringtones (Can be VERY, VERY loud)
Last hours each day on speaker-phone

CONS:
Software could run faster through menus
Intermittent bug affects assigning ringtones off Micro-SD Card

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Motorola Quantico W845

 

Apr 13, 2010 by Mark_S

Excellent phone overall.
To anyone with software issues, the latest update from Motorola can be obtained directly from their website.
Make sure you have a USB/USB micro data cable

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Finally a phone my husband likes!

 

Apr 7, 2010 by jaderz03

I actually work for one of the companies that sells this phone. My husband has been through 3 different types of phones in a year and hasn't liked any of them. HE LOVES THIS PHONE! He drives for a shipping company and has a 5 hr shift. Usually listens to music the entire shift on his phone and comes home with 1 bar left on his battery!

Camera is awesome, very rugged phone! If you are pondering on whether to buy this phone or not, you should! It's an awesome phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Quantico

 

Jan 18, 2010 by tgood

Purchased this phone for my father for Christmas.

This past weekend he put the phone through the snowblower!(accidently, of course) I couldn't believe the phone made it though such a harsh impact. The only damage the snowblower did was put a decent size scratch on the front cover.

What a phone! I'm so glad that U.S. Cellular came out with his phone, it's just what he was looking for.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Decent

 

Apr 28, 2010 by green02crew

Pros:
-Good sound quality
-Great battery life
-Rugged
-"Conversation" or chat feature for text
-Music ringtones
-The rubber button feel is nice and buttons are set far apart so you don't have to look at the phone to dial or text
-Strong vibrate unlike some others that are known for being weak

Cons:
-Bulkier than necessary, I think they could have shrunk it down some
-Hard to open battery cover, they could have made that easier
-Older software version needs updating or it won't delete texts, slow interface and random shut offs
-Hardware issue with mine: front screen was not waterproof and filled with water. When the phone got damp the earpiece speaker was very muffled and nearly not functional. Also had a speakerphone mic failure.
-No external ring setting like previous motos had to flip the phone and set the ringer

Other than a few bugs to work out which is expected, this is one of the best lasting moto phones I've had, and I've had a lot.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Atten-SHUN!

 

Jan 14, 2010 by muchdrama

PROS:

--Pulls down a great signal.

--Rugged indeed.

--Good looking.

--Two great screens. Outside screen is large.

--Sound quality is great with great volume levels.

--No external antenna protrusion.

CONS:

--A tad bulky.

--For whatever reason, the back cover is friggin IMPOSSIBLE to firmly attach. It's not a mil-spec phone if you can't close it, Moto!

I used this phone on MetroPCS's network in South Florida.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


NOT WATERPROOF!

 

May 19, 2011 by itsallgoodmaine

Phone is rugged and has a nice feel.

I found the menu options difficult to find/use and navigate.

The phone sat in less than 2 inches of water for less than 10 seconds. The only way for water to enter was either the seal wasn't complete when the sales person put in the battery or it got through the charging port when I unplugged it that morning. Either way...not "waterproof". I have had several phones over the years that have dropped, been stepped on and dropped in the dishwater and still worked. I bought this phone less than 3 weeks ago.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1