Phone Scoop

printed April 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2388&r=38139

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG Accolade VX-5600

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  10  

Average Ratings

3.71
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Good in emergencies

 

Jan 13, 2011 by zerosoma33

I've had my share of troubles with the LG Accolade. When the store I wanted to get my phone from no longer carried the LG Clout, I "settled" on this little guy. It seemed to work fine from the get-go, but lots of little things made it an annoyance and it's the little things that kill you. Here's the Pros and Cons.

PROS

-Good battery life (compared to other phones)

-Uses a fairly universal charger

-Charging cable doubles as a connection device to a PC

-Will stay alive if you get stuck in a storm

-Ringers are nice, and so are the alarms

-I dropped it in water a few days ago and it still works fine, minus some sound issues.

-Text capacity (will hold about a hundred texts)

CONS

-Texting. If you are a fast texter, this phone gets confused and starts typing multiple letters (for instance if you want to type an 's' it types four p's)

-Speakerphone. From the get go, the most horrible speakerphone I've ever heard. Even my wireless guy was horrified. Crackly, distorted, sounds like the voice is coming from a bowl of sand.

-Camera button. Unless you like taking pictures of your pockets, this phone will annoy you.

-Bluetooth. Doesn't connect with other devices like a kiosk.

-Unidirectional mouthpiece. You must speak right into the phone or else people will not hear you.

-Nothing about this phone will make you want to come running back to it. It may have saved your life at one point, which is really good, but for every day use it is nothing memorable.

Some issues that are so so : Wallpapers and picture quality.

To top it off, a few days ago I dropped it in water (good one, I know!) and am now looking for a phone to replace it. It still works fine, but the earpiece is distorted and the mouthpiece is almost ruined. People cannot hear me and they keep saying "what? what did you say? are you there?"

If you're looking for a phone on eBay to use with Verizon, this is NOT it. Please look at some other good flips. Use this ONLY as a backup if needed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Basic Mobile phone that works! No bells no whistles!

 

Mar 31, 2010 by user78245

Pros: -Clear calls, great Signal
-Awesome Battery life
-Spacious Lit Keypad

Cons: -No games included
-Not flashy

The LG Accolade is an awesome basic phone. I had so many phones and none hold battery charge like this one. After fully charging, the phone lasted 5 days without a charge and still had one bar but decided to charge before it died.

The calls are crystal clear and get signal almost everywhere. The keypad is spacious to dial and because is lit, is easy to use in the darkness. The included ringtones are no good but was able to get some free real ringtones without a problem. Truth is no matter how basic you want your phone you should still be able to customize it a little. It has no games and doubt people will be crazy about your phone.

It is a basic phone for talk and lower level text. Obviously not recommend for heavy texters.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


So far, So .......!

 

Mar 27, 2010 by patwackp

Bought this phone at Walmart in Union City, Ca. this morning. They are selling in the Prepaid Package for $22.88. I believe that is the upgrade to the LG VX-5500 model. So I thought I'd upgrade from my 5500 that I've had for a while.
So far so good. About the same size.
But it has a different battery and a detatchable charging cord so i can charge it via my laptop's usb port. Which is nice I guess! although the car charger is the same.
Saved me $30.
Overall, it's a nice phone with better ringtones and wallpapers. Although I will miss the "Whistling Wizard" tone on my 5500.

I highly recommend for anyone looking for a basic phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Accolade Deal Breaker

 

Mar 22, 2010 by mellowpaul

This phone has a lot going for it. Unfortunately, the speaker is so bad as to render the phone useless. I tried it out at the VZW dealer. A real deal breaker.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone and Service!

 

Feb 25, 2010 by 3watts

I got this phone last week and got caught in a blizzard 3 days ago. This phone saved my life! How can I give it anything but a 5.0? Thank you Accolade!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LG VX5500

 

Oct 22, 2010 by narn3049

This isn't a review of the Accolade- I already did a review on the 5500- and I have updates.

Must say this phone (and almost all other LG phones I've gotten wet) survives getting wet, my aunt owned this phone and washed it in the washer. It got full cycle- then dryer. It worked through it, and it just needed a little bit of drying- and had key marks on the screen.

Soon after the phone started restarting, so a new battery was ordered by her. When it was placed in, the phone continued to work just as it did day 1.

this is incredibly durable. My cousin who isn't exactly the most easiest on the phones that he owns, has the same phone (5500) and tossed his on the ground a lot, dropped it, and even had it run over with a mower (without blades running. Incredibly the phone survived. Each phone HAS never been used in a case.

However- my cousin HAS NEVER gotten his wet, and the screen has key marks fossiled to the screen. I hear it's common with this model, but it doesn't even have RAZR like keys (I've experienced with the RAZR and I can seee why it does this with the blue ridges) Both phones have done this, but my aunts started RIGHT after getting wet.

Sound quality is also amazing, for an entry level phone there is a LOT of plusses to it, when I got my Samsung Intensity phone, when we got forwards and sounds and stuff, 50 percent of the time my phone sounded like it was a recorded sound, when the same fwd from the same person was sent to my cousin it sounded like an mp3 file. It happened a lot when I owned the intensity, which is one reason I left that phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Lousy Keypad

 

Jun 30, 2010 by henrys

I got this phone for my son who was in college. As a president of a college organization and committee person for other groups, he texts alot. The keypad was sticking from the beginning and we waited till he graduated to bring the phone back to Verizon for a replacement. The mailed replacement phone was a refurb. This phone was worse than the original. Last nite we argued with the manager at the Verizon store Rt 4 Paramus and learned this phone will be obsolete next month and replaced with new 4G phones. The manager (Rich) who would not provide his last name stated that there are defects with the phone but Verizon just sells them and the consumer has to deal with the manufacturer. Essentially the consumer is stuck with a phone service for 2 years and a phone that doesn't work. As a Verizon wireless customer for 12 years, I will be changing providers at renewal. Also maybe it is time to drop FIOS and go to Cablevision. This would be a Verizon loss of $325 per month.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1