Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=23

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Ericsson  ›

Ericsson A1228c

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  

Average Ratings

2.36
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Ericsson A1228c.. not a good entry into CDMA!

 

Dec 30, 2001 by Paul Higgins

This is Ericsson's first attempt at a CDMA phone... but sadly it's not a particularly good one.

The handset itself is relatively large and quite heavy, though fortunately it does look reasonably "business like" in black.

The worst aspects are the audio quality, the limited screen size and text input methods for sending SMSs.

While outgoing audio is OK, the received audio sounds very tinny and distorted through the handsets own ear-piece. Worse is the limited volume on offer, making it unusable anywhere but a quiet room.

The screen usually displays three lines of actual text, though it can be set through the menus to a spindly four. The text is pretty legible, but just three lines makes it difficult to do any sort of "web browsing" via the WAP interface.

And though the A1228c offers T9 predictive text input for web sites, it doesn't offer it for text messaging! It seems unbelievable that the Ericsson engineers missed that one. It would make SMSing so much easy.

One positive is its ability to work under less than wonderful signal strength. The stubby antenna and relatively sensitive receiver ensure that it makes and holds calls where other devices give up.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Lousy...Lousy...Lousy

 

Feb 24, 2003 by Alfred Neuman

Don't pick this one! Please... for everyone's sake!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Ericsson is the way to go

 

Sep 18, 2003 by Joe Blow

Even though this phone is out-dated, it has served me well for the past two years. It is user friendly, appealing to the eyes, and INDESTRUCTABLE. This phone has been abused badly, and it works just as well as it did the day that I got it. I just purchased another Ericsson phone because I know I can depend on them for a quality product.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This Phone Saved My Life

 

Aug 5, 2004 by Roamer

It was the summer of 2003... I was staying with my dad who happens to live in the worst neighborhood in San Francisco: Hunters Point. One night I was driving home in my Dad's pick-up truck. I was waiting at a red light, when two young men approach the truck, one on each side. All of a sudden they had both jumped in and pushed me into the middle collom. I was so frightened, I didn't know what to do. "Shut the F*** UP, YOUR GOING TO COME WITH US BITCH!" The driver yelled. The other guy seemed scared, like he didn't want to do it. I was crying and holding on to the dash board while one of them held my head down. I couldn't just let these hoodlums take advantage of me...I had to act quick. My Ericsson A1228c :-) was hooked on to me belt by the clip, neither of them noticed it. I acted quick, I dialed 911 and started to yell towards the phone without then noticing...."WHY ARE YOU GUYS DOING THIS. JUST LET ME GO. WHAT DO YOU WANT FROM ME. I HAVE NO CONTROL OF MY VEICAUL. YOU GUYS ARE CRAZY, LET ME GO! WE ARE NOW ON 3RD STREET AND NEWCOMB, JUST LET ME GO"
Could I've been any more of a genius-)
But man I was hella scared. About 3 minuets passed when 2 cop cars pulled us over. The guys both started to run from the truck...but no way were the SFPD going to let these criminals get away. Luckly every thing was okay.

So with that story tolled, who knows what could happen in this world, when you least expect it.
All I wanted to say was that this cell phone may be kind-of big, dosen't have a camera and not vary business like but it came trough for me and I'm so very thankful for that.
Every time someone makes a comment about my "old, big, black, brick of a cell phone I tell them...."IT SAVE MY LIFE!"

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone isn't gone yet??

 

Jun 3, 2003 by Robert Cook

Speaking as a service technician for a major player in the cell market, this phone is the WORST phone I have ever taken apart. battery life is the only up side, but it's connectivity to the system is horrendous.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


an ok phone

 

Aug 18, 2002 by Dana Lynne

this is a very simple phone--it allows u to do text messaging but doesn't have many options...an ok phone for a first phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Woosh about it for this phone!

 

May 27, 2002 by John Smith

This phone should have never been concieved by Ericsson. For a company that sits in the top 5 of the best phone mauf. this phone is simply disgrace.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1