Phone Scoop

printed July 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2285&r=37906

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Cliq

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  39  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.35
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Blurs the competition.

 

Oct 5, 2013 by Doom Wolf   updated Oct 5, 2013

It's been a while since this phone came out, and since I had it. But, seeing this article brought back memories.

You see, this is one of my all time favourite phones. It is. It's perfect for gaming, I had a ton of games installed in it, the keyboard d-pad was marvelous for gaming!

Display was good, loved it. Obviously, if you compare it to an actual phone, the res won't be that good, but that's pretty obvious.

Camera was good, and it still is. I mean, compared to current budget phones that featured a 5 MP cam. And the Cliq even had a better cam compared to some recent chinese phones that feature an 8 MP cam.

Battery life was outstanding! It lasted the whole day, and I used it heavily, playing games all day long.

Hardware quality's is excellent, I remember dropping it several times and it didn't had a single scratch up until the day it died.

Con: Screen does get scratched/marked easily. But again, nothing that a screen protector wouldn't resolve.

I got really sad when my Cliq died, but, oh well, it stood with me until this past spring. This phone is second only to my current S4. Definitely worth it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Moto you've done it again

 

Jan 1, 2010 by amos21

I purchased this phone after returning the My touch (yes its a good phone) but this phone is awesome. I use to be a blackberry queen nothing but blackberry but when I tried this phone I fell in love with it. My husband has a iphone and this is just as good. The only problem that I have notice is that some when your own the dialer if you press a 5 mostly an 8 will pop up and this can get a little nerve wrecking but besides that job well done.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Hello, Moto. It's been a long time.

 

Dec 29, 2009 by aerokc

I am hard to please, but the Cliq pleases me.

It's sturdy, feels solid, sounds great, and performs well. Motoblur is very nice whether you use all of the social networking accounts or not. I have mine connected to Twitter and Facebook and really enjoy my contacts being linked across networks. Motorola did a good job throwing in little touches, for example: when a person is calling me, it shows their picture (I chose to display profile pictures from Facebook) and their latest status update.

The camera is great and very accessible with the dedicated shutter button on the side. It was difficult to take steady photos with the MyTouch 3G/Hero using the trackball. I don't miss having a flash (they usually wash the subject out too much anyway).

Motoblur is responsive. I haven't had to reboot due to any kind of OS hang, and switching between screens and apps has been fluid and fast. Hello, easy multitasking!

Music sounds good whether playing from the MicroSD card or listening to Pandora over WiFi/3G. The standard headphone jack is greatly appreciated.

The keyboard is much better than I had expected. Although it's a grid layout, the keys are easy to find and the buttons are domed and clicky enough to feel the click and be confident of each press.

The only con I can currently think of is the lack of bluetooth file transfer support, even though Bluetooth File Transfer can be downloaded for free in the Market.

Battery life isn't like Nokia good, but it easily lasts a day with heavy use (now that it has been through a few full charging cycles). Can't complain there.

Great job, Moto! I'm thrilled to find a phone that does the job, and does it well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Cliq...Done!

 

Dec 2, 2009 by jwgizmo

Way to go Moto… I came from several different Blackberries (I mastered them) and other windows, and Palm smart phone types (yuk). I’d like to think I know something about what’s about to be said. When I opened the box I felt this heavy phone, I like that. Setup was easy (mostly) Typing on the slide out key pad, didn’t like that at first. This handset reminds me of a portable PC, kinda! What’s missing? To the folks that didn't like it. It’s because the Cliq is different, and that’s a good thing.
PROS:
Android
Solid build
Smooth touch scrolling
Many apps working together, not just one or two, sorry iPhone
Ease of use, It could be confusing to some
Free Apps, and I mean free and useful
Loud speaker, ringer
Camera/Video
OTA update 12/1/09
Sleep function while on a call, hold it up to face to talk and screen sleeps, take it away and it wakes up
Email push
MIDDLE OF THE ROAD:
Keypad (I guess I will have to get use to using it) there are two ya know, hmmmm? That’s cool
NO Mac or PC software at all.
CONS:
Android 1.5 as shipped
Position of the space bar on the slide out key pad: my thumb has to be contorted to press it. Most of the time I press the “V” or “B” while trying to press the space bar. The bottom of the phone lip gets in the way.
Accidental dialing/launching of an app while handling the phone, put it to sleep first, not necessarily a problem
BATTERY SUCKS! could be fixed with a software update.
NO FLASH(Oh well)
Camera is slow (Oh well)
Notification should not be in the taskbar
No holster
No sleep function when holstered, oh yeah no holster
SOME Email setup problems
This is a great handset. no lag for me.For those of you that are looking at it for the camera or camcorder function, remember, this is a smart phone. It takes good pictures and video. With a few more tweaks The Moto Cliq will catapult to one of the top handsets around. I will suggest this handset to all. Yes I did want an iPhone… Not anymore.
CLIQ! Done.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT PHONE!!

 

Nov 28, 2009 by bkfinest006

So this phone is great, and battery for me is great. Lasts so long with moderate use (youtube, browsing, IM, texts, music, games). The android market is so entertaining and fun, you can really tell its user-friendly and very open for development which is great because it feels like a big friendly community. Best phone i've had so far. I'm so happy i got rid of my sidekick!

PROS
good battery
great fun useful apps
android
camera is amazinggggg
videoo is amazinggg
youtube is greatt
texting and aim is great
KEYBOARD IS VERY COMFY
great multitasker.

CONS
doesn't have standard mini-usb port
doesnt have physical end and send keys.

other than that definitely recommend for everyone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


FREEKIN AWESOME

 

Jan 16, 2010 by stAfly17

I love this phone. I just recently purchased it on 1/12/10. I switched from the G1, and its frickin awesome. MOTO BLUR is a great feature, good job MOTOROLA. The interface is one of the best i have seen. The only thing that i don't like.... NO FLASH????? But o well... guess i will just have to carry a personal flashlight.... HAHAHAHAHAHAHA... other than that.... PERFECT PHONE!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


gotta love it

 

Jan 1, 2010 by htc101

great phone love it, just bought it a week ago and im in love

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A good Motorola

 

Dec 10, 2009 by gemini88mill

When i first started in the cell phone industry, the phones that were always free or that we were trying to get rid of were the moto razr's. That phone had so many problems and i heard so many horror stories. I was a little resitant to try the Cliq just based on the reputation of the razr but i took a chance and love it.

Pros: android enough said... apps its like having an iphone but without AT&T. one app included on the phone to link all the main social messaging sites (i.e. facebook, myspace, twitter, gmail) pull out keyboard

Cons: laggy, with the switching from horizontal and vertical screens, also with some apps that you download depending on what you get from the app store. sometimes the phone shuts off by itself which can get annoying. but 4.0 never the less

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


cliq

 

Nov 29, 2009 by renejreyes1

To start the cliq is a nice device. The battery life is terrible and there are some lag issues. On the other hand the full pull out keyboard is nice and Motoblur is awesome. I love not having to go into a whole bunch of different apps to do status updates or to read feeds. The phone simply just gets them for me and is very easy to update social networks. Of course web browsing is great because of android and so are all the apps. I love the pdanet app that lets me teather the phone with my laptop. With the 7.2 mbps modem on the phone if u are in a 3g area it is blazing speed.

I would have put a faster processor on the phone so it didn't lag but the battery life would have been even worse. Not bad considering it is Moto.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good enough to make me forget about BlackBerry!

 

Sep 12, 2010 by tgc1980

This phone is awesome, to say the least! I have the white one (for those that really wanted to know).

Cons:
Can't get my videos to play (maybe I just need to fiddle with it some more!)
Android version 1.5?? Really?!?

Pros:
Great reception.
3G, and all the benefits, therein.
A full keypad (something I sorely missed during my myTouch days).
Moto Blur!! (That speaks for itself)
Decent battery life for a smartphone.

This is an awesome phone. I'm looking, however, at getting a myTouch Slide. Only time will tell. If not, I'll use this until it falls apart.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1