Phone Scoop

printed April 16, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2208&r=34452

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry Tour 9630

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.99
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1...567 8 

Good bye storm and hello tour

 

Sep 21, 2009 by jvallen007

Hands downs best blackberry on verizons network. Pros for this its fast and its complete, hell its a blackberry. No cons. Hands down it a winner. Thank you rim.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone is GREAT (when it works, which it often does not)

 

Sep 20, 2009 by blakeall

When this phone is working perfectly, it is great. However, I am on my 3rd one and will likely have to trade it in again.

Phone 1: Drained the battery within 4 hours, even if it was just sitting on my desk; trackball would hang up and lag behind; phone would randomly lock up forcing me to go through the 5-minute battery removal and reboot routine.

Phone 2: Got some kind of virus. (Never heard of a phone getting a virus before, but there it was.) It put up a "fatal error" message periodically and then when you tried to dial a number it would dial it several times (i.e. press 2 and would dial 222222). I could still receive calls, but if I tried to make a call out of the address book immediately following an incoming call, it would tell me there was a call in progress for several hours afterward. Trackball was also beginning to get stuck.

Phone 3: Now randomly loses all text message and phone ringer sounds. It comes back with the standard battery removal/reboot scenario, but again, this is decidedly inconvenient since you cannot predict when this will happen.

Pros: Faster, web browser that works more like a real web browser.

Camera is fantastic compared to the Curve's.

Customizable text message ringers.

Bottom line: Would recommend sticking with the Curve a little longer until they get the bugs worked out of the Tour...clearly they have a long way to go.

Not impressed with BlackBerry overall, by the way. My 3rd Tour is my 11th BlackBerry overall - since June 8, 2008!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Nice features but a little dissapointing

 

Aug 3, 2009 by MiamiSprintGuy

I would like to first start off by saying that this is my first review so please bare with me..

I got this phone a week ago and have been a blackberry user for 8 yrs. I work in the industry and can say I have never used another device that works better with email than blackberry's do.

Having said that. I am a little disappointed with the phone. I happen to think the size of the phone is a little off, I also believe the Keys are hard to navigate with (personal preference).

I spoke to a Tech level 3 rep at sprint and he advised me that they know of the horizontal track ball issue. apparently the tours are built in 2 places. one in Mexico and the other in Canada. the ones being shipped from Mexico are the ones having the issues with the screen and the track ball, the Canadian ones have no issues reported EH!!

I think i am going to return it and possibly look into another device. I truly am disappointed due to my loyalty to blackberry. however I don't feel right giving this phone 5 stars...

Hope this review helps others..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


ALL TIME BEST

 

Jul 20, 2009 by lawandorder411

I am giving this a five before I even get started. It is on the way. I sure have it by tonight. I am so looking forward to it.

"THE BABY BOLD" I'm sure is the best on the market. the Cadillac of phones. Awwwwww yeah boy. You know it.

To the Williams family back home. Get in line for this one.

Big WILLY from Philly.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome phone

 

Jul 15, 2009 by s10sport313

After coming from a long series of LG flip phones, I decided to try out a Blackberry Pearl 8130 because Verizon's dumbphone selection isn't all that great. It took me a little while to get used to the way that Blackberries operate, but after a few days, I was hooked.

With the Tour, everything is extremely fast with no lag when switching between applications. The keyboard is fantastic and allows you to type very quickly. The display is very crisp and the camera is a HUGE jump up from the camera I had on my Pearl. Voice quality is also extremely good. After owning these 2 Blackberries, especially the Tour, I can't see myself going back to a regular phone again.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome.....

 

Jul 15, 2009 by island-guy

I've had the Pearl (Att), Curves (Att&Sprint), and 8350i so I can make a few comments. This phone leaves my previous 8330 (Sprint) in the dust with excellent ergonomics, an amazing display, swift OS response, and much better reception. I love the 3G on this and it makes web browsing a snap. The call quality is the best I've experienced so far (Sprint) and the speaker sounds great, although pale in comparison to my old 8350i. My only gripe, resulting in half a star off, is that a compatible Sprint/Telenav navigation platform is not due until August and Truphone does not work. The battery door is pathetically loose so I can gripe with others here. Well worth every penny and I highly reccomend it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Tour for SPRINT

 

Jul 13, 2009 by atcell

Basically just like the curve, just bigger and screen display is better. Cant really give it a "5" cause i am just waiting for the glitches. Camera is much better and a lot clearer with transition in video not jumping around like the Curve.

Phone is well worth it if you are eligable for the upgrade, but to buy outright when you already have the curve, NOT really worth the $515...

Will let you know as i keep playing with it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Touring Verizon

 

Jul 13, 2009 by phone bug

Just got it.First in town.Had an AT&T Bold.Had to go with Verizon due to AT&T does not serve Montana.

The Tour is smaller in size and a smaller monitor.No WiFI
Sill learning but I can tell you it's the little sister to the Bold. Same menu.
Tech wise can not till you right now. Seems a little faster. No 3G in Montanna as well. Seems faster than the 3G of AT&T in the east where I just moved from.
But we will see?????? Let's see if Verizon can perform better than it has with the STORM!

Happy Touring.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1...567 8 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2