Phone Scoop

printed August 27, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=22&r=8074

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Siemens  ›

Siemens S40

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  1  

Average Ratings

3.23
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Best phone I've ever used...

 

Nov 15, 2003 by hsbabra

Siemens S40, best phone I've ever used, looks are greattttttttt... not too heavy, small enough to fit in the pocket, sure it doesn't have games, but i don't care much about games on phones anyways... sad thing the phone is no longer available in any markets or provider... neither with any US companies or CN companies... but who cares, i have one on me... and its awesome...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Siemens S40 (Great phone)

 

Aug 23, 2002 by David Shallis

I am a previous verizon customer, and when i decided to go with cingular i when out and got a 8290, worst move of my life. Horrible phone, would not recomend to anyone. Now, the Siemens S40 is another story. It gave me a whole new look at the service cingular was providing me. I stoped droping so many calls (2-3 times a day with 8290, 2-3 times a week with the S40). It looks great, and the volume of the phone is excelent. If you travle, you will love this phone. I get reception everywhere and it is great. I even like it better than the v60.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


This Phone is Pure Class

 

Jun 27, 2002 by hdtravel

Very attractive phone. Very low radiation level. Nice reception. Works all over the world in GSM areas. I use with Voicestream in Albuquerque NM. If you are an international traveler - buy this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Below Average phone that looks good

 

Jan 30, 2005 by chicadam

I used the phone for about a year.
Bad experience with the reception but this may not be the phone's fault. Mostly likely reception is the provider's fault.

Pros:
- It looks good.
- Menu was easy to use
- Very sturdy
- IR

Cons:
- Poor reception, to me this is weighted the heaviest.
- Firmware crashes, rare, but its not complicated software, so it shouldn't

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Just got my new phone

 

Oct 1, 2004 by magesnz

Just got my new phone yesterday, got a few problems with the network, i use Fido in Canada, but now everything works, perfectly, only one thing, slow to dial and get the line, but except that i love this phone, even if it a little old

Also, i hope it will work in texas when i go to texas

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I've loved this phone

 

Jan 29, 2004 by snowweasel

I've had this phone since it first came out in the US and have loved it. The only serious problems I've had with it have been when I was in Florida, there was an issue with the network that caused this phone to lock up and the battery to drain (This apparently happened on a couple networks in the nation, I don't know if this has been fixed- there is info on Siemens website) I bought this phone a) because of it's small size and looks (one of the first phones with blue backlight, nice aluminum cover). b) it was one of the first phones with international roaming. I didn't end up using the international roaming until recently, but phone worked flawlessly when I traveled to Zimbabwe last summer.

Pros:
small size,
nice looks (I STILL get comments on the phone after it being out more than 2 years)
Gets good signal
tons of ringtones (plus you can program your own)
great phonebook
infrared
PC Sync
Good battery life for a phone this old.

Cons:
occasionally phone gets a bit of an echo sound (might be result of signal)
menus- sometimes take a while to find what you're looking for
occasionally phone gets quirks in it and shows random characters, but never been a major issue.

Even though it's getting kind of dated, I still love this phone more than others I have used. If it had GSM 800 I probably would even look for another phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Siemens S40 - Its main feature is trouble!

 

Jan 6, 2004 by mhack012

I bought the Siemens S40 as my first cell phone.
I decided on this phone primarily because of looks, and because I knew Siemens traditionally built quality products.
Unfortunatley, this phone gave me trouble from the very start...
The S40 would power off or 'lock-up' every once and while, for no apparent reason.
Upon returning this phone to Siemens, I was sent a brand new unit some weeks later.
This new unit also had the exact same problems, until I realized that the screws holding the battery terminals to the body were not tight enough - I fixed this problem myself.
A few months later the phonebook began to freeze up, and I began to get odd (apparently Russian) characters in my text messages and phonebook.
Again, the phone would randomly cause problems for no apparent reason.
Siemens took over 2 months to return this phone, and let me know there was 'No Trouble Found' with my unit.
It still does not work properly...
This phone has nice features for a 2002/2003 model, dictaphone, GSM, a beautiful blue backlight, SMS, but is not worth the trouble
I suggest you do NOT buy this or any other Siemens product.
I'm just giving mine away/throwing it out..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Worst phone ever on Rogers ATT

 

Aug 22, 2003 by Mark MacInnis

I have been selling phones for approx 3 years now and this is the worst phone I have ever seen for Canadian usage. These phones would constantly search for 900 and 1800 band and would take around 5 min to decide to look for 1900. But they did look nice and worked ok on Fido if unlocked.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


not as good as it looks

 

Dec 21, 2002 by Lisa Torres

First off I got the phone because of it's looks i'll admit..This phone is sold everyday to teens and adults...most business people buy the expensive phones ...or they get smart..get a ericsson for traveling and a nice palm pilot...this phone is a cheap business phone..not meant to be used as 1 area phone..In Merced,sanger,fresno,hanford, LA, Fremont,Clovis etc..this phone isn't worth buying if you plan to use the phone ...you have to be a big traveler...even then I rec. a ericsson..it's a way better phone for traveling...a nokia is best to get for dependability and games..this phone has no games..I had to read a 92 page manual to learn how to make it function..they should affer a class. :) some defects..The phone when turned off will probably not turn back on till you take the battery out..pop it back in..then you should be able to turn it on...the clock will freeze.. too... after having a cousin that happens to be a manager..I've learned everything there is to know about every phone that was made between 1998 till now...and how cingular works...every phone has it's downs..but this is a lame phone when it comes to working right..try never to loose your ericsson..because cingular gives you this phone to replace it....I own every Nokia phone, and a lot of the ericsson and motorola phones... take it from me. This phone has a cute look and a cute font but if you live anywhere near those areas you'd be crazy to buy this phone...you're better off getting the free nokia with the service... OH! and if you plan to change the ring tones...pay the $1 or so and get it sent to you...don't try to get the codes and do them urself... everyone can learn how to do it of course...but unless you really have nothing to do for hours you really should pay the small amount. *also if you plan to use what the siemens phone is made to do you better check the prices on what YOU have to get to use it properly...gets up there in price.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Well Built

 

Jan 2, 2003 by AMBERQUEST

The phone has very low radiation wich is great. The phone has a solid feel. The menu is a little strange but once learned its quite amazing. The S-40 has good voice quality decent reception, while on the Fido(Toronto) network.On the other hand while on the Rogers AT&T network the reception was a little on the weak side. Positioned I think to please few people. Nice Phone though.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1