Phone Scoop

printed October 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2196

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Intrepid SPH-i350

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  8  

Average Ratings

3.21
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

HORRIBLE/GOOD

 

Apr 26, 2010 by Tiggerspiglet331

I had 4 of these phones before I finally gave up. I loved this phone minus all the issues.

PROS:
User friendly
Touch screen/ normal options
USB cord for syncing
Windows 6.5
Clear calls
Battery life is wonderful! 2.5 days using internet, games, music, facebook, calls, etc.
Has the Blackberry feel, just more spiffy.

CONS:
Speaker phone is HORRIBLE!
Turns off randomly!
Freezes all the time!
Takes a long time to boot up
The screen acts up and is difficult to press
Screen scratches too easily, and can't find any touch screen protectors.

Other than those things, its a good phone, just not worth the price for all the issues. I do really miss mine though.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Underrated Sleeper Superstar of Sprint's Line Up

 

Dec 17, 2009 by jdace09

Pros:
QWERTY Keyboard
Form Factor
WiFi
Quad Band GSM
Touch Screen
Business Card Reader
Thin and Light
Easily syncs to Outlook & Active Sync
MS Tell Me

Cons:
Win Mo 6.5
Width
No Capacitive Touch (not finger ready)
Battery Life suffers if you use all features.
Bluetooth turns itself off
Win Mo 6.5
Apps stay open even after you close them
No flash
Cant easily navigate between open apps
Did I mention Win Mo 6.5?

Overall a great phone. I loaded S2U2 and SPB Mobile Shell, which ALMOST overcome Win Mo's shortcomings.

Ultimately, WinMo is light years behind every other mobile OS out there, including Symbian, Android, Apple, RIM, and even some of the stock OS's. Try to d/l an app on any WinMo outfitted phone and that becomes painfully obvious.

Windows Marketplace is a joke- it's meant to be accessed via desktop- which is the whole problem, MS is a bunch of desktop jockeys coming at the mobile world from a desk. Its an approach that only a full-fledged monopoly like MS would employ.

When is MS gonna figure out that Windows is too overly complicated and counter-intuitive for even a desktop... and here they're putting it on a phone? Just putting "mobile" in front of your OS doesn't make it so.

Can't fault Samsung for this one. Intrepid is stocked. Great Form Factor, stylus, plenty of power, and aside from the flash, its got all the extras.

Along with MS, Sprint is also on my S list. they won't let customers with "old" plans activate any Android or Palm OS phones. (Translation: we want to get you off your old economical plan, and on to our new, way more expensive plan). Sure, I'll switch my plan.. when you pry it from my cold dead hand! :)

But I digress... Anyway, the Intrepid gets a thumbs-up. Just wish I could figure out how to boot WinMo and retro fit it with Android!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


SAMSUNG INTREPID

 

Oct 25, 2009 by THEBEERGUY

Overall a pretty decent phone. The battery life is a lot better than i expected it to be, but if you use the wifi a lot, it doesn't last long at all. There are definitely some nice features with windows mobile 6.5 that previous windows versions didn't have. The signal strength with this phone is not that bad either. Not a bad phone for the price! oh and samsung makes the extended battery for the phone, but not the cover! check it out on their website under the intrepid-batteries and covers....

http://www.samsung.com/us/consumer/mobile/mobile-phones/sprint-phones/SPH-I350DLASPR/index.idx?pagetype=prd_detail&tab=accessories

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I hate Windows Mobile and 'resistive' touch screens

 

Jun 1, 2012 by nikpapag

I hate Windows Mobile. It's NOT user friendly.
Also the touchscreen stopped working after 2 1/4 years because, I speculate, of it's 'restive' technology instead of 'capacitive'. 2 1/4 years is the exact same length of time my last phone's touch screen failed working -also 'resistive'. Resistive can not be viewed outside in sunlight as well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not so good.

 

May 2, 2010 by FSaps

PROS
-Keyboard was easy to get use to.
-Screen size definitely worked great for myself.
-Touch is responsively
-Battery life was very surprisingly good.
-Outlook Exchange Sync is amazing, it grabs all your contacts and calendar reminders
-Signal reception
-Weight
-Doesn't pick up wind noise
-Speed of Internet

CON
-No back key
-The phone slows down and freezes a lot when you have a lot of text messages.

I might have more pros to cons but I utilize my phone all day long for business use. The amount of calls I make e-mails I send is outrageous. I also text an extreme amount and that is the problem. When texting a lot the phone starts to slow down and eventually freeze if you do not delete the messages. This became a huge issue for myself because at times I was unable to pick up calls and also reply back to e-mails in a timely manner. I would have to reset my phone and then it would still be slow to get into the text messages to delete them.

Other then that the phone is great if you are not going to be texting at all.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pretty Good; Very Useful

 

Jan 4, 2010 by KeepNTouch

I have had this phone for about 5 days. The user interface took some getting use to and I'm still learning. Everyday I find something I like a little more. Good signal reception underground in metro and on elevators. Voice quality is pretty good. Music player is nice. Battery life is very good it lasted all day on moderate use. 14 hrs(2hrs MP3 via bluetooth, some web surfing, maybe a total of 3hrs talk (some bluetooth) and learning the phone's features))

In my previous life I owned a Palm 755P, HTC 3125 (Windows flip phone)and other basic flip phones or a slider.

PROS
-Tell Me Accuracy w or w/o bluetooth
-Screen size
-Display quality
-Versatility of touch and tactile functions
-Touch responsive to fingernails!
-Battery life
-Upfront buttons 4 bluetooth, TellMe, Mail etc
-Recurring calendar appointments avail
-Signal reception
-Weight
-Good call quality (even in 20MPH winds)
-Good music quality
-Speed of internet
-WiFi
-Size of Keypad for typing (not too cramped)

CON
-User interface takes some time to get use to
-No BACK key (either backspace or OK works)
-Location of power button in conjunction with volume rocker

Excellent choice for busy parent or business professional.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Interestin Phone With Some Weird Features

 

Oct 25, 2009 by Renaldo

Three days into the wm 6.5, I have noticed a major difference in the phone. I had the touch pro, the phone was nice but i found it to be heavy and bulky. Samsung bar is easier to operate and it makes for easier use because of its size. WM 6.5 is a "Kiddie scale of 6.1" "Big Icons" "Wigets". I believe that this phone will go over well, Its cheaper than touch pro 2. Keep in mind the chargers have changed not using USB.
Pro: Style(blackberry flat), Afforabilty ($250 - $100 mail in rebate), features (Tell Me, Remote desktop),
Con: Weird security features ( bluetooth "times out" meaning your devices drop connections.) deactivated features including sleep modes.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2