Phone Scoop

printed December 18, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=219&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Siemens  ›

Siemens A56 / A56i

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  6  

Average Ratings

3.41
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

Great phone

 

Aug 9, 2003 by chris davis

This is a great phone for a basic user. I've dropped mine severall times and it hassn't had any trouble. Overall a great value for a smart shopper!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice.....

 

May 10, 2003 by AMBERQUEST

Small cute phone, very light only 3 oz. Reception is fairly good. Voice quality is good and RF is about average. Lots of fun screen savers and wall papers. Although I would like the phone too have a calender feature. The phone has a day by day adjustable alarm features, that works with the power is of the phone will turn itself on and alert you at the specified time. Battery time is good at about 3.5 hours of talk time and 5 days of stand by.
The phone is aimed more at the youth market so it might not appeal too every one.
A reasonable inexpensive phone with some fun and advanced features.......

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Siemens A56

 

Mar 16, 2003 by john doe

I think this phone is junk. I am going to exchange it. I also have a Kyocera 2235 which is far superior. This is what I am comparing it against. I can barely hear even with the volume at full. The signal is much weaker and the other party hears static. I called with each phone along a 50 mile stretch of interstate as a test. The button symbols are difficult to see especially at night. It was hard locating any reviews of this phone on the Internet. Hope others do so we can get more info.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Siemens A56

 

Feb 11, 2003 by Angela Satter

I really love this phone. It is very small only 3 onzes. The screen savers are cute. I enjoyed putting my own wallpaper on it too. It has so many great features you just have to try it out for yourself.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Lovin it!

 

Jan 10, 2004 by Leese_mobile

I love this phone, the size and features are very cute to me. Its basically considered somewhat of an appeal to a woman, i really dont think a man would like this but hey, who knows, cute things comes in small packages, Im a proud owner of this phone i say keep up da good work siemens, im really in need of faceplates and covers though.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A56 ownz me

 

Dec 15, 2003 by laotsunami

I really think that the little A56 is an *excellent* starter phone for those new to GSM. I've had no problems with it, and I found it very fun that in an area where my digital phone died out as far as signal strength went, the GSM picked up without problems.

Service aside, the A56 is a great little phone to have. I imagine that I'll have this one as long or longer than i did my Nokia 5165 (and we all know about those!)

It is very hard to find faceplates, however. But I understand that they come in a variety of colors. I'd like to have one, but I can't even figure out how to get the faceplace off this one!

Overall, a very good phone for those who have their doubts about GSM.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great entry level phone!

 

Oct 28, 2003 by ralph0722

This phone is actually pretty good! Its small and comfortable. Easy to use. The faceplate's are scratch resistant. The reception is very good. But battery life is poor. But in any case is entry level and just basic comunication. If u want fanciness go with the CT56, S56 or SL56.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


i own cell phone company and this is the # seller!!!

 

Sep 20, 2003 by matt serrano

Take it from me, i own numerous company's were cell phones are a must. I've no complaints just real positive remarks. You'll like guarantee.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


ok phone

 

Oct 4, 2005 by vanphonegal

I've had this phone for a year, and have used it heavily. I dropped it in some water, and the speaker was messed up for a while but luckily it was ok again when it completely dried out. It starting shutting down a lot after I dropped it another time and the repair guy told me that it was defective (I think he was just being nice, or maybe he'd seen a lot of this model act the same way). I got it replaced under warranty. The replacement is genuinely defective, though. Sometimes it spontaneously shuts down and the scroll down button freezes, or the screen partially blacks out. So, it's good when it works, but you;re on your own when the warranty expires.
I would recommend it to someone who wants a basic phone and doesn't care about features.

PROS:
-durable, no flimsy joints or parts
-straight-forward menu, no ambiguous icons
-simple, easy to use buttons
-good value, you're not paying for features that you may not want anyways
-you can programme one shortcut onto the main screen. I like having the 'missed calls' shortcut on there instead of the SMS shortcut that it's set to on default
-good reliable signal

CONS:
-bad ringtones
-often defective?
-cheezy graphics
-locking and unlocking keypad is annoying, and it's easy to prematurely answer when it's ringing and you're riffling around in your bag (as with any bar phone)
-every time you get a new voicemail you have to delete the text message announcement off the screen. It's unnecessary, as the 'missed call' icon is enough to know that you probably have a new message
-doesn't have shortcut to turn vibrate on/off
-doesn't have a clock on the screensaver, so you have to unlock the phone to see the time

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Worst piece of junk i've ever owned

 

Jul 22, 2005 by dougdeep69

I suffered from the same issue through 4 different A56 phones and each one broke in the exact same way ...The phone would just shut off for no reason constantly... I hate this phone and theres no pros

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1