Phone Scoop

printed November 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=216&r=1215

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-S300 / SGH-S300m

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  4  

Average Ratings

4.21
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Samsung SGH S300

 

Apr 25, 2003 by Erik Iversen

This is the best phone i have used to date. I will start with 1 thing i do not like but it is very small. I dislike the fact that you cannot pick and choose which SMS, opening and closing the flip and start up shutdown sounds you wish to use. This is so small no points are deducted as far as I am concerned just though i would mention it. Now for the good stuff excellent voice quality incoming and outgoing. Beautiful screen fantastics sounding ringtones and the software and cable and two batteries are wonderful. The very small size is a major plus also. I am currently using this phone on AT&T's GSM network and have perfect signal and calls all sound wonderful.
The front LCD is cool with some great animations when you get a message or call.
I took this phone into the AT&T store i go to all the time and everyone in the store was just in Awe of this little wonder one of the employee's there was so in to this phone since then has gone and purchased it for himself.
If you want a WOW phone this is it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best phone period!

 

Mar 2, 2003 by jeffro01

Wow, what can i say about this phone. First i would say is the amazing dual color screens. Then internal 65000 screen is beautiful, bright, and clear. The external one is sharp and elegant, and doubles as a mirror when inactive. The phone is small and light weight, but don't let that fool you, this is one powerful piece of equipment. The 40 chord polyphonic ring tones are amazing, crisp, clear, and very, very loud. The animations are nothing short of amazing, the status light is capable of blinking in 7 different colors, your choice. The java is very fast in loading and provides the complete package. This is by far the best phone money can buy. Direct from Hong Kong

Pros:
Dual color screens, both beautiful and sharp
Small size, small enough for the palm of your hand.
Ring tones are perfect, and very very loud.
Comes with the data cable
Buttons are firm and have a great feel to them
Reception is the best I've seen in a phone.
Battery life is good compared to what it has to power (about 2.5 days standby with heavy use)
You can always view the time by holding down the key on the side

Cons:
No voice dialing/commands and thats it, thats the only con.

In closing, the $500 usd price tag is high and will deter the novice to average phone user. But, for the hard core users, this phone is a must have. You will not regret one minute of your purchase. Great job samsung!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Finally, one that is perfect

 

Aug 27, 2003 by Jack Cates

Picked up the 'M' model in Thailand last month. After using it there, and SIMMing it up w/T-Mobile after returning here in the US, I can honestly say that I have finally found a phone that is worth the money paid. The phone's features can not be beat and has good power strength and battery time. Phone is small and comes with two batteries, high quality headset CD disk with over 1000 ring tones and wallpaper animations you can DL into the phone by using IR. I would agree with an earlier post that the only thing I would improve on is the ability to preset your SMS text entry mode to your desired method. It defaults to "predictive text" mode after every sent SMS. Price overseas was US343.00..little pricey but well worth it to me for the awesome quality and performance of this phone. You can easily find supported aftermarket accessories on-line in the US, although the phone itself is very hard to find yet. Kudos Samsung!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


s300m

 

Aug 11, 2003 by teri nickens

I adore my new little phone, but am wondering why they say this phone has ringtone and picture caller ID when it does not...it is in fact the same menu as the v205 (which does not support them either) Still, I've used just about every other phone on the market and this one beats them all!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Fantastic and Perfect Size!!

 

Mar 18, 2003 by SEAfones

The SGH-S300 is a fantastic phone, picture the S100, shrunk down about 33% and then put added features into it. It's great. Clear color screen (both sides, the outside boasts a color display as well) Key pad is easy to use and the comments I get on the phone are incredible.

Good signal strength and it's Tri-band!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung S300 Currently The King Of The Hill

 

Apr 20, 2003 by Joeshmoe

This phone is the best. Bought it for $385.00 (USD) on Ebay from [...] This phone is small and rings LOUD ! Computer software allows you to download ringtones and wallpapers. Simply the best flip, color phone on the planet currently (4/20/2003). Oh, did I mention that it is FACTORY UNLOCKED. Runs on AT&T, T-Mobile or any GSM carrier. Just insert the SIM, select the FREQUENCY and you're online.

Ed. note: removed commercial info and contact info

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I don't know German

 

Jun 13, 2003 by erikclarke

I purchased this phone and liked the apparent bells and whistles, but ITS IN GERMAN!! Menu 4,5 should give me the chance to change languages, but the option is 'GRAYED OUT'! If there is a trick to the language change, please publish it. That being said, it does not respond to the T-Mobile network at all in NYC. The antenna strength indicator is also 'GRAYED OUT'. However, if this phone worked... it would be awesome. It was to be a surprise present, but the joke was on me. It does have surprisingly clear, quality tingling tones that sound when the flip is opened. It is tantalizingly small, scoring HIGH on the "oooh, what's that?" chart. The construction is solid The keys are relatively large and responsive (even for a man with large hands). Bottom line... regardless of FLASH and class, it doesn't work in my area. Check it out in store BEFORE leaving. Final note: the charging adapter had one of those (oops.. I need to go to Radio Shack to charge this thing) European/Asian type prong thingys. Check the box thoroughly for a USA type adapter or you will not be able to charge your phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2