Phone Scoop

printed November 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2096

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Karma QA1

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  15  

Average Ratings

4
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

great phone

 

Nov 5, 2009 by dr hard drive

i have had the phone for a month now and i love it. best phone i have had and i have had a lot of them.

pros: great color screen, easy to use love the slide for texting, all round great phone

cons: none

i would say buy the phone it is great

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Ok but no what I expected

 

Jul 6, 2009 by shedevl1

Hi I got this phone yesterday and its ok but its a little hard to hold and text with, the keys are lifted so its easy but the style of the phone makes it difficult to hold as you text....The battery last pretty long charged it only once am a heavy texter and still has a full charge...its good for teens with small enough hand to hold...Am taking it back because I can't deal with such a small phone for the next 2 years...Also feels like the slide up part will break very loose on my phone...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


great while it lasted

 

May 8, 2011 by nofrills

i've had a lot of cell phones over the years and i liked this one the best. that's why i was so disappointed when not one, but two died on me in less than five months.

i got this phone for my birthday at the end of december 2010. by february, it had already died. just plain died. wouldn't turn on, wouldn't do anything. took it to the AT$T store where they tested it and said it needed to be replaced. the warranty still was good. got another phone and within two months, this phone also died. suddenly, with no warning.

i am not using this phone in any different way than i've used all my other phones throughout the years so i don't know why both of these fried out on me.

like i said, i really liked this phone. i loved the texting (which i used more than calling) because it ran a running conversation and the screen was big and bright. the camera worked great, even had a flash. the buttons were easy for my big fingers. i liked the weight of it and the feel in my palm. i liked the ringtones that came with it, and being able to pick out ringtones that pretty much matched the personalities of my favorite frequent callers to tell who it was by sound instead of looking at the display. the display was easy to read, even for an old fart like me who needs bifocals. the call volume was OK (i am slightly hard of hearing and am used to having problems hearing on ALL phones i've ever had so i got myself a motorola bluetooth and that did the trick). by the way, i am replacing the twice broken karma with a samsung, so i'll be selling the barely used bluetooth...

so, like the title said, it was a great phone while it lasted...the first one, and the second one!

i don't even see the karma is being offered anymore so perhaps this is a moot post unless you are planning on picking one up used or refurbished. if so, get the warranty!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Useful Dumb Phone

 

Aug 24, 2010 by pr0craztinazn

Pros:
- Pretty good reception in NYC and DC Metro areas, as well as Western WV
- Easy to text with keyboard
- Robust OS; no crashes
- Vibrant screen
- Great battery life (4ish hours of talk time and 70 texts over a day brings it down to 1/2 charge; will still play MP3s for a few hours before giving a low battery warning)
- Compact form factor
- Micro USB charge port & micro SD card storage
- 3.5mm headphone jack
- Semi-rubberized back makes it easy to grip
- LED flash makes for useful flashlight in a pinch
- Good speaker phone quality

Cons:
- Will not allow you to access texts while talking
- Can't see current time when call timer is enabled
- Volume is a little too loud when used as a MP3 player
- Overheats easily if left on a warm surface, although it will alert you & go into "cool down mode" if it detects it's getting too hot
- Cursor while texting is washed out in direct sunlight
- Shape isn't for everyone
- Camera is fairly useless for having a LED flash & 2MP rating
- LED flash can only be enabled by going into camera mode & manually turning it on; goes off after a minute or two, which is annoying if you're using it as a flashlight
- Won't store texts on Micro SD card; approximately 425 incoming text capacity
- Micro SD slot hidden under battery cover
- Battery cover pops off easily
- Speaker phone isn't that loud

I've had the phone for 3 months so far and it's been good to me. Get a screen protector if you don't want the plastic scratched. Not being able to access texts while on the phone & having a speaker phone that isn't that loud knocks a point off the phone's rating for me.

It's a good phone and has a very good sounding, albeit really loud, MP3 player. Don't want to pay for a Blackberry plan but want a similar QWERTY keyboard? The Karma is definitely worth a look.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone, Bad GPS

 

Oct 25, 2009 by shafita

It is a very cute phone
Pros:
-Great for texting
-Easy to navigate through the applications.
-Great volume, ringer and vibrate.
-Great connection with bluetooth and great sound.
Cons:
-very bad connection to GPS. Took a very long time if it even did connect. Got two different devices and they both did the same thing.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Phone

 

Oct 20, 2009 by fergie29

I have had this phone a week and so far it has worked well for me.

Pros
-Threaded messaging.
-Loud Ringer and Ringer+Vibrate Option.
-Easy to use menus.
-One Touch Camera Button.
-Good size keyboard for texting.

Cons
-The slide makes texting a little awkward.
-The navigation buttons don't feel solid.

I haven't found too much I dislike about this phone. I have AT&T and can pay $30 dollars for unlimited internet and text messaging. Its not a bad phone for the price. Plus it feels sturdy and gets a great signal.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


So Ugly in Such a CUTE Way!!!

 

Aug 9, 2009 by Lanae

I am actually in LOVE with this phone! So much better than I originally expected it would be! Its so ugly in a cute way!
I am an avid Motorola User, and this was a switch from using the Moto V9x. Its different but good in a lot of ways!

PROS:
A) I love the fact that the vibration on this is really strong! I can hear it from across the room!
B) The Text message format, gives each individual person you text, their own conversation. Kind of like how the Blackberrys/IPhone work, or Instant Messaging.
C) It already has social Networking Apps such as Facebook or Myspace downloaded into its own convenient folder!
D) The Keyboard is very easy to get use to!

CONS:
A) So far I have only one dislike, which is, I have not been able to use this with my Motorola Phone Tools, I have tried downloading new software for it, yet it still does not work properly.

Overall! Its a great phone! And I would suggest to any Motorola Loving Weirdo Such as I!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not impressed

 

Jul 7, 2009 by devastator28

I hate to judge a book by its cover or a phone for that matter, but this device isn't really visually appealing first and foremost. The keypad has a weird feel to it and the send and end keys as well. The camera is a 2.0 mpx but the pictures come out really grainy. There's better phones with high resolution cameras such as the iPhone. Despite the abovementioned, this device does have pretty good reception and the menus are actually easy to navigate. Basically, its a typical Moto OS, but I like its ease of use. Also, I like the device's ability to download links to social networking sites such as Facebook. The device retails for $79.99 with a $50 rebate, which is a pretty good deal, but I think any potential buyer can invest a couple dollars more and get a much better device such as the LG Xenon, Samsung Eternity or even the iPhone so that they can get more for their money.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1