Phone Scoop

printed July 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2062

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC Dash 3G / Snap (GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  11  

Average Ratings

3.79
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Great And fast

 

Aug 4, 2009 by djidiaz

This is by far one of the best phone i had i been more of a side kick person but grew out of it and well for business is a great and fast phone (3g) now for media is a greatt phone as well full key bord whitout having a huge phone, the screen might be small but has good resolution and one of my favorite feature is the youtube app unlike other phones that is not compatible, speaker is ok it could be loud tho, but the phone it self its a great pda that you can save files in aslong as you have a good memory card and the 3g made it even better to have fun whit besides the price is not as bad, and touch screen does not work whit me being a professional dj alot of things happen lol.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Initial Impressions

 

Oct 1, 2009 by mushijima

I just received my T-Mobile (HTC) Dash 3G via UPS today. I'm writing today with my first impressions of the phone, I will write a more detailed review following 2-4 weeks of usage.

First Impressions:

Pros:
- Light Weight, this phone is much lighter than other Windows Smartphones I've used (Palm Treo 650, 700 series, HTC Touch Pros, HTC 6800 series, multiple blackberries) The phone is as light as a iPhone.

- Screen is bright and easy to read
- Sound quality is good
- Internet functions via T-mobile 3G are good
- Good tactile response from keys

Cons:
- Could use 1-2 more buttons on side of phone for accessing camera
- Placement of pound (#) and star (*) keys for phone are awkward (bad for voicemail)
- GPS functionality from Google Maps spotty, may just be initial set up time

Overall I think I'm going to like this phone. But we'll see how battery life, email use, speakerphone, PDA functions work.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


The phone is so so.

 

Feb 27, 2011 by 1badkitty82

The key pad is awesome and makes txt messaging easy. The web browser sucks, it will not stay on the page you were viewing when you exit out. It will allow you to call a number from the browser by clicking on the number.

The music player is a pain to use you have to select sd card every time. The volume on the music play is really low, and you have to use the adapter if you want to use a 3.5 jack to listen to the mp3 player.

The track ball gets dirty and makes it difficult to use. The contacts have to be stores to the phone in order to set a custom ring tone.

The screen is a good size. Being able to use the phone as a modem is awesome. For business purposes it is a great phone.

Pros
Screen size
key board
txting
modem
Ring volume

Cons
Browser sucks
mp3 player
volume
track ball
Does not have ring and vibrate

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This is NOT discontinued

 

Jul 23, 2010 by narn3049

This phone is still available on tmobiles website. I had the s520 I think it was the original dash. I had this awhile back saw this was released, and wanted to make a review and post updates to the forum if im getting it or not (im tied on tmobiles phones as a backup and might be getting an lx 09 sidekick.) The first dash was extremely durable. It went through breakups with me and gfs lol and many other throws and drops when i got mad lol, but the screen had to be fixed like 3 times. The phone ended up breaking because the dpad fell out and all qwerty keys didn't respond. Being that I have Verizon, I keep a Nokia 1661 for backup if i go canoeing or do something extreme. that phone is cool for only 19.99 idk why phonescoop says its disconntinued but look on tmobiles site it isnt. I used tmobile and it was a good signal experience as well, just when i was in at my work. so when i went home it didnt work as good with reception and the phone breaking. the phone is awesome tmobile and htc are great brands

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Really Like this Phone

 

Feb 2, 2010 by Neil_O

My rating for the Dash 3G is based on my specific use requirements:
- It is primarily used for business.
- I need a global phone.
- Other than connecting to the e-mail server at work, my internet/data requirements mostly involve using the phone as a modem when traveling.
- I don't care about the camera quality.
- I don't listen to music or watch videos on the Dash 3G.
- My web surfing restricted checking sports scores and weather forecasts - nothing elaborate.

PROS:
- Fantastic battery life without needing a heavy, extended life battery.
- Although the resolution specifications are only so-so, I find it plenty bright and perfectly adequate for my needs.
- Good call quality.
- Good keyboard, but probably not quite as good as the Samsung ACE that the Dash 3G is replacing.
- Good phone reception and performance in my house, where I have trouble with all carriers other than Verizon (and now T-Mobile).
- The total data/voice/texting plan from T-Mobile is by far the most reasonable on the market. I know that this is related to the carrier and not the phone, but it makes a real difference as my cell phone is my primary work phone.
- T-Mobile (and this phone) make using the phone as a modem simple as opposed to requiring registry hack like Verizon and Sprint.

CONS:
- The numbers on the keypad are on a diagonal which is taking some getting used to.
- The FN functions on the keys are in red, and they're a bit hard to read with the back-light.
- The soft key buttons are offset from the soft key menu items on the screen. It's easy to push the wrong key if you're looking at the screen.

As I said at the beginning, my review is based on my use patterns and is a bit of a blend of my opinion of this phone and the T-Mobile plan. The bottom line is, if you need a Windows Mobile, global phone, with excellent battery life, an affordable "Everything" plan that proactively supports phone as modem use, the 3G is hard to beat. The 3G speeds are great, and EDGE performance isn't too bad, either.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


dash

 

Aug 1, 2009 by kymcharles5

The only con i have about this phone is the volume to the ringer are not loud enough to me...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Worst phone I ever loved

 

Dec 18, 2009 by SmileyBri

I have been with T-Mobile for several years and I know their service is better than I am getting with this phone.

Dropped calls.

That is it, that is the problem. The phone is a 5 other than that. The Internet is usable on the 3G network, I can connect my laptop and still not miss a call, it syncs with my Exchange server has good reception when on a call, connects my favorite Bluetooth headsets, nice keyboard layout, volume level is good, great speaker phone.

Dropped calls. Dropped calls. Dropped calls.

I have two friends who also drop calls with this phone. None of us realized it was the phone until after the 2 week grace period. It is a shame.

Please understand - I LOVE THE PHONE.

I can't continue to use it though as it is constantly dropping calls.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1