Phone Scoop

printed October 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2051

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-T239

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  1  

Average Ratings

3.22
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Cute Phone-Please Read Whole Review.

 

Sep 21, 2010 by thatsme_01

this is a quality phone. pros: comfortable keyboard, effortless slide, and easy to figure out. has nice features such as a voice recorder. you can even record something and set it as a ringtone for an induvidual person. even has photo caller id!!
cons: as a middle schooler, this phone is obviously not "cool." full keypad would be nice. camera is functional but its difficult to take good pictures outside. it does not store many pictures either. unfortunatley, this phone does not include a video feature.
bottom line: if "cool" is not important to you, this is a nice, cheap,(but good quality) phone. You can easily navigate and figure out the phone without using the instruction manual.
I have had my phone for about a year and am very satisfied with it. it's easily personalizable. i have had no problems with it and reccomend it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good slider phone

 

Jul 24, 2010 by narn3049

It's REALLY great, ( and highly customizable with its ringtones. My friend had the t629 went to this and liked it but then went with a sidekick. So this phone is good and a good phone for users who don't need much on theyre phones. But my friend wasn't that user and had to have a keyboard lol

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


High Hopes, Poor Results

 

Jul 15, 2010 by ssmithfam

I bought this phone in December 2009 to replace an aging Nokia bar phone. The price was right at WalMart--$39.95 from the T-Mobile Pay as You Go. I just put my SIM card in and I was up and running.

The screen was colorful, and the menu fairly intuitive. The keys were large--an important point for my 55+ year old stubby fingers. Battery life was good overall-- 3 days or so between charges with moderate use.

Some of the phone's flaws were apparent fairly quickly, such as the flat keys that make it easier to "fat finger" two keys at once (a raised sections in the keys would allow more precise dialing) or the maddening lag time between pressing the key and having the character appear when texting. Picture quality from the camera is quite poor as well...

The worst problem is that, for the last 4 months, the phone drops calls and shows no network even while showing 2 or 3 bars. It also has poor reception indoors. In addition, information put into contacts disappears and can't be retrieved.

I would not buy another T239, and have become extremely wary of Samsung phones in general.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


nice phone

 

Apr 7, 2010 by davidbagga

not a bad phone, the only thing i would say that sucks is the camera on it, i don't really use a camera but i thought samsung would've come up with a better camera but overall its a good phone, the talking clarity is good and its good for people that want a simple phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Cute little basic phone....

 

Apr 7, 2010 by lcoger26

I bought this phone because I wanted a change from the Motorola w490 I had. I popped my SIM card in and I liked the phone right away. It does the basic things a cell phone is supposed to do. I bought my daughters the phone and they liked it too. A good phone for someone that just wants to used it to talk and text a little.....

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Had to get rid of it

 

Mar 4, 2010 by ladybug921

I too bought this phone to use for my T-Mobile service, popped in my own Sim Card, and used it like a regular Non-Prepaid cell phone. I wanted a basic phone - don't do the texting, etc., but I was expecting relatively good service. My experience:

Pros
Camera okay.
Good battery life - no need to charge everyday.
Easy to use features.

Cons
Extremely poor call quality.
Very slow response dialing input numbers.
Even when closed/locked and in purse, slight pressure against phone caused calls to be initiated.

I got rid of the phone because I was tired of the poor quality of the calls - I need reliability.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Cute Little Phone

 

Sep 14, 2009 by myPhone2008

This phone has nothing high tech in it where it compares to any smart phone, although it is a great little phone. Its sturdy and can last a while if you take care of it. It has an "ehh" camera on it, but for someone who doesnt need something fancy just needs to recieve and make phone calls, this is a PERFECT phone for them! And it is cheap as well!

=)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


nice little phone

 

Aug 1, 2009 by knuckleballer34

Although it doesn't offer anything bold or exciting, the more I use the t239, the more i'm growing to like it. It's a nice little basic phone that looks good, and performs rather well for the price.

Pros:
-Very good call quality, with loud earpiece and speakerphone
-Battery life is excellent.
-Attractive design and easy to use. The keypad and navigation array are both very well designed. Comes with dedicated messaging and internet keys, which is a nice touch.
-Light and comfortable to use
-Menu is simple, which nowadays is always a welcome addition
-Web browser was surprisingly quick. The specs list it as "GPRS" capable, but that's a snafu-it has EDGE data speed. Don't go expecting full html sites though.

Cons:
-Reception. This is not the phone for fringe areas. If you normally get an average signal or better in your area, it's not a problem. If you normally get 1-2 bars of service, it's not the phone for you.
-Ringtone quality is terrible. REALLY terrible.
-Camera could stand to be improved a bit, but it's not totally bad.
-Bluetooth function is limited to using a headset, and cannot be used to transfer data.

Overall, I am very pleased with the Samsung T239. It's a basic phone that has good call quality, good battery life, and a responsive basic web browser. It also looks much better than T-Mobile's other reasonably priced pre-paid models. Those looking for a signal puller or camera/multimedia device, search elsewhere. If your in a good reception area and don't want to purchase a replacement phone that looks like a toy, the T239 is worth a look. I'd recommend it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Just OK Phone...

 

Jun 11, 2009 by Qbanbull

Ok here it goes. I bought this phone to use for my Tmobile Service. Although it sells for prepaid, I was able to pop in my own Sim Card and it worked like a regular Non-Prepaid phone. Anyway, This phone is not all that great, very Basic.

Pros
Good Call Quality
Great Camera for being a VGA, I thought it was a Megapixel
Awesome Battery Life. Didnt need to charge everyday, And Im a talker.
Very nice and slim.
Slides very smoothly

Cons
Very slow reponse in almost eveything
Texting is horrible, takes forever. Im a fast typer, the phone can't keep up with me.

Thats all I can think of. I got rid of the phone in less than a week because I got really frustrated.

Overall... If you want a basic phone and dont want to spend alot of money, this phone will be ideal... but JUST BE PATIENT.. if not buy something else that will keep up with all you fast texters.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2