Phone Scoop

printed November 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=205

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo SCP-6400

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  11  

Average Ratings

4.13
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

6400

 

Sep 8, 2003 by ANTONIO GARCIA

This is by far one of the best phones SPRINT has put out. Of all the pcs phones I've owned this has the best battery talk time and stand by time as well as best reception and signal strength. Have I mentioned that I have not even purchased a case for it and still no scratches...it seems to be highly scratch resistant. There is a downside however, some of the ringers are not really loud but that is something I can easily get over since I mainly use the vibrate feature for calls.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


6400

 

Jul 25, 2003 by twester

This is by far the best phone I have owned it has good battery life the menu is a breeze to use, And I forgot the best part it was only 49.00 bucks!!!! The only minor flaw and I mean minor, is the screen is black and white.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Best Vision Phone

 

Jan 15, 2003 by Chad4359

I work at RadioShack so I see all the problems associated with Sprint PCS handsets. I can honestly say that the 6400 is worth every penny. My girlfriend currentlyhas one and we have never had a problem with it. Before that she had a LG 5350 which i personally think should be the best phone but because all the phones in the Pittsburgh market constantly reset while using vision so neeedless to say it drove her nuts. I personally have a Samsung N400 and while I love the phone it does occaisionally freeze up on me but since i have gotten it flashed not as much. I have seen Sanyo 4900s just go nuts anderase everything in the phone for no apperent reason so thats out of the running. he 5300 first of all costs 400 so thats a big kick in the teeth butif youreally want the camera its the way to go but ithas the same problem the 5350 has it will reset while using vision although not as much. A500s have the same problems as the N400 and it spells scheudler wrong when the alert goes off which drove a friend of mine so crazy that she fought with samsung til they gave her a new one. The only problem with the 64000 is it is kinda slow and no color screen but if you can live without it then its the phone for you

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Finally, GREAT reception on a PCS phone!

 

Aug 6, 2004 by sixinarow

This is my 3rd PCS phone. I had the Samsung SCH-3500, and then the N200. They were good phones for their time, but that time has passed. The reception was never great, and in recent months, it went to hell (PCS apparently made some network changes, and the old phones can't keep up.) I thought service/reception was just crappy on all PCS phones... I was wrong!

I decided to stay with Sprint, since I'm no longer obligated under contract or service agreement, and I can leave at any time. I decided that small size and superb reception were the absolute most-important features in a cell phone.

I'm a guy... that means my cell phone goes in my pocket. It needs to be small enough that I don't look like a tool just b/c I have my cell phone with me. Girls can have a phone that's 2" thick and it doesn't matter, because it goes in their purse. I don't have that option. Enter the Sanyo 6400.

This is the thinnest phone you'll find. The reception is absolutely AMAZING. I was almost ready to cough up the extra cash and move to another provider when my old phone kept dropping calls and cutting out. This phone almost never cuts out--and I live in a "black hole" between very tall brick buildings.

The phone doesn't have a camera. It doesn't have a color display. It DOES have polyphonic ringers, but they aren't nearly as loud as most other phones. If you can live with these shortfalls, the 6400 is probably the best phone you can imagine for the Sprint PCS network.

Pros:
-GREAT reception!
-Ultra-slim design is very "pocket friendly" unlike most clamshell or flip phones
-GREAT reception!
-Download ringtones, pics, games, or browse the net with ease
-GREAT reception!

Cons:
-Polyphonic ringers aren't loud enough (need to use vibrate)
-Keys are small--not great for games/browsing net for long periods
-No color display or camera
-You need to use the KEYGUARD when it's in your pocket
-Alarm is complicated/confusing

The cons are all MINOR details, IMO.

Enjoy!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Fantastic discontinued phone

 

Jun 30, 2004 by chad gipson

Best phone by far that I have ever used. By far the best battery life and range. I am glad it does not have a camera because many work places are not allowing the use of cell phones that have cameras.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I LOVE THIS PHONE

 

Apr 22, 2004 by lovin-this-phone

This is the best phone I have ever had. It's slim, has compatible features, with good reception. The only thing I wish I had on this phone was speakerphone, color, and picture. Other than that I can't complain. It's a shame that it has been continued and I hope they make another one like it with the speakerphone, color display, and picture.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sanyo Is almost on the ball with the 6400

 

Feb 18, 2004 by blueras77

The 6400 by far has been the best phone that I have ever used. The calls are crystal clear. I have yet to drop one single call. There are a couple of down falls that sanyo could improve on.

-I cannot hear the ringer!!! Yes even with the vibrate on.

-No color screen, but I can live without that.

I really hope that Sanyo can produce this phone in the future with all the minor bugs worked out. I love it's cool sleek design and the ringers are fantastic sounding (that's of course when I can hear them)

If you can get your hands on one of these babies I think you will be pleased.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


That's Skinny

 

Jun 13, 2003 by kideeboyee

very great phone. polyphonic ringers are nice and the size is great. it's so thin and lightweight. only if it had a color screen i would definitely get it. I'm positive it will get a color screen in the future because in japan, there's phones with the same style and they are equipped with color screens and camera. come on sanyo!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1