Phone Scoop

printed October 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2013&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Rival A455

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  16  

Average Ratings

2.22
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 4

Good Phone While It Worked

 

Nov 18, 2009 by MFX

The phone was good while it was working, but then all of a sudden it just started to act up. The screen turned white while in portrait mode, and then about 10 mins later it went white in landscape mode, and then all the screen stopped working all together, and the send and dial key both died.

My last two phones where LG phones and they received some heavy abuse and they functioned exceedingly well till they were upgraded. But with the Motorola phone. I haven't even had it for more then 3 months and I actually took pretty good care of it. I bought a case for it, screen protector, which is by far more than I did with my other two phones. And when I say I took care of it, I mean it was only dropped a couple of times, where as the LG phones where abused.

Overall I'm very disappointed with the quality of the phone. The phone itself (feature wise) is phone and I enjoyed it while it worked. I would recommend getting an LG phone as they seem to be built well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


So disappointed! : (

 

Oct 30, 2009 by Fredmyn

I am the type of person that researches phones for MONTHS before buying a new one. It took me 4 months from the time I was ready to upgrade until the time I got this phone because I wanted to make sure it would be a phone I liked.

I am so disappointed that after all my research I chose the wrong phone. The Rival looks good and is fun to use. I liked that it had a calendar, calculator, alarm, great rings and other cool features. I was pleased with the camera and liked using the touch screen. The call quality was pretty good too.

What I did not like was the terrible battery. I had the phone for 2 months when one day it died. I charged it again for 8 hours and it would not hold a full charge for more than a few hours. I went to use it one day and it was dead again. I also noticed that the touch screen would freeze up or lag. I took it to Best Buy where I bought it (to take advantage of their great protection plan) and the guy changed the battery. Three days later I took it back because it was doing the same thing. They gave me a brand new phone. Guess what? I am taking it back today and getting a completely different phone.

I am a young wife and mom and I don't want to be out with my small children with no access to a phone. I work for a small nonprofit and we call each other a lot. I need my phone!

I really did like this phone and its features and I am SO disappointed that I won't be able to make use of it until my next upgrade. Don't purchase this phone! Don't make the same mistake I did!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Rival Purple

 

Oct 30, 2009 by nearuga

Do not get this phone if you want a reliable phone. I got it as a replacement for an EnV run over by a riding lawn mower ( another story ) The phone has already been replaced once after 3 weeks - not dropped or any abuse. The new one is already malfunctioning after 2 weeks. The touch screen will not work at all sometimes, at others sends the wrong character. The keypad on the other phone went out completely as well as the touch screen - just waiting for that to happen on this one. I'm not sure if they will replace it again but hope so. Gave me a hard time last time. Wish I had gotten another EnV - never had a bit of trouble with it. Cute but that's all.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


DONT BUY THIS PHONE

 

Oct 27, 2009 by vzwsalesguy

Pros: Its a very cool compact phone that when it works (which is about when you take it out of the box and thats it) is actually an amazing phone.

Cons:I am a verizon sales person... I have NEVER had as many phones come back. It seems that the black and purple is a little more durable then the white one, but I have never had this many issues across the bord. on average out of 100 sales, 99 have a problem resulting in replacement.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Cool phone, but junk.

 

Oct 8, 2009 by K3vin

*****if you are considering the Rival read this whole review for your own sake*****

I bought this phone the very hour it came out, i must of been the first in town to get it. I took a gamble getting a completely new phone so i couldn't read any reviews or anything. i took a gamble, and i lost. This phone is no good and heres why.

I absolutly love the phone itself, it looks great, has ALL of the features i could ever want and when it actually works like its supposed to i love it...but man it has been bad to me.

After getting the first one in town i had it about a week and the screen started fading, then it got darker and darker until it just stopped working completely. Verison gave me another one free of charge. then i had my second rival about 2 1/2 months then it started acting up bad. Very often when i send a text i hit send (just once) and the person will reply, "why are you sending like 5 of the same message?" thats when i realized my phone keeps sending multiple texts. the problem got worse and worse and worse and now it does it everytime i send a text.

Then a new problem arose. Once in a while i would open my phone up and it would just turn off. then as the days went by this problem would happen more and more and more. then just recently it happens EVERYTIME i open my phone, it just dies. then the worse problem of all. now it is to the point where the phone doesn't even work at all unless it is on a charger.

I give the phone 2.5 stars because i am now worried whether Verison will cover me to get yet another rival or preferably another phone all together, this rival is problemsome.

It is a totally cool phone that is a dream when it works, I am defenitly not hard on my stuff and i dont abuse. it should last 2 years, not 2 months.

Find yourself a better, compareable phone.

Regaurds, Kevin.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


this phone is junk

 

Sep 18, 2009 by fer712

i had this phone replaced !!5!!! times it would freeze all the time and not even turn on at times it is junk i regret getting this junky phone i give it half a start because it at least let me talk for a wile.....

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great compact phone

 

Sep 6, 2009 by narn3049

My Dad has this phone. We all previously had blitzes and they treated us well, but when the Rival came out he knew he had to get it, the verizon guy that didn't know anything, said it (the blitz) had videos and he got it and it didnt........ But we are mainly text and pixers, so we didn't mind,

The ringtones are okay, my dad liked the bah-nanananananananna-nananana-nana i think it sounds like that i don't remember the name he loved it though, it a great phone and compact.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Lower end in the Qwerty range....

 

Aug 28, 2009 by melissaisme

The Qwerty itself is not too bad, although quite a few have had sliding issues out of the box. The touch screen is not too user friendly at all, and it's kinda hit and miss.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


perfect phone to all ages

 

Jul 29, 2009 by daniel95

this phone when i saw it at the verizon store i thought that it would be boring phone but guess what i tried it and it was so perfect any body could use it and AFFORT IT the partial touch screen was amazing every feature on this phone makes everything fun i MEAN everything teens and older GUYS can have fun with it.ITS FUUUUUUUN!

PROS:QWERTY KEY BOARD
SOUND
CALL QUALITY
PARTIAL TOUCH SCREEN
DIAL PAD
MUCH MORE
CONS:NONE

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Does what I need a phone to do

 

Jul 28, 2009 by DannyBoy35

Let me begin by saying I'm a 29 almost 30 yr old man, formerly in the wireless industry. So I'm older than teens, but not so old that I don't need some features to sell me on a phone. So far after 5 days this is one of the better purchases I've made in a while. My last phone was an Envy2 which I liked quite a bit, but met an untimely demise.

Pros:
Clear sound on earpiece
Good volume on speaker
Qwerty Keyboard
Easy to use
Partial touch screen
Crisp display
Good signal strength

Cons:
Camera resolution could be better
Slight lag when sliding open
Limited ringtones
Limited display options for colors
Motorola layout (Never been a fan)

All and all it does exactly what I need a phone to do with the convenience of a slide out keyboard. I definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a budget friendly phone with a keyboard if you dont plan on using data.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 4

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1