Phone Scoop

printed July 29, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2013&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Rival A455

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  16  

Average Ratings

2.22
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34

don't bother

 

Jul 2, 2010 by serapheva

I HATE this phone. I've had it about a year now and I'm getting another one in a week. It restarts itself randomly. Sometimes it won't let me text or anything because the touchscreen isn't working at the time and it won't even let me do anything using the other keys. Sometimes when I'm texting it'll vibrate like I hit something to send the text while I'm still typing and didn't. Whenever this happens it keeps doing it over and over for a few minutes. Sometimes when I'm charging it it'll start doing stuff on its own. It vibrates a little when you use the touchscreen and it'll be laying on something charging and it'll vibrate like someone's touching it and you watch it and it's just going through all of these menus like it's possessed. It doesn't always tell me when I get a new text...

It's cute and I loved it when I first got it but it's got so many things wrong with it that it's annoyed the heck out of me the past year..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Don't waste your time or Money

 

May 26, 2010 by sftabllmom38

This is the worst phone I have ever bought. It did not last a year before it fell apart, and that was after sending it back under warranty 2 times. I bought this phone for my daughter and have been nothing but disappointed in it. Only good thing I can say is it was cheap.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


makes a better hockey puck than phone

 

Apr 9, 2010 by mjfreestonefam

Have had 5 of them all have broken. I am sick of going into the Verizon Wireless store with this phone. 2 white screens, 1 black screen, 1 intermittent black and working screen, and one replacement phone the slider was stiff and the screen broke when sliding it out the 2nd time.

PROs. None

CONs. Everything

Wish I had never come across this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


ughh

 

Apr 5, 2010 by ethan246

every time i try to text my phone turns right off then goes back on and i checked the battrey and its not that..if anyone has advice how to fix this problem please tell me please!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Bad Phone

 

Jan 28, 2010 by flybydarknight

I work in the wireless industry and the Rival is not a good phone. A lot of blank screens, slider coming apart, shutting itself off. Wouldn't recommend to anyone. Looks cool, but the quality isn't there.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Quirky little phone with hardware issues

 

Jan 14, 2010 by GuyinLACA

Given great past experiences with Motorola, I selected this phone for a relative of mine and it was a total disappointment.

THE GOOD:
+Great reception
+Loud and clear earpiece
+Not likely to accidentally dial while in a pocket
+Easy to use, customizable interface
+Very natural to use as a camera

THE BAD:
-Flimsy slider, wiggles while open or closed
-Directional Pad and surrounding buttons are creaky and hard to press
-Quirky touchscreen where the center button is touch sensitive in landscape mode, but not in portrait. You find yourself expecting a touch screen function to work, only to realize you have to use the d-pad instead.
-Pictures come out blurry
-By default the phone is locked even when a call comes in, must unlock to answer
-The screen occasionally freezes when opening and closing, where it displays a white screen or jumbled mess of text.
-The keypad sometimes lights up when slid open, other times it remains dark
-Certain regions on the touch screen aren't as responsive and take firm or multiple presses
-Keyboard is cramped and not recommended for large fingers
-The red backlit keypad is weak, not as easy to see as white backlights on other models.
-Not a fan of the housing color choices, (the silver looks cheap closed, and the purple looks cheap open)

Overall, the Rival is a quirky little phone with a lot of potential. The hardware flaws keep me from recommending it though. It's a great idea to have a touch screen/keyboard combo but it could have been implemented more consistently. Maybe we got a lemon, but this phone doesn't feel like it will hold up for 6 months, let alone a full year till the next upgrade. Unless you're insistent on a "FREE" phone and will not be subjecting to heavy use or wear, look to other QWERTY devices. All of Verizon's recent QWERTY's have a few quirks so be sure to do your research before choosing a new phone. Good luck.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I HATE THIS PHONE

 

Dec 29, 2009 by natsha345

NEVER GET THIS PHONE. IT BREAKS AND THERE IS NOTHING TO DO ON IT. ALSO I AM A SALES PERSON AND NEVER GOT SO MANY PHONES SENT BACK TO ME. I EVEN JUST GOT THE PHONE. DON'T BUY IT!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wish it worked

 

Dec 8, 2009 by jhlord

I really liked the phone when I first got it. 2 months go by and the voice command won't work. Got a new one 3 days later same trouble no voice command. I will try one more and then on to something else. A nice try poorly executed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Headache

 

Dec 4, 2009 by landi

The phone is really cute but not reliable. I got my first one in Aug. I have replaced every month since. The first one kept shutting itself off. The second one the whole top part of the phone that slides started coming off. The third the whole top did come off. It is not a good phone for someone who actually uses their phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


EXCHANGED MULTIPLE TIMES

 

Nov 21, 2009 by SKYKINGpdx

When the phone works for the first day or maybe week it is ok, nut that is so short lived. This phone has had multiple glitches on every occasion we have owned it. We are so regretting not getting a different phone in the first 30 days, cause now we're stuck exchanging for the same one every month. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE FOR YOUR OWN SAKE!!!! The only positive thing I can say is that I have had other Motorola phone that worked great for years and endured light abuse well. This phone needs no dropping or anything in order to just freak out and do it's own thing.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 34

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2