Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=201&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 6340i

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  10  

Average Ratings

3.55
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 45

Classic rock-solid Nokia

 

Mar 12, 2007 by ShadowScorpion

I got this one for dirt-cheap, and bloody hell, it was worth every single penny I spent on it! Being a Pre-B3.0 prototype, it DOES have a couple of problems, but nothing major.

PROS:
- RF is unbelievable! Holds signal even in the most abysmal coverage zones (Rogers/Fido, Quebec City, Canada)
- Battery life is absolutely STUNNING, I have used it quite a bit and I squeezed out THREE WEEKS of battery life. I've been thinking about getting an extended battery...
- Sound quality is very good, I have no problems hearing or being heard.
- Large, easy to read screen
- AMPS/TDMA capability when outside of native GSM footprint (saved my butt a couple of times), though this will be ancient history after May 31st...

CONS:
- This might sound superficial, but what the hell... GREEN LEDs... why, Nokia, why? Blue, red or orange would have yielded a very nice effect with little to no cost difference...
- Since this is a prototype, there are some firmware bugs and random resets, but the resets have been getting more and more sporadic. Firmware version is Vp 6.02.0. Will update it shortly.

Overall, I am very pleased with the 6340i. Now if only I could find some decent faceplates...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


pretty good but who needs a phone 5ft long?

 

Jan 19, 2006 by motoman12345

ok so the good things are that the earpiece gets pretty loud but the phone is pretty dated think about it all it is is a gsm 6360 and the phone is big really big

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Still Love the 6340i

 

Oct 5, 2005 by cjg

Yes, I know it's not the latest or greatest. It's not a flip, color, or camera phone. But it still works well for making calls and text messaging. If you just want a phone and not an entertainment complex, this one is still a great.

PROS:

--Nokia's usual ease of use
--Excellent reception
--Practically indestructible!
--Good basic ringers (I don't care about
mp3 ringers, just want a ring-ring)
--Side volume keys
--Can easily see in direct sunlight,
also don't have to press button to
see display like you do on color phones.
Monochrome displays are underrated.
--Battery life is awesome partly because
of monochrome display.

CONS:

--No cool factor, but I don't really care
--The size is a con for some people, but it doesn't bother me.
--No speakerphone, but can use headset.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great "phone-phone"

 

Sep 15, 2005 by Panther4255

Wow...a great phone in aspects like reception and sound quality. The problem this phone is so overlooked is because of the lack of features, however. So what? It lacks a color screen and camera....yeah. But it also has some of the best reception I have ever experienced. I guess since it has GSM, AMPS, and TDMA all-in-one, great job for Nokia!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


VERY PLEASED

 

May 1, 2005 by rowlv

I purchased my first 6340i two years ago on e-bay.
The phone never gave me a problem until last week when it was stolen.
I was able to locate another used one at the flea market here in Las Vegas. It works just as well as my old one and I am again very pleased.
My original lived a very rough life and survived all attempts to destroy it.
It was dropped many times from some very high places. It was left outside in the rain and even had the outer window plastic melted off.
The battery is really something else, as it lasts so long that I keep forgetting to recharge.
The internal antenna must be a good one, as I do not notice a difference when it is connected to my rooftop external.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


i guess it's alright......

 

Feb 15, 2005 by ltc4788

i personally think the phone is plain boring. well--it's a little nice... this was my 1st phone. then i got the sony Ericsson t62u which is alright. back to the nokia. here are my pros and cons

pros:
-good volume
-nice games
-good reception even inside walmart. (my dad's phone can't even work in a simple store which is walmart or jewels or something. it shuts off like after 1 minute.)
-nice long-lasting battery

cons:
-dull color background
-no graphics
-no camera (not really a big deal)
-only monophonic ring tones
-no flip (i personally love flip phones)
-not a big enough phone book
-not a big enough number of voice commands

so i guess it's alright. but it's missing all the good stuff though. otherwise it's very useful for the people that don't care about expensive and "cool" phones. pretty cheap too. well bye.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Any Key Answer...

 

Dec 20, 2004 by sbpine

I have read all the reviews that people have posted on this phone I have, but not one has mentioned the thing that I hate about this phone. If you press "any" key while the phone is ringing, you have answered the call. This includes the volume bar on the side of the phone where you comfortably hold the phone. I have ask a number of techs at Cingular and even written Nokia. There is "no way" to turn this feature off. I have also had trouble with the phone shutting off and dropping calls. I have been waiting out my contract with Cingular for a free upgrade. I received a letter from them today to call them for upgrade. I can hardly wait until morning.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not as duable as i thought it would be

 

Dec 14, 2004 by VE1WAB

I have purchased 2 of these from Ebay and both have been dropped by the previous owner causing circuitry damage inside with little marking on the outside of the phone. Upon opening the phone to attempt repair i have found the construction to be very flimsy... Not what i would expect from Nokia in regards to quality. I also don't like the fact there is no way to force the phone to a certain network mode. Battery life is good on my working unit. I have no complaints on the voice or signal quality and the size/shape is comfortable. Appearance of the phone is also pleasing.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Lots of Features

 

Apr 9, 2004 by mapper

I really liked this phone and had no problems with using it. Good travel phone and battery life.

Pros:
Has almost everything on it
Nice phone book that has a place for addresses & notes.
Really nice organizer
Large power and signal display bars
Tri-band - GSM, TDMA, ANALOG
Infrared data transfering
Very, very, very long battery/talk life! The best!
Nice size keys

Cons:
Very hard to turn on and off (small flush button on top)
No color display
People have had trouble with older versions of this phone - firmware
Tri-band only supported by a few carriers
Tri-band roaming may work only outside your call area

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great phone

 

Dec 29, 2003 by carlbeaty33

this phone was great i have no cons with these phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 45

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1