Phone Scoop

printed October 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2008

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Intensity U450 / DoubleTake

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  8  

Average Ratings

3.61
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

GREAT Texting phone!

 

May 2, 2010 by BuyatSamsClub

All in all this is one of the best texting phones I've used, especially since you DO NOT need the new data feature with this phone.

Pros:
Battery life
Keyboard
Loud ringer

Cons:
None really except that I had to change the menu settings since I hated the default cartoony theme. (this is not really a con though since it is able to be changed)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Txt Messaging Phone

 

Feb 13, 2010 by HomerBohn

Got this phone for me and my wife a few weeks ago. We're both pleased, as it's a solid phone. For me, I hate texting on non-qwerty phones and was spoiled by my work Blackberry. This phone has been a pleasant surprise.

PROS:
- Small Form Factor, fits nicely in pocket
- Slider with Full QWERTY keyboard that's easy to use
- Decent pictures from camera
- No coverage problems so far using Verizon in the Washington/Baltimore area
- Price, used my New Every 2 and got one free for my wife

CONS:
- No video, but to me it wasn't an issue, and I need video, I can activate my old phone
- No 3G/EVDO, but again, not an issue for me as I use my work Blackberry to surf the web and check email
- Slow recall from miniSD card, as I save pix to card, it's very slow to populate when looking at pictures. I recommend saving to camera, then moving to card later

Overall a solid contender for those who just like to talk and text and take some pictures.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


GREAT phone!

 

Dec 23, 2009 by narn3049

I got this phone for my GMA for Christmas. This because she had a crappy krazor k1m phone and it was breaking. For 3 years of use the hinge came out (like the covering) and the phone had lines sometimes going through the screen. She suprisingly had been big on texting and really wore out the keyboard on the krazr, so I thought a messaging phone just might do.

Since I'm a phone junkie literally always on mine and know a lot about them so I helped her set it up and noticed some pros and cons along the way.

Pros:
Full qwerty keyboard as well as well as the actual 1-2-3-4-5-6 keyboard, which you can use for texting as well

Good camera Good ringtones too

Cons:
Although the camera is rather good the camera displays so you have to turn the phone to take the picture, you cant hold it and take a picture because the phone displays the picture sideways.

As for another con the keypad qwerty layout is okay, but next to space button bigger fingers me hits the smiley button. Bad placement is what I say

Good phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great messaging phone

 

Nov 30, 2009 by knuckleballer34

The Samsung Intensity is a great simple messaging phone for Verizon. It's not designed to replace your laptop (a la the Droid or iPhone) and it's not going to make you neglect your mp3 player. However, as a calling and messaging device, this phone is very pleasant to use.

Pros:
1. Above average reception.
2. Good call quality
3. Good battery life (roughly 6-7 hours of talk time and moderate messaging)
4. Straightforward, easy to use menu.
5. Well designed keyboard. Keys are fairly large, and are adequately spaced from each other. Includes a Numeric row of keys and a one touch messaging key.
6. No "menu lag" whatsoever.

Cons:
1. The talk and end keys are place vertically instead of horizontally, and are a bit awkward to get used to.
2. When typing, if you end a sentence with anything other than a period (.), the phone will not capitalize the first letter to start the next sentence.
3. The zero (0) key on the traditional numeric keypad is curiously smaller than the other 11 keys...which wouldn't be a problem if it also didn't serve as the phones one touch unlock key.

With a few minor irkings aside, the Samsung Intensity is an excellent phone for those who want a solid phone for calling and messaging. It gets a good signal, has good call quality, and features an easy to use full keyboard. There are many professional reviews which knock the Intensity for its lack of 3G services and a basic WAP browser, however, this phone was never designed to compete against higher end smartphones. If you don't need the higher end features, this phone is definitely worth a look. For it's stated purpose, the Intensity is an excellent performer.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I really like this phone!

 

Nov 11, 2009 by turlisa

Well lets start off with I have only had this phone for a few days. I actually bought it for my daughter with the only criteria being it have a QWERTY keyboard and be as close to free as possible with 2 yr contract.

When I got it, I wanted it for myself. It has a very easy learning curve, and texting is ridiculously easy. I currently have the Alias and was planning to upgrade to the Alias 2, but when my upgrade comes I am definately getting this one.

It doesnt have the greatest camera, only 1.3 megapixel, but it holds like a camera which is a plus.

If youre shopping around for a younger person, tween or above, this is a perfect first phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Do not buy for web viewing or videos

 

May 18, 2012 by sieramari

My major dislike is the keyboard lock pops off when you get either a text or picture message and the web is VERY limited! There are pages that you cannot access because there isn't enough internal memory. My other major disappointment is no video capture. I'd rather have video over the multiple shot for the photos.

Also now that I've had it for 2 years the voice quality on the other end really sucks! I can barely hear the other person on the line!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Completely Disappointed

 

Sep 22, 2010 by DURMAR

A few months ago my wife and I moved to Verizon and I chose this phone. I have used Samsung in the past and believed the phone to be a good next step in basic messaging which is what I needed, boy I did not know what I was getting my self into. Here is my review:

Cons:

The phone had issues figuring out which towers to use...(which was verified by VZW field tech supp)

The phone cycled on its own several times within 2 weeks.

It froze on voicemail and movement from screen to screen.

Slow transition thru all the menus

Camera is lackluster

After a couple of weeks use the slide began to come lose so when I spoke on the phone it would move in my hand. (annoying!)

Pros:

Shortcut keys were nicely arranged

Thats about it...We had our phones swapped out and we still had problems. I think Samsung needs to build a more robust phone for the user. Cheap plastics and low quality screens are not working. This was a real disappointment.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Don't get it!!

 

Aug 12, 2010 by nisey63

Both of my sons have one of these phones and they both hate them. The set up of the phone itself is fine, but it has a habit of shutting itself off all the time. I thought it was a matter of them hitting a button while the phone was in their pockets, but its physically impossible to do that way and it will shut down while it's lying on a table not being touched. One of my sons even exchanged the phone within the 30 days for another and this one does the same thing. We've tried updating the programming, talking to the techs in the store, everything and no one can find anything wrong. It's gotten to the point where my sons want to buy new phones out right, the phones are that unreliable.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great

 

Jul 18, 2010 by jordancurtiss

great phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone overall

 

Jun 25, 2010 by CaseyE

Overall this is a pretty good phone.

PROS:
-Full QWERTY Keyboard
-Good for gaming
-Great battery life
-Doesn't require data package
-Speakerphone
-Reasonable power-on time (22 sec)

CONS:
-You can't block the speakerphone with your hand or the caller on the other end will hear themselves talking. Just hold your hand below the speaker or put the phone on your desk and this isn't a problem (its a little strange at first but just takes some getting used to)
-There is a minor bug bugs that causes the menus to make a clicking noise while navigating the menus. It only once in a while after using speakerphone, but a restart of the phone fixes it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2