Phone Scoop

printed November 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1999

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 1661

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  2  

Average Ratings

2.56
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Sure it's cheap... but it doesn't work

 

Jun 5, 2012 by aliciahays

I was looking for a simple phone similar to the Nokia 1202 I use overseas (not available in US).

The biggest problem is NO network coverage inside the house. No bars, ever. This is due to the terrible, weak antenna which has been noted on other reviews.

Other faults are: difficult-to-read battery charge indicator--it is a gradation of blue with the final bar being white so it never looks like it's fully charged; a useless instruction manual... don't even bother reading, just go online to find out how to unlock the keypad or retrieve voicemail messages.

Normally I check reviews before I buy anything but I didn't in this case because I thought it would be just like my workhorse 1202. A mistake... but only a $20 one fortunately.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Farewell 1661

 

Jun 18, 2011 by phonegenius2009

I really loved this phone, and I used it tons. However i got rid of it as I got rid of tmobile service. If only I still had tmobile would i keep it but I don't need it anymore. Was a really good phone.

I can say that the flashlight is INCREDIBLE and bright at the same time, making for a well lit phone and such. Quality of calls is always good, so i assume that there wont be any complaining there.

I've simply gotten something different but i really loved that phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Nokia 1661 review

 

Nov 19, 2010 by jadesmith

Nokia 1661 is a basic phone so don’t get too ambitious on the feature set. You get alarm clock, calendar, stopwatch, countdown timer, currency and unit converter, budget spreadsheet, multimedia and text messaging and vibrate mode. There are 32 polyphonic ringtones to choose from and there is also a composer for making your own ringtones. Other features worth mentioning are flashlight and FM radio. The flashlight is not that powerful but it come handy in powercuts.
http://www.nokiaphonereview.net/nokia-1661-review.html

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nokia 1661 Rubbish

 

Aug 21, 2009 by rickp315

All I need is a basic, cheap phone. What I got was basic, cheap ($18.00), and junk. It stopped working 3 hours after I took it out of the package. Absolutely no signal in my house. Other phones (even other Nokia phones) get enough signal to operate in my home. Not this one. Nokia has really dropped the ball on this device. It is being returned to place of purchase.

PROS:
Nice screen.
Loud speaker/ringers.

CONS:
Garbage signal capture.

I have been a happy T-Mobile customer over 5 years now, and this is the first time a Nokia device did not work in my home. I am in NW PA.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


it depends.

 

Jul 31, 2009 by paulphone

The most important feature of a phone is to provide adequate sound level unfortunately the Nokia 1661 does not.

I like the flashlight and I like the radio, but I thought I was purchasing a phone.

It is a phone that can get you buy until you figure out what you need. At 20$ you cant go wrong in that regard.

Why would a major phone manufacturer like Nokia build a phone that had marginal sound volume? The cellular world may never know.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Its Just Ehhh OK

 

Jun 11, 2009 by Qbanbull

I mean what can you say. You get what you pay for. It's $19.99 Helloooo!

So here it is...

Pros:

Its a Nokia (enough Said)

Cons

Very small
Not Text Friendly
Needs some getting use to for those not use to a Nokia

Its JUST OK. Had this phone for less than a day and returned it. I thought it was good to have for a few weeks while I waited to upgrade my plan, but I couldnt deal with the phone. Too small and the keypads were to small for my fingers.

To each his own. Price is cheap and Nokia are always the Best.
I recommend for those who need a back up phone or simply dont want to waste money, but wouldnt recommend to have as a primary phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


it'll do

 

May 28, 2009 by knuckleballer34

It's a $20 Nokia, so you know what your getting. That being said, it's an excellent basic phone.

Pros:
1.Reception and call quality are above average. Earpiece volume is adequate as long as your not talking on the phone while driving 70+ mph.
2. Simple and easy to use. Does what a phone should do well.
3. I like the FM radio. It's not a mp3 player, but it's a good addition.
4. Keypad is small, but has seperators which makes it easier to text.

Cons:
1. It's ugly and feels flimsy. I'd rather not drop it. Would have been nice if Nokia would have give the phone the red color from the 1680.
2. I'm not into the whole function key thing on the top of the phone.

Bottom line: It's a $20 phone that has good reception and call quality. It'll hold you over until you can get something better, and it's good as a backup.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nokia 1661

 

May 28, 2009 by Mark_S

Other than the same old basic entry-level bar styles that Nokia is famous for, this phone is very-good except for:

Pros: Thin, clean-crisp display, excellent battey-life, user-friendly menus.

Cons: Earpiece and speakerphone not loud enough. Slightly shoddy construction.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1