Phone Scoop

printed October 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1974&r=36581

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Magnet A257 / A177

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  4  

Average Ratings

3.42
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Picturesque Polarity.

 

Aug 15, 2009 by superawesomefones

From across the room I could feel your attraction
It was like you and I were drawn to each other.
I felt like I had been guided to you by a messenger.
With your quick texting and compact camera,
I felt like our attraction was magnetic.
You were so lightweight I could really carry you all day.
We shared time until my fingers hurt,
And you were exhausted.
I worked your buttons a little harder then you were used to,
But it just seemed natural to me.
You needed some extra storage, but had no slot.
That’s when I knew we were of the same polarity.
When I pulled you close, you just pushed away.
It’s nothing personal my dear,
But I couldn’t keep you near,
for over a year.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This Phone Might Hate Me...

 

May 21, 2011 by shakypatellae

...but it sure is good to me.

I've had it for almost two years and I have put it through hell! I'm talking serious water damage (left it in a flowerbed, forgot about it, and then blindly watered the entire thing), serial falls and drops, and I even ran it over one time after it fell off of my car and onto the highway (a bright orange phone is a great thing when you are looking for the pieces of it on the side of a busy highway, haha) and it still works great!

It is an extremely sturdy phone for the most part. The back cover use to fly off every time I dropped it and detach very easily, but for some reason after I ran over the main part of the phone, the cover stays on better (I wouldn't try that as a fix though, haha).

The battery life is amazing. I have noticed some battery degradation since I have got it, but I can still use the phone non-stop for about three days without a charge.

There are some cons to the phone, but the cons are to be expected for the price it is. It doesn't have a huge memory. I can only store up to 200 text messages, which seems ridiculous for a QWERTY phone (I got it so I would be able to text!). And the camera isn't that great and it only holds about 200 photos, but it is good enough to send pictures to email, Facebook, or Twitter!

The worst problems I've had aren't actually with the phone at all.

After about seven months, every time I plugged in the charger it would cut in and out of charging or not charge all together. My first thoughts were that it was the phone itself, but lo and behold, Samsung's universal phone charger turned out to be faulty and once I replaced it, the problem was solved!

Lately I have been having a problem with terrible reception, but that is AT&T's fault (I live an hour south of Tuscaloosa, AL, which was recently ravaged by a tornado and I still have better reception there than in my town, buh!)

This phone is great for people who tend to abuse their phones!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Just WOW...

 

Mar 7, 2011 by Britbratxxnicole

This phone is a great little phone for teens. Very easy to use, nice qwerty keyboard, and an OK camera. But mine somehow got water damage. The rep from AT&T said it could have been from the humidity?? (I live in Houston) The phone is way too sensitive! And trust me, its almost useless when it has water damage.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Derp

 

Aug 24, 2010 by Urza42

That about sums up what I think of thias phone, its dumb.
Pros, incredable speaker phone and qwerty keyboard for 80 bucks

Cons, bluetooth dont work VGA Camera is awful, the physical menu buttons being everywhere like next to the space bar andun changeablew home key drive me INSANE!!!

this was a replacement for my Sony Erickson att free phone, the hinge is broke the back dont stay on and i even have to hold the screen to make the screen work AND I SWITCHED RIGHT BACK TO MY BROKEN PHONE!
at least that sti

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A wise choice

 

Mar 15, 2010 by DogDaddy

This is my first experience with a Samsung product. When I went to purchase a phone with a qwerty keyboard to replace my 4 year old prepaid phone, the a177's appearance caught my eye. It looks sophisticated, sleek, hi-tech. When I got it home and started using its features I was impressed with its quality workmanship. It truly is a well-made, durable, sturdy phone yet it is not heavy or bulky. I had no trouble pairing it with my Blue tooth headset. The many features are easy to figure out how to use, and the sound quality is excellent.
The keyboard is small and takes some getting used to. You have to use the very tips of your fingers.
I would certainly recommend this phone to anyone who wants a full keyboard. I am very happy with it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone....

 

Mar 7, 2010 by Jahcinda

This phone is pretty good. Only costed me $80 and i got $30 bonus airtime.

Pros- Cheep, Good for texting, Easy to use, Has IM features

Cons- Personally my phone randomly turns off sometimes when sending text messages, The buttons for texting are kind of tiny.

Overall great phone for the price paid.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Phone is pretty much useless

 

Feb 25, 2010 by godfella691981

I got this phone through AT&T, it claims to have bluetooth, but the only thing you can connect to is a lousy jawbone (earpiece), may as well forget sharing pictures or music. Also the battery and camera arent the greatest. The keys on the keyboard are almost identical to the Boost Mobile Moto i465 Clutch phone, they are VERY small and hard to use without hitting two at a time. This thing has no external memory. THE INTERNAL MEMORY IS 16MB.
If you havent bought this phone already, save yourself some wasted time and dont get it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone made me a SAMSUNG believer.

 

Jan 20, 2010 by Khogue

Pros:
1. Make your own RINGTONES. You can record an audio of whatever you want and make it your ringtone for FREE.

2. Great QWERTY keypad for people with small fingers...especially ladies.

3. Set the ALARM and then turn off the phone, and it will turn on for the alarm.

4. User friendly, especially for a person who NEVER liked Samsung.

Cons:
1. For the people who want a memory card, the GoPhone option that I opted for does not have a memory card slot.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


uggg service

 

Dec 8, 2009 by phonelover64

love the phone and every thing ya know but the service has no 3g and has no service every where!!!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


sweet phone

 

Sep 7, 2009 by narn3049

my best buddy has this phone, he has eben through 2 iphones, and finally found a phone he wants to stay with.

i don't know much of anything about it other then it is great for texting, and i loved it when i played with it when i saw him.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1