Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=19&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG VX-1 / TM-520

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  

Average Ratings

3.48
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

Tough little phone, lacks features but makes up in performance.

 

Sep 22, 2002 by Darek Zmigrodzki

This is the fist phone that could equal the reception of my StarTac 7868. Battery life is mediocre at best, and the phone has no voice-dial or voice recorder or anything like the Motorola V60, but in its simplicity it excedes any flip phone I've used in quality. It's very well built. Much more solid design than the V.60, flip doesn't break or cause screen/keypad to malfunction like in the V60, and the antenna is impossible to break while down. Silver finish is tough and doesn't chip or scratch like the previous LG phones for verizon. Very stylish looking, excellent reception, huge red LED on external side is great for catching a call while driving even with the music loud because it flashes so bright that it grabs your attention. Best reception of any flip for verizon so far, even tops the Startac, and way better than the V.60. Sound clarity is great, on both sides. Great features like calendar and discrete ringers for each caller make this phone easy to use. Blazing-fast web access and compatible with Express Network with optional USB connection kit ($80). And, of course, it is an LG, so you get LG's trademark cell phone game, Commanche, which is by far the most entertaining game available for any cell phone (My high score is 1780, let's see if you can beat it!). And if you like this description, but are looking for a few more features, wait around for the VX10. Same phone but with BREW capability. Could use the voice activated dialing, but in short, it's everything you need, nothing you don't. This is the perfect phone for someone who wants a reliable phone with useful features. If you don't need anything else, this is the time to buy since the phone is being replaced. You can pick one up at your local radioshack store for the new discounted price of 129.99 if you can get there before they sell out.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


tomato or tomato

 

Aug 19, 2002 by E K

This phone must be dummy tested, since it has the easiest menu functions ever. I thought that the 510 was easy this is so much easier my seven year old has this phone. Plain text it is dummy proof. There are so many people who want a phone that they can send and receive only, well now that is not an option however this is as close as you can get. I also impressed with the silver color and it does not chip like the silver 510.

This phone is great for GRANDMA

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


THIS PHONE HAS THE VOICE ACTIVATED FEATURES!!

 

Jun 23, 2002 by Connor Gilchrist

Hi guys, well i contacted the warehouse in Canada that sells this phone and found out that if you live in Canada you DO get the voice activated features! but unfortunately in the US you do not because the service providers in the US turned down the offer while Canadian service providers paid the extra to get it for their customers. Also the ring tones are only soft when the phone is open. when you close the flip they return to loud.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great little phone, but missing something...

 

Apr 26, 2002 by jouhn handcok

I upgraded to this phone from it's older brother the tm-510. I used all the features of the 510, especially the voice activation, but at times wished that I had a game to play while waiting in line at the bank. Well they answered my wish but as with anything there is always some give and TAKE....they took away my voice activation and recording! I really wish they hadn't but they did. Anyway, it's a great little phone and is well worth the $199 verizon is asking for.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pretty Decent

 

Aug 12, 2003 by Dakota01

I bought this phone to replace my Motorola 120T. Being a long time Moto fan, I was hesitant about buying another brand, but I really wanted a flip, but I did not like the V60. This phone is pretty sturdy on flip, I do not feel like I am going to break it, the voice dial is great! Predictive text works well, I type messages faster than any of my friends. Ring volume is OK, but u can only download 5 ring tones, and after that u have to start erasing them. That I do not like. Back light is nice and bright, I never have a problem with reception, and the manner mode is really cool as well. I have not had a problem with this phone yet, and it has been thru alot since I bought it in December. I would recommend this phone to anyone who wants a flip phone without all the hassle of the new technology.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best phone I've ever owned.

 

Sep 27, 2002 by Mike Deines

I'm not sure what everyone else is talking about. My LG520 has voice memos AND voice dialing. It works great!

The menu system is very informative and easy to use.

I'm a service tech that repairs cell phones and this phone has some of the best built internal workings of any phone I've worked on. Beats all of the Motorola flips hands down!

Mike

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone .. quirky address book

 

Jul 11, 2002 by Tom McMurry

I upgraded from the LG TM-510 to the VX1. Overall, I like the VX1 better. It is lighter, has a better screen, and has a slightly better address book. However, the address book still does not come anywhere close to being a useable as the Nokia. The other main negative is no sync software. Hopefully, one day LG will get this right and realize people invest a lot of time in adding addresses into their phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SUPER COOL LOOKING PHONE

 

Jul 27, 2002 by DAVID SHAFFY

THIS PHONE HAS A PERFECT SIZE ,WEIGHT,SUPER GOOD LOOKING PHONE, BUT IT SEEMS THAT THE PLASTIC ON THE FLIP PART OF THE PHONE IS TO SOFT. THE PHONE FLIP PART IS SHOWING TO MANY SCRATCHES, BREAKS. MUCH TO EASY. THE PLASTIC THAT WAS USED ON THE LG-510 BLACK WAS EXCELLENT. IT SEEMS THAT NOW THE PHONE HAS MORE TECHNOLOGY THAN VERIZON CAN OFFER, THE USER. THE DATA KIT FROM WHAT I'M BEING TOLD CAN'T DOWN LOAD THE PHONE NUMBERS LIKE MOST OTHER PHONE KITS CAN. FOR A $100.00 PLUS A RATE PLAN FROM VERIZON FOR VOICE, IT DOESN'T PAY TO USE THE NETWORK EXPRESS.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Dis phone be da bomb dawg!

 

Oct 30, 2002 by Terry Garland

Yea dis be the phatest phone made! It gots all da ill features, but no talk dialin which aint so grand. You can't get it on da prepay, so you best have you some credit yo. I had dat v60i flip phone, and it was aight, but dis phone is much betta. Phat menu system, ringas is too low so sometimes i miss calls from ma parole offica. Git you dis phone though, its mad phat dawg!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GL TM520 vs samsung SPH 540

 

Oct 12, 2003 by Intimidator Earnhardt

Well i was wondering if i could get some opinions on these 2 phones.I've heard some pros and cons for both phones.I am in New.Brunswick,Canada and going to sign up with telus.Any advise would be a help in my decision.

thanks,
Intimidator

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2