Phone Scoop

printed October 31, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1890&s=h&p=5

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry Curve 8900

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.48
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1234 5 6

HUGE improvement

 

May 30, 2009 by Nachocheese03

I can tell you first hand, this thing rocks. The screen is as close to high definition as a cell phone can get and the keyboard feels a lot more solid than did the old curve (I had an 8300 and an 8310).
There is only one catch to this new one: decreased signal! It does not get the same RF gain either of my two old units did, or my fiancés' pearl flip. But now for the funny part: even with the 15 to 25 dbl loss to the old units, its actually clearer sounding on the phone side and faster all around on data. Although the new BB browser is improved, don't kid yourself. Just go get opera mini. Its faster, free, downloads in seconds, renders pages correctly, and can even render more things than the BB browser can (like drop down menus). And yes opera mini supports wifi. I use it all the time.

Recap: pro's:
1) Processor may not be clocked as twice as fast, but in reality it is.
2) 4 times the onboard memory for applications as the previous gen curve
3) Supports up to 64GB of SD card memory
4) Much more solid feels and look
5) Camera freakin' rocks. Nuff said
6) Internet is faster all around
7) Screen is crazy good
8) OS is WAY more stable than previous versions, and the new storm
9) New atomic trackball is more accurate and doesn't get hung up as often
10) Functionality kicks the crap out of the iphone

Cons:
1) Decreased RF gain vs older curves
2) GPS a little finicky also (may have something to do with con 1)
3) Ummmmm.... When I finally do find something to put here ill let yall know.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Blackberry 8900

 

May 28, 2009 by pistolpete

In over 15 years of owning cell phones, this phone is the best!!! Graphics, sound quality, size, looks, the complete package! Curious, however, why charger is not interchangeable with other blackberry phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Love the Curve 8900!!!

 

May 21, 2009 by Pam

I am in the wireless industry, so I have tried various different phones. And this phone by far is the best phone I have ever had. I would recommend it over any other blackberry out there. The features and interface are amazing. Pretty much just love it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Best Ever

 

Mar 18, 2009 by OlderGeek

I have had many Blackberry devices, and this is without question the best I have ever owned. I have been using this phone for over a month now. Here are the four key reasons:

1. UMA is awesome. I am able to make calls when there is no cell signal - and as I have a Verizon phone as a backup I mean NO cell signal. When I am in a conference inside a hotel, or a remote section of the airport, or inside a government building, I can make a call. At home, and in my office, when cell reception is okay but not great, I use my wifi for my calls and the call is land line quality. And, this means you can use the T-Mobile hot spots for FREE!!!

2. WiFi is awesome. Did I say T-Mobile hot spots for free? Yup. As I am waiting for a phane (and I do that a lot) I can keep up with my emails and surf. Wifi blows 3G away.

3. Edge is good enough. The speeds are just the same as 3G. I have timed this phone against an iPhone.

4. Voice quality is exceptional. Better than Motorola.

Other key points:

1. The battery life is just fine. I am a heavy user. I can usually go two days - always one. Those that say otherwise are simply wrong - must have an old OS.

2. Screen resolution is perfect.

3. Camera picture is sharp. The autofocus does cause a delay - get use to it. As they say in photography school, if you see the picture you want through the lens, you already missed it.

Run to get this one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


EVERYTHING YOU EXPECT FROM BB

 

Mar 18, 2009 by vanziggity

i know this isn't very helpful but i go through a lot of phones...I started with the bb curve 8320 and then got the sidekick 2008 and then i tried the behold and then the new shadow...until finally it brought me back to bb....i always complained about bb just sometimes having too much options...but once i switched phones it was always not enough options....

so with that said: pro is just what bb is suppose to be everything and than some

cons: the only thing ive noticed is that the keypad if slightly rubbed up and down it moves....not cool...bbs are expensive and should not have a loose part....

anyways wonderful phone!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice Update

 

Mar 9, 2009 by Wvpotomac

Compared to the old curve this is quite a nice update.This is my first smartphone with Tmobile and the internet is quit fast with edge. Love the new menu with this model,the screeen is nice and bright,and the media player is much better on this curve.The speakerphone could be a little louder but other than that great job RIM.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


T-Mobile BB 8900

 

Feb 21, 2009 by mikethaler

Gave it 4.5 because, like older Curve (8320), you can't delete multiple messages. Thot they would have corrected that by now. Phone is thinner.
ATTENTION re: USB MICRO charger - You do NOT have to carry 2 chargers if your other phones or headsets use the "older" mini USB. Do what i did and go to Ebay. For $4, incl shipping, you can get a mini->micro adapter. I bought 4 of them. It was just announced by GSMA that most major mfrs. have agreed to accept mini USB as the std. and everyone will be using that within 2 years.
I digress. The major change I noticed was the camera. It is so good you could leave your point and shoot at home.
We have only had this for 2 weeks - so will post an update in a month or so.

...mike

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


8900 (Curve) VS 9000 (Bold)

 

Feb 6, 2009 by leroy954

I must say, I have tried almost every phone and every operating system there is and i always seem to go back to blackberry. Android, Iphone, windows mobile all have problems if its battery life, or freezing they all annoyed me. Blackberry on the other hand while a bit more simple always works, never gives me a problem and the battery lasts longer than any other pda phone. I currently have the new curve and the bold. Between the 2 i like the curve more. even though it doesnt have 3g it has everything else the bold has and a better camera wich i use alot. besides the camera i live the new lock button they added to the top wich makes unlocking the keyboard much easier than having to use the old method of "*"+"call" to unlock. Phone feels very comftable in my palm, keyboard is flatter than past blackberrys wich makes typing a bit easier and they also seperated the number from the other keys with diffrent colors wich makes it look real nice lit up and easier to dial. Another feature i love is the voice dialing wich u can dial any number from your phone book or just speak numbers and it dials for you. Most other phones always get the numbers or the name wrong this one actually gets it 9 out of 10 times correctly. OUT OF FIVE STARS I GIVE THIS PHONE A PERFECT RATING. Even though its not 3g the wifi makes up for it plus i honestly didnt see a diffrence in speeds between 3g and EDGE .

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Watered down Bold

 

Apr 12, 2009 by becnel10

This is an awesome device. i couldn't give it a five because it lacks 3g. other than that, The size is awesome. The wifi and the built-in gps are great features. The screen clarity, docs-to-go and the 4.6 os make it a major upgrade over the 8300 series. Not to mention it has a 512 processor for an Edge class non touchscreen phone. The internet browser is very nice but on EDGE, its a lil slow. Overall this is a great device for people who don't wanna spend $400 the bold or don't have a 3g network (haha Tmobile). Look for this phone with AT&T in June. Good Buy

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice!

 

Feb 4, 2009 by TMobRulz

Got advanced release of one of these beauties from a certain online store. Have used it for 2 days and love what I have seen!

PROS: Screen, lock on top, auto-focus 3 mp camera, ability to use wi-fi, new icons/OS,

CONS: No 3G, but I personally don't care, keys are small, but even with my bigger fingers they are o.k., no a big fan of custom key on right side, but it takes a bit of a push to open the (preset) camera, micro SD slot

No phone is perfect, thus no rating of 5...so far, great phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1234 5 6

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1