Phone Scoop

printed October 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1864&r=36231

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry Storm 9530

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.34
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1...192021 22 2324

Sometimes a good idea should stay an idea

 

Feb 26, 2009 by becnel10

This phone was a very cool idea. Verizon wanted an answer to the iphone. Blackberry shouldn't have been the ones to do it. Verizon wanted to keep the price point down so the storm only has a 524mhz processor and no wifi. The problem with that is a touch screen needs a much faster processor for lanscaping and quick responce. Wifi is a nice luxury for high data users. I don't think that this phone is a real business type device because of the slow response, which defeats the purpose of a blackberry. Business users with verizon, I recommend a curve, pearl, or 8830. They are excellent devices. But if, you're looking for a multimedia phone, 3.2 mp camera, a 3g browser and awesome screen resolution makes the storm a good multimedia device.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Storm

 

Feb 24, 2009 by Versed

Outside of a nice screen, I find this a very poor touch screen, I held of doing a review for several months to see if there would be a significant improvement.

Nice: Screen, normal Blackberry Functions.

Not so Nice, horrible touchscreen, nasty press click. Come on guys. Build seems so so.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great phone

 

Aug 2, 2010 by ck41baller

Great phone my only problem is that the touch screen dosen't work too well in humidity......

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Oh how I wish it didn't break

 

Jan 26, 2010 by narn3049

5.0 to everything. My buddy Brendan owned this and it is a sweet device, I've used it, and likd it to, however he dropped it and the glass popped off the front. HE GOT THE PROPel pro, and no longer needed this, so sold it, but i wish it never died, bc i used it and liked the features.

I do wis they'd make the durability better, because the "YOUNGER CROWDS" are heading to this phone and then they have a bigger chance of smashing the glass- the same with the iphone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not What Expected

 

Nov 18, 2009 by ranger88

This phone is not what I was expecting after seeing all the TV commercials. It was over glorified. However, it is not terrible.
There are a few redeeming qualities.

I am running the newest OS, 5.0.0.328

Pros:
-really enjoy the clicking touch screen
-big screen
-great speaker quality
-good music player/media apps
-new threaded texting

Cons:
-very slow
-screen sometimes non-responsive
-poor quality microphone
-very little app space
-battery cover comes off too easily/often

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A lil disappointed

 

Oct 11, 2009 by Smzo

I was excited when I first got the Storm, I left another carrier in order to get it. I didn't get it the first time it came out because of the 1st gen glitches. After a while my phone started to freeze. One day it froze for over 3 hrs. The customer service offered a refurbished phone.

The phone freezes too much

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


POS

 

Oct 11, 2009 by spankmeplease

how can a touch screen based phone be released without an auto screen lock while on phone calls? i bought the day it came out. i have used it to the extreme. i have been through every official and leaked firmware update. it is a complete waste of money. slow, slow, slow. the OS on this phone just simply does not flow well. it was very poorly thought out. it requires unnecessary steps to get to or access functions. mute button has never worked for any firmware version. why is it there?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


blackberry storm

 

Oct 3, 2009 by daved61

The worst I ever owned. Never work even after the being replace with so called up dated phone. Pro. Can't think of one, it was just a waste of money. I never trust a blackberry product again.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not a Blackberry thing

 

Sep 12, 2009 by Sprint-Mayne

i think the storm could of been alot better if they would of just stuck with the regular touch screen method the clicks dont make it any better i was with t-mobile for the longest and i am blackberry fan and when the storm came out i went with Verizon for a week to test the storm the system was slow the phone shape was cool but for a business phone i dint like the screen clicks and it was just one bi dumb button if they come out with a thiner version and better way to make a touch blackberry ill test that one out but if the phone works for you thats great but for a touch blackberry it sucks sorry

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Worst Phone I Have Ever Had

 

Aug 22, 2009 by tbone2727

This is the worst phone that I have ever had or even touched. I use other peoples phones a lot and they are 100% better. The touch screen is super stupid and will mess up everything that you click. Battery life is also an extreme con. IT lasts for about 1.5 hours and drains when inside a locker or building. The browser has a mindless interface and doesn't work at all.
Over All...This phone is extremely slow and laggy. I would not recommend this phone. The only pros are the blackberry standards such as the pin messaging.
Your better off buying another blackberry like the curve or tour.
Not worth the money, time, or effort.
I do not recommend this product at all and if it didn't have the standard blackberry apps, it would get a out of five. Don't buy it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1...192021 22 2324

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2