We're giving away 10 HTC One (M8) harman/kardon edition phones for Sprint! Enter now!
Phone Scoop

printed October 2, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1773&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Omnia i910

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.87
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 45678

OMNIA

 

Dec 11, 2008 by kdawwg

Excellent windows mobile phone, best I have seen so far with 6.1 software.

Hands down my favorite phone for windows

Pros:

wifi
fm radio
5.0 mp camera
photo album
media player
visual voicemail
navigation
opera mobile
app store
shouzu
bateery life is good

cons: none so far

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Dec 27, 2008 by CGSuddeath

Terrific Phone.I had been using a palm for 3 years Uprgaded from 600 to 755.Very dissatified.The Omnia's use of Windows Mobile is superior.It took one day to get use to it's features and I am thoroughly please.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Switched from Samsung Saga

 

Dec 24, 2008 by Oden2k

I switched from the Samsung Saga which I was really getting into but then found that the Omnia had just been released shortly after I received the saga. i looked at the features of the omnia (bigger screen, 8gb storage, etc) and reviews, not to mention the immense community following the omnia (good luck trying to find saga user forums), and i couldn't pass up the opportunity to trade in my new saga for the omnia.

so far....love it! had to tweak it a bit to get better battery life and add a newer user interface (SPB SHELL) and its running great. rock solid (not one crash yet knock on wood!). so many things to tinker with and software available! im glad the storm was sold out and i picked this bad boy instead!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Smart phone

 

Dec 26, 2008 by json405

The best smart phone I've owned. I've jumped carriers 4 times in the past year and a half looking for a smartphone that fits my needs.

Here's a little timeline

Verizon- Moto Q and 6700- Q sucked and the 6700 was too big.

Att- Iphone- Only for a month- ATT service was horrible.

Sprint- HTC touch. At first it did not satisfy my needs but with a Winmo phone there were so many programs that I found that made the phone function the way I wanted it. However, Sprint's network for some reason became very unreliable. So, I went back to Verizon when I saw the Omnia.

I've had this Omnia for about a month and this is the best smartphone I've had. Just like the touch, I had to dl a few programs to get this phone working the way I want it to. (search for programs on google, trust me there's tons of handy stuff for this phone) For most of the cons posted about this phone about it's functionality, there is a program that will probably fix that.

As a phone, the Omnia is pretty darn good and as a smart phone device (IMO) this device is in the top tier.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I wish these people would shut up about this phone

 

Dec 18, 2008 by willypguy

This phone has been great for me. The touch screen beats my Voyager 10 fold, and it is better than the LG Dare, which I also have owned.

Pros
5.0 mega pixel camera with flash
Windows Mobile 6.1 (better than that Apple garbage)
Opera browser
The Samsung Today theme is great, and I would prefer that over the widgets.
Optical Mouse
EVDO Rev A
WiFi
Good email client if you are using IMAP4 or POP3 ONLY.

Cons
Fingerprint Magnet, though not as bad as the Dare. (minor)
May take a few steps to perform some tasks.
Screen resolution not as clear as Blackberry Storm.
Some Omnia batteries have good battery life, others are garbage.
MicroSD card slot near battery. (minor)

Overall this is one of the best Windows Mobile phones on the market, and it is not as clunky as the Touch Pro or XV6800.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Omnia Is For Me

 

Dec 15, 2008 by runnman

This is my first Samsung and first SmartPhone. I have had a PDA (Dell) in the past but not in combo with a cell phone. Coming from LG Cell Phones (VX9800 and Voyager) to a Samsung is an interesting change and one I enjoyed. I found the Omnia i910 to be an outstanding SmartPhone. I am extremely happy with it.

Pros:
Perfect size and lightweight
Excellent Screen with sharp display
Loaded with features
Great WiFi
Great Bluetooth
Outstanding camera w/flash
No problems with the OS
Opera Browser with Tabbed Browsing
A great Phone Lock Option which provides super protection
Outstanding Battery life of 48 hours and more with heavy use
Great FM Radio with FM Station recorder
Touch screen has perfect response
Has Optical Mouse but I like the Stylus
I find the Keyboard easy to use for E-Mail and Texting
Outstanding Call Quality, both outgoing and receiving (clear and loud with some headroom when needed) Carrier is Verizon and I am located on the Mississippi Gulf Coast.

Cons:
If GPS wanted (which I don't; I use my Nuvi), then you must use VZW Navigator

Overall, this is an excellent phone and has several features not available on others.
A great choice for me!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


THE BEST OF THE BEST!!!!

 

Jan 8, 2009 by JRapha

This smart phone can be summed up in one word - AWSOME!!!!

I have owned Palm, Blackberry and Windows Mobile smart-phones over the past 5+ years (PPC 6600, 6700, 6800, 6900, HTC Touch, HTC Touch Diamond just to name a few) and this phone set the new GOLD STANDARD for mobile computing. Not only does it offer a suite of feature too long to list (go to

http://omnia.samsungmobile.com/

-or-

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsmobile/en-us/devices/details.mspx?id=91

for the full details), but this phone also offers dual memory cards (8GB internal card + microSD card up to 16GB = over 24GB of total storage capacity). The phone even acts as a stand-alone external USB hard-drive with a capacity of up to 24GB (depending on your installed memory card capacity)!!! This alone is enough to sell any tech fan, along with the slick interface, optical mouse, 3.2" LCD, built-in FM Radio, business card reader capability, automatic smile detection camera, and the list goes on and on and on.
-NO BUYER's REMORSE HERE!!!-

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Most reliable and feature rich Smartphone out there!

 

Dec 10, 2008 by eric815

I have been using Windows Mobile devices and Blackberries for years. I have to say this is THE BEST all in one Windows Mobile phone available in the US.

I really wanted to love the Storm. After 10 days of problems I gave up on it when I set my eyes on the Omnia and never looked back. Prior to the Storm, I tried out the HTC Touch Pro (on the Sprint Network) for a few weeks. Regardless of the weak Sprint service in some areas, the phone itself had major shortcomings (horrible battery life, gets hot, touch screen is over sensitive and scrolling items easily gets carried away, screen was small in size, wifi is weak).

Prior to this phone I had the Samsung SCH-i760 for 13 months. I loved it, loved it, loved it! Always wished it was sleeker and with EVDO Rev A,everything with in a whim and not feel cluttered or lost. Thats were the Omnia finally comes in.

Omnia blows away the Storm in performance, typing, browser and features. The only thing the storm has is a sharper screen. But the Omnia screen is still quite good and much bigger than standard Winmobile screens. Battery life is phenominal on the Omnia. I get at least 36 hours of real world use on it. It also has Wifi that allows me to turn my phone into a mobile hotspot for my laptop with the added app: WMWifiRouter.com and you dont have to pay Verizon extra $$ for tethering. The widgets are awesome and make my life much easier on this phone to handle everything quick and easy. The camera is awesome and has the best feature set of any camera phone. Plus it shoots pics immediately (not 5 seconds later like the Storm). Some complained about rotation lag, but that can be adjusted in the settings to rotate quicker. The Omnia is also about 4 ounces (VERY LIGHT) and that makes it 25% lighter than the heavy Storm. Its comfortable in the hand too.

Everything about the Omnia is amazing. Just customize it your needs and you are set. I am extremely happy with my choice.

--Eric

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


lots of pros but overweighing cons

 

Dec 22, 2008 by crab

Well I tried the storm after using a curve for the past year. Very unhappy with the storm so I returned it and got the omnia. I loved the stylus method and touchscreen. The fact that I am an old palm user made the handwriting recognition very nice. The camera is awesome. The ability to take a picture of a business card and have it automatically enter the info in the contact list is super. Having an area to attach a lanyard at the corner of the phone is very nice and makes it easy to pull the phone out of your pocket. The phone feels very comfortable and is easy to use.

Now the negatives:
The battery life was poor. I found that by 4 or 5 o'clock the phone was dead. Also the volume at both the earpiece and on the speakerphone was very low. The ringer volume was also very low even at full on settings. The on screen keyboard is to small to operate with your fingers; You must always use the stylus to work the keystrokes. If these factors were addressed this would be the nicest phone I have ever
used. I still think this phone is way ahead of the BB storm. Too bad that that the few negatives of the phone are the critical ones because I really enjoyed the phone. I have switched back to the curve for now.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Dec 29, 2008 by CAW

I won't go in to details on features as we know them from the review.. First I will just clarify some misinformation in prior reviews. The phone DOES have tabbed browsing
and it DOES have ringer profiles. I think that is one of the problems with Windows Mobile. It does have a bit of a learning curve. So people sometimes don't understand how to use some features, sol they think it doesn't have them at all! But once you get it, it turns out to be a very powerful ui. Any shortcomings are usualy easily fixed with quick google search. Example, people complain about clicking X does not close the app, there are several free apps you can install that will change that behavior. One feature no one is really mentioning is Voice Command. This phone includes the FULL Microsoft Voice Command (press and hold the MAIN MENU key on side of phone). People complain about it taking to long to scroll through contacts etc., just activate Voice command and say "show me" followed by the contact name, pop it will instantly display it! You can also load any app, such as "start calculator", or even control apps such as media player. It really works flawlessly.

Pros:
Microsoft Voice
Fastest Proccesor of any Winmo Device = Snappy
Lots of great apps included

Cons:
No internal stylus holder

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 45678

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1