Phone Scoop

printed July 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1750&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Propel A767

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  19  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.77
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 12 3 

Love it

 

Nov 12, 2008 by quitena

Purchased the LG Vu earlier this summer, but couldn't get used to typing on a touch screen - fat fingers I guess. I got the Propel a few days ago and love it!

Pros:
- Solid feel, slider works well
- Menu is very responsive, no lag when opening or closing
- Many call or menu options available with slider closed - don't HAVE to open the phone to make a call
- Sound quality clear, speaker phone loud and clear
- Texting is a breeze
- Camera surprisingly good
- Easy to customize shortcuts

Cons:
- no flash on camera
- top row of qwerty keys very close to slider, takes some practice to hit the top keys consistently
- Battery life could be better; with average voice calls and texting (very little internet), battery barely lasts one day
- Could simplify addressing texts (takes 3-4 menu options to chose addressee and send a text)

To me, the flaws are insignificant. Overall I think it's a great phone for voice users and heavy texters. I'm very happy with it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent except for battery

 

Nov 7, 2008 by CBartnek

Out of the 3 texting cell phones AT&T recently came out with (Matrix, Slate and Propel), I'd rate this phone the 2nd best out of the 3. The slide mechanism for the phone is nice and smooth. The phone itself is very sleek and not too bulky.

Ringtones/graphics are excellent. Samsung, being my favorite manufacturer, has always had easier menu navigation. The same applies for the Propel.

The only bad thing I've experienced with the phone is battery life. Even adjusting the brightness of the LCD screen doesn't help the fact that even with just moderate use, the Propel's battery life runs out in just a day. It reminds me of the Nokia 6555, very disappointing.

Aside from that though, the 3G is very fast and the keypad is manageable. The keys themselves are a little small so if you have big fingers, you'll need some time to adjust.

Overall though, the Samsung Propel is definitely recommended.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great move AT&T!

 

Nov 2, 2008 by ATTmember

I just purchased this phone a few days ago and boy am I PLEASED!!! Excellent phone, good battery life, excellent reception, excellent volume & speaker-phone! I haven't had time to play with every little bell & whistle but so far it's been very pleasing. The phone itself "feels" like a good quality phone! Great display, great reception in my area (central FL) I honestly have NO CONS so far. I will say this PLEASE just give yourself time to get adjusted to the QWERTY keyboard, once you do you'll love it. The buttons are a little small but you will adjust. I can't say enough good things about this phone. One quick heads up on something I came across and would like to help anyone else that this happens to. If you happen to add a phone number to the "Reject List" there is NOTHING in the user manual on how to remove it. you have to go to Menu-Address Book-Reject List. then remove it there. If anyone has questions or would like to share tips & tricks feel free to click on my user name and email me.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great for heavy texting younger crowd!

 

Jul 18, 2009 by boomer1938

I don't use text message very often. My kids text a lot and they love the phone but it's mine. :)

PRO
Reception and sound is good and it's easy to use. This is my very first Samsung and I'm comfortable with it in a few hour.

CON
I wish it has ring tone for Grown Up too, so I have to use AT&T ring tone.
The battery life seems short.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Most amazing phone ever.

 

Jul 8, 2009 by cmb0345

I've had this phone for a little over two weeks. And during those two weeks I've fallen in love with this phone. I love the keyboard, the front and the color. The call is amazing, and the sound is amazing in macomb county. the only think I could say bad about this phone is the recorded audio sound and the camera. The recorded audio sounds a little fuzy. And the camera isn't bad but its not great.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Only downside seems to be the battery

 

May 31, 2009 by jpj331

I bought this phone today and I've had about 10 hours to fool around with it.

Pros:
-I love the green color
-The shortcut button on the side
-The drunk strap hole(soooo useful)
-MicroSD card slot is on the outside, not under the battery cover
-Perfect size when closed or opened
-Messaging shortcut button is great
-GPS
-You can set any ringtone as a message tone(couldn't do that with my LG Vu)
- Menu" is useful
-I absolutely LOVE the message preview on the home screen(Soooooo useful)

Cons:
-Battery doesn't seem to last too long.
-Keyboard is a bit small but doesn't take long to get used to.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone!

 

Apr 17, 2009 by maenadde

I'm very pleased with the Propel; I read the reviews here (on this,& a few other models), & on 4 other sites before choosing it, & in it's class, it had the highest rating - thanks for your input!

I was discouraged by the retailer due to the smaller keyboard, & I have to admit, it took a little getting used to. It's fine after a couple days of practice.

I do have a problem with entering my voicemail number... it won't let me (?!) Took it back to the retailer, & they couldn't figure it out either. (any suggestions?)

Pros...

-> call clarity is great
-> love the qwerty-takes a little getting used-to, but it's no smaller than a Blackberry
-> aesthetically pleasing - screen is a good size, and it looks good (I have the red & white one), it's light & comfortable - slippery, maybe - I'm not finding it a problem. (can't find an adequate case though!)
-> good features - easy to navigate the menu; messages (except my voicemail issue!), apps, music, etc. email is a breeze & browser navigation seems easy enough, calendar is great, and I find the converters & extra stuff handy
-> I don't consider the camera a huge selling point - good in a pinch, but I have a camera for good pictures; any of the pics I took looked just fine, tho
-> I tried to test the battery life, and I haven't found an issue. With 10 or 15 texts, a few pics, & 8-10 calls, I needed to recharge after 3 days... way better than my old Motorola!
-> PC interface is easy & thorough

Cons...

I honestly haven't found any yet!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Im not to sure about the propel

 

Mar 15, 2009 by dburton

AT First Glance I thought the Samsung Propel was a great phone, but in my opinion it has one fatal flaw.. YOU ARE UNABLE TO TEXT MESSAGE WHILE ON THE PHONE!!!! If a txt message comes in while you are on the phone with somebody you have to hang up with them in order to read the message.. One of the Best features on the phone is the full Qwerty KeyBoard which is useless during a call. It that feature along could be change I believe everyone would love this phone..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 12 3 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2