Phone Scoop

printed December 19, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1743

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola VE240

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  11  

Average Ratings

3
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

VE240

 

Jan 28, 2009 by jjohns

The phone is a fairly decent little phone on the MetroPCS network. It does have some good and some bad, but if you're looking for something cheap, or something without a camera, it's got good value for the price.

Pros:
1. Lots of good features for a low price.
2. Comfortable in my hand.
3. Texturing on the back will keep phone from slipping when hands are wet.

Cons:
1. Bad volume on the MP3 player
2. Bad location for the USB/Charging Port

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


decent basic phone, MP3 player needs work

 

Dec 18, 2008 by APCO25guy

Overall it's a decent basic phone. The screen has low resolution, and keys are kind of small.

Pros:
-Excellent RF and battery life, long talk time for a CDMA phone (close to 5hrs).
-Bluetooth with Stereo support
-Well built housing
-Loud clear speakerphone and ringer
-Phonebook easy to use

Cons:
-No camera
-Very small screen text
-MP3 player volume very low on headset, not very good sound quality. No tone adjustment other than 3 preset sound curves.
-Does not support WMA files
-Charger port is on the side top instead of bottom center, makes it very hard to hold when using a cigarette lighter cable connected.

Overall it's got alot going for it, but if you are buying it for an MP3 player, pass.
The low headphone volume and lack of sound controls make it a poor choice. On the other hand, as far as a basic phone with some handy features (Bluetooth and Voice command) it's not bad for $99. It excels as a phone but not much more.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Its like it was a free toy in a cereal box.

 

Apr 2, 2010 by Jacsebalon

This is by FAR the worst phone I have ever owned. I got it the other day, and Im already going to send it back. I got it through Metro PCS. The call quality is terrible. When I called to activate the phone, the tech on the other end kept asking me to repeat myself because the phone kept cutting out.

The battery life is terrible. I plugged it in last night until it said it was completely charged. I then unplugged it and set it on my nightstand and went to sleep. I woke up 8 hours later and the phone was vibrating and saying "Battery critical. Shutting down" or something like that. The battery died after 8 hours on STANDBY! And I just took it out of the box not 3 days ago.

The mp3 player is terrible. The sound quality is trash, and it has 3 volume levels: Loud, ear-splitting, and mute.

Pros:
Very cheap. (I got it for about 10$ after rebate)
Small, fits in your hand

Cons:
Tiny buttons, making texting nearly impossible.
Low resolution and tiny screen.
Ridiculously low call quality.
Battery life is nearly nonexistent
Operating system is primitive at best.

Overall, if you're on a budget and looking for a cheap phone, its worth the few extra dollars to get the next best one. Don't waste your time with this hunk of junk.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone is the worst I have seen

 

Dec 25, 2009 by someguyinsantaclara

Pros: Cheap phone. Doesn't cost much. (The only pro I could think of.)

You get what you pay for. I hate this phone and wish I could afford something a little nicer.

Cons:
Small screen with horrible resolution.
Very difficult to text.
Menus and not well thought out.
Non intuitive design. Obvious very little thought was given to the software design.
Locks up continuously.
Small Buttons difficult to text or dial properly.
Bad location for USB/Charging port.
Poor call quality. Unless you're in a dead silent room they other party can't understand you. Difficult to hear caller.
MP3 player doesn't work well. Difficult to search songs.
No Camera
Headset jack doesn't work with standard headsets despite the fact the plug is the same.
Slow WAP Internet
Browser locks up frequently and causes phone to reboot.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Horrible phone

 

Oct 8, 2009 by chanel507

I've had my share of phones from metro, this is the worst! I bought this phone about a month ago, Two weeks in I find out my call waiting isn't working! I go to connect to the other call and it hangs up the other person and myself! So I get it replaced.. And it's doing it again! That's just horrible! Don't buy this phone!

Pros: sleek design
microSD slot.

Cons:
short battery life.
tiny keys for texting
No camera
freezing
messaging hard to get to
can't make music into ring tones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Phone is only good for phone calls

 

Sep 3, 2009 by MONINJA

This is probably the worst phone I've had since I've been with MetroPCS (about 5 years). The texting is a little difficult to get to. I had to buy a separate chip to hold my pictures. The phone DOES NOT have a camera. The side button broke and I've been without ring tone sound and vibration for a while now. I wouldn't recommend it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


best MetroPCS phone

 

May 26, 2009 by turnertheburner33

if you dont like this phone, there is something seriously wrong with you. and its only $100. best value of all MetroPCS phones.

PROS:

up to 4GB optional memory.

great music player.

nice design.

very durable.

CONS:

small screen.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


ringtones

 

Dec 19, 2008 by brnelsons

heres a way ive found to get ringtones.
it takes pacience

read everything here first

i have this phone and heres how i get tones:
1.go to mobile17.com
2.register yourself
3.set your phone as "RAZR2v9m" same formatting for ringtones as the VE240
4.go to create new(or something like that) and select the email2phone
5.select song for pc... upload
6.go through the steps.
7. wait...
8. wait...
it will send it to you later about 2 hours to be sent. so just do alot of tones. at a time

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone

 

Dec 18, 2008 by DeeD

This is a nice basic phone. The only thing I can't do is download ringtones from free website such as funformobile which ALL other motorola on metropcs CAN, SO IF ANYONE WITH THIS PHONE CAN TELL ME IF CAN BE DONE PLS EMAIL ME AT shaysanass@yahoo.com. With that said the phone is nice. Only thing is the battery life is not great and the download thing other than that the phone is an A.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


moto ve240

 

Dec 18, 2008 by taino1968

I agree with ap on the screen and the usb port. But I think the problem is the headphones because i had use the ones that comes for the samsung messenger and i get way better sound. Also moto may had consider hearing damage while building this phone. Is this the case they went a little overboard!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1