Phone Scoop

printed October 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=166&r=3547

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SPH-A540

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  

Average Ratings

3.42
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

Caller ID Info goes missing... no service solution

 

Feb 24, 2004 by dp33

Good screen, nice style, great phonebook...but service????

A month after buying the phone I noticed that when imputing text I could not get the a punctuation mark other than a period without first inserting a period, then imputing whatever punctuation mark I really needed, then going back and deleting the first unwanted period.

A more frustrating problem came up in the second month of ownership, one that is still an unsolved problem, that of Caller ID info disappearing and changing to "number unavailable". What happens is a call comes in (let's say someone already in my phone-book) the name & number show up on my external screen but then after 1 or 2 rings will sometimes disappear and show up on my internal screen as "number unavailable". At other times the caller ID info disappears as the phone clamshell is opened. This in an intermittent problem but very frustrating as when I miss a call I often have no record of who it was making the call.

After sending the phone in for repair 2 different times they (Asahi Industrial Electronics) have only upgraded the software (something I had already told had been done) and then said they don't know why I am having any problems and with that have washed their hands of it. Even though the phone is still having the self same errors they now don't even reply to my calls.

So with nothing done to repair my phone I am left stranded as the store I bought it from claims they cannot replace it without permission from the service center (Asahi Industrial Electronics). Of course the service center claim the problem must be in the processor but as they cannot understand why they are unable to solve it.

Now, after sending my phone in for repair 3 different times, waiting more than 2 months for a solution I am left with a faulty phone. How should I rate the phone? I might rate it good (I do like it) if I could get one that works properly.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Exceptional phone

 

May 4, 2003 by Jordan Kirkby

I have had the 540 for about 6 months now to date. This phone i have had no problems with reception and clarity. I have recommended this phone to all of my friends and associates. Some have bought the phone and have had absolutely no problems.

The only thing i did not like about this model is the ringtones. Not one i liked, but new ringtones were available to download. Only up to 5 though. The background graphics are great and also can hold up to 5 extra's to download.

Overall it is a great phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Not quite sure yet...?

 

Dec 4, 2002 by David Gotfried

Liked the phone when demo'd, but took it up to the cabin and could not get service (only one bar). My Startac usually lit up 2-3 bars and had service, and my wifes OLD Motorola car phone (about 10 years old) gets 4-5!

So....can't find an antenna or adapter for it....may trade for the motorola TM 520 and try it.

I do assume the small plug at the back by the battery lock is the antenna input?

Also, the ring tones are terrible. If I do decide to keep it I WILL be changing them somehow.

Undecided.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


NEW PHONE FROM TELUS

 

Oct 22, 2002 by Lev Vaintroub

Heya....

Looks like I'm the first one to post any review on this phone. It's not even in the stores yet so u have to order it through web.

Anyways the phone looks good. It's similar to LG-TM520 phone. I had LG before and it got stolen (great phone BTW).

Anyways back to Samsung. The connection is great, the only things that I found hard to adjust to are:

1. The blue screen is way to bright: takes some time to get used to.

2. The main navigation buttons could've been made a little bigger and had more space between each other. Although i haven't had any problems with it, I think some people might find it uncomfortable

Anyways, that is all for now.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


they sure said it!

 

Nov 26, 2002 by cameron roe

Very nice phone, the guys that wrote here sure said it all. I havent owned the phone but from seeing everything, i do say, an amazing phone. The calculator messes up, but hey, who uses it anyways :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Just another review

 

Jan 4, 2004 by ATTWSGoon

Picked this up for my old Samsung under Telus. I perferred the old handset, as I could constantly feel it's presence on me. This one is light enough that I forget that it is there.

I tried using the calculator and doing various divisions and all worked. So maybe I lucked out there, but....

My Wireless Web is has a "Security error: key not recognized" and so I can't d/l or access anything.

And it seems to suffer from the constant Samsung Caller ID problem, especially on the exterior display.

Anyways not a bad phone, but I miss my old one. I might see if I can't get the smartphone and see if Telus can activate it for me.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Sep 17, 2003 by Raj K

I personally feel this is a great phone and have had it for a couple of months now and haven't had any problems.
I know a friend who has the LG TM520 and personally am not too fond of it has it has a soft buttoned keypad which i personally don't like.
SPH A-540
Pros
- great reception
- great looking
- love the blue display (which can be adjusted if you feel it is too bright)
- small and compact

Cons
- ringtones simply suck...wish they'd just have a normal ringtone like some of those motorola phones.

i would recommend this phone to anyone as it isn't highly priced these days if purchased through a contract from telus.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This is a good phone

 

Aug 20, 2003 by charlotte

This phone will do everything but pull up your zipper.I would recommend it to everyone.I sed it as a vibrator and it worked wonders you never know until you try .

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Buy

 

Jul 29, 2003 by Chris Schroeder

I own this phone on the Telus network and to date have had no problems.
PRO'S:
-Look's great
-Great reception
-Easy navigation
-Voice activated dialing
-Cool blue screen
-Schedualer
-T9 text input

CON'S:
-Insanley stupid ringtones
-Short battery life

For me the ringtones werent such a big deal as i just downloaded a free normal ring tone.

The short battery could be a major problem for some people but for me i just charge it at night.

I never used the calculator so I assume there is this problem but i never use the calculator.

Overall a great phone to buy no compalints of great value from me.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2