Phone Scoop

printed December 17, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1659&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia E71 / E71x

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.22
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 56

Back to good old reliable Nokia

 

Nov 12, 2008 by ashman

I am back to Nokia, coming from the iPhone. I have owned the E61 and E61i in the past, so I am very familiar with these phones. This little, and it is little compared to it's brethren, is a power house. Fantastic battery life, full 3G (I have the NAM version), support for every kind of messaging. I tried the Mail for Exchange and its come a long way from the past, however I had bought RoadSync in the past as well and it offers more functionality then MFE so I went with RoadSync. So far I have had this phone shy of a week and I love it. Great for email, gets better signal then my iPhone every did, built in proper GPS, not just A-GPS which relies on a data connection or will not work. It does have a small screen compared to previous models or the iPhone, but I will sacrifice that for a phone that works as a phone and then some.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nokia E-71 - Road Warrior's Best Friend

 

Nov 3, 2008 by Austiniter

The Nokia E-71 is any road warriors best friend. This phone offers the best reception of any phone I've tried. The clarity of the calls are excellent. Easy to set up email and other features makes the Nokia E-71 a great replacement phone for any Blackberry user. The keyboard is a bit narrow but can be easily adapted once the user.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Best Phone Ive Ever Owned

 

Oct 30, 2008 by filthyj24

ok to start this off ive gone through alot of phones; a lot of good phones, sony ericsson w810, treo 680 and 750, samsung blackjack, tilt, ect ect. and by far this is the best handset ive ever owned. what makes it so great you ask? a combination of great hardware and software, incredible battery life, and great connectivity. i was initially a little nervous making the jump from windows mobile to symbian but it was one of the smartest mobile decisions ive ever made. symbian is incredibly customizable compared to windows and thats a big one for me. and since its open source theres tons of free apps floating around out there. basically if youve got 500 smackers to drop on a new toy this should be it...hands down. you wont be disappointed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wow

 

Oct 2, 2008 by bsf

I constantly try to have the latest techno gadget and I am in search of the perfect cell phone and still have not found it but this one is as good as it gets right now.

Pros;
Size. This phone is thin and fits nicely in your pants pocket.
Reception - hey its a Nokia.
Battery - I use constant push email, about 4000 minutes per month and poke around on the internet and the phone easily lasts the entire day.
Exchange - syncs perfectly with exchange OTA and calendar is much improved over the Windows Mobile interface. Able to sync calendar, contacts and email but not notes.
US 3G - carefull to get the North American version.
Set up Wizzard configures itself easily with AT&T for internet and multi media. Voice and text; just put your SIM in and good to go.
WLAN internet is very quick on WLAN and pretty good on 3G.
Great media player for music.
Easy access on side to micro sd card.

Cons;
Camera - eventhough it is 3 Mega pixel and auto focus you will not confuse its pictures with a real camera.
Attachments - Able to read and edit most MS formats however, screen is still small and find yourself scrolling back and forth across the screen. The one area the iPhone still has it beat.

This one might actually last more than a month.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Device

 

Sep 17, 2008 by Brany

I have to say that this is one of the best phones I have used.
PROS: Fantastic battery life, 3g data, GPS, good camera, solid construction, excellent reception, small/thin, sport tracker app, WIFI, and it works with $15 Media net plan (instead of $30 PDA plan)
CONS: small gripe is that it doesn't support Blackberry connect and WCDMA 2100 mhz but honestly this is just nitpicking on my part.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Better and Easier Than Expected

 

Sep 6, 2008 by rdwd

After talking with northern California AT&T staff who would not find out if AT&T will carry the E71, and giving me scarey stories about limited functionality if the phone was not carried by them etc. (and deny them a commission) I expected the phone to be difficult to set up and that I would have to have them work on it.

I bought the phone, put my old SIM card in, charged it up and after a few hours of set up, software downloads from mysymbian, and very helpful WAP and WEB settings downloads from Nokia, the phone works great! Google Maps and Opera Mini browser work spectaculary on this phone. The Symbian OS takes some time to figure out, and setting up email took some trial and error. But all work well now. And I did not have to talk to the AT&T staff.

I also considered the BB Bold, MotoQ, Blackjack II. I wanted a world phone. The others were either cheap materials, too big, or in the case of the Bold, weird. That leather on the back just seems creepy and it is too big and heavy.

The E71 reception has been good. It does switch between 3G and GPRS networks but it does not drop connections. The iPhone and Bold also do this, so it must be that the 3G technology or coverage is not reliable yet in the U.S.

PROS: Very fast, great display, GPS, freeware downloads, WiFi, keyboard, small and very "pocketable", 3G

CONS: Lack of WCDMA 2100. Why leave this out and make several models? One phone for the world would be much better and make this a perfect phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SMALL LAPTOP REPLACEMENT

 

Sep 1, 2008 by peyman99sf

in the Nokia E71 you have in this small PC...
Battery life very good
Keypad is very easy to use. no lag time. can goto youtube.com and see the actual desktop version. wifi, bluetooth, 3G, and a nice screen.
I HAVE NO COMPLAINS WITH E71! The best phone ever made (period)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


amazing

 

Aug 30, 2008 by starlabuh

this phone is exactly true to everything it's advertised as. it just feels amazing to hold and it's so easy to mold it's features to the way you want it. this is my third s60 phone - been using them for the past 4 years (nokia 6620, nokie 6682) - so i can't really comment on the ease of transition here because it was smooth for me.

pros:

reception
easily customizable
beautiful
thin
qwerty is amazing - so compact and can really feel the buttons when you press them

cons:
no bbc, however it's not listed as having this so i can't count it as a true con, just something i wish nokia still supported on their new e-series.

all in all, if you're looking to be wowed, buy it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The true iPhone killer: Nokia E71

 

Aug 22, 2008 by mattwas6

Wow. I go from my iPhone to this Nokia and am almost 100% satisfied. For those that are considering an iPhone or Blackberry read this review!

Pros:
-Extremely fast interface and processor.
-3.2 MP camera
-Stereo bluetooth
-Extremely thin compared to any other smartphone
-Expensive looking phone.
-Automatically unlocked
-FM Radio
-Better OS than Blackberry
-Battery last for three days of constant use with the iPhone barely one day.
-Flash media player for all internet video.
-Up to 8GB MicroSD
-PICTURE MESSAGING (iPhone doesnt have!)
-Great videos up to 1 hour just on phone memory at highest quality.
- TOO MANY FEATURES TO LIST ITS UNBELIEVABLE!

Cons:
-No conversation type messaging.
-GPS could be improved. One part on the iPhone thats incredible.
-Thats all!

For anyone considering an iPhone check this out! Ebay is the best place to buy only $400 bucks!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


amazing device

 

Aug 17, 2008 by truetravis

great things
full keyboard
love the os on it
small leek and the best looking phone made by nokia by far features are excellent plus it works great over seas
i cant think of anything bad about this phone so im giving a 5.0

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 56

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1