Phone Scoop

printed October 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1656&r=31016

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Apple  ›

Apple iPhone 3G

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.86
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12345 6 789...19

With 2.2 Out this phone is next to perfect

 

Nov 24, 2008 by NickFilA

While the phone is not perfect yet they have come along way.

Pros
3G problem fixed
Street view Maps
Auto correction was finally enabled to turn off/on

Cons
No MMS yet
No video Camera software yet
No custom ringtones past 30 seconds

All the cons are easy to deal with and really dont take away from the amazement of this phone. Simple email will take care of that. Amazing phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I LOVE THIS PHONE

 

Oct 9, 2008 by Southpaw

I am not happy with AT&T especially having come over from verizon, however, there network is better then I expected. There is an apple care protection plan available which does cover the phone if anything happens. To anyone out there that has said if you drop it or press on the screen in a weird way I have a question for you, why would you do that? Be careful and Pay attention to how you use your phone.

PROS:
Brilliant Screen
Touch is wonderful, much better than the dare.
I love having it all in one phone.
3G speed is wonderful.
If you get one check out the Pandora App., its amazing.

CONS:
Only complaint is that I did not get the first IPHONE to compare.
NO MMS!!! Oh well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Excellent...Finally

 

Sep 28, 2008 by sam912

I purchased my 3G iPhone the second day that it was on sale but held off until now on writing a review until now because I new that OS updates were coming down the road. Initially I was VERY disappointed with the phone. The last update made the phone almost perfect.

PROS:
-Screen
-Apps
-call quality
-3G reception (finally)
-Browser experience
-iPod
-Video

Cons:
-No voice dialing
-No Native Task Synchronization
-No MMS
-Limited video in browser

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Upgraded from the original iPhone

 

Sep 15, 2008 by slackrock

I have had the original iPhone since Christmas 07. I decided to buy the 3G after updating my original iPhone to the 2.1 firmware. Once I saw that the issues were seemingly fixed I decided it was time to get the 3G.

I guess I should consider myself lucky because I have not had the major issues that many users have. The biggest problem I had prior to 2.1 was not being able to use my Plantronics 520 headset with Visual Voicemail. That problem was solved with the 2.1 update, as were all the lag issues throughout the phone.

What I like about the 3G:
- 3G (works great in Los Angeles)
- GPS
- I like the feel in my hand better. I didn't think there would such a difference but there is.
- Battery life is now on par with other 3G devices.
- 16GB (I only had the 8GB original iPhone)

What I don't like:
- I do notice a bluish/yellowish tint with the display. My 2G model didn't have this. I read somewhere that by doing a hard reset or restore would solve that problem but that didn't work for me. Having said that it's not a huge issue and it's not in any way distracting.

I won't go into the "I wishes" because its a mute issue. I knew what the iPhone is capable of and what it is not capable of when I purchased the phone.

All in all I'm very happy with both the original iPhone and the iPhone 3G now. It has great potential for additional improvements with future updates, which is another plus for the iPhone... it's not a stagnant piece of technology.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BEAUTIFUL DEVICE

 

Aug 26, 2008 by huzzla4life

CLEAR CALL QUALITY ESPECIALLY AFTER THE 2.0.2
UPGRADED FIRMWARE.NO SIGNAL BOUNCING AROUND.INTERNET IS FAST EVEN ON THE EDGE NETWORK HERE IN BALTIMORE,MD.APPS STORE IS THE MOST INNOVATIVE THING ON THIS PHONE.IPOD IS EXCELLENT.EMAIL IS ON POINT ON SAFARI BROWSER.NO MORE LAG ON THE KEYBOARD...STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS PHONE IF YOU WANT AN EXCELLENT DEVICE.CAME FROM THE SAMSUNG INSTINCT,NO COMPARISON, EVEN WITH THE TURN BY TURN GPS..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


buy this phone!!!

 

Aug 8, 2008 by camarofreak

alright yall, u have got to but this phone if u do any kind of web browsing at all!! I love this phone!! I am actually writing this review from the phone!! Its so easy to use and at half the price of the original iPhones u can't beat it!

Pros:
Everything about this phone!!!

Cons:
Absolutely none!!!

I love this phone!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Buy the hype, it's worth it!!!!!!!

 

Aug 3, 2008 by gioreeko

I was soooo frustrated waiting for this phone to be available that I went to the Verizon store to check out the Dare. Wow, was that clunky, the internet is almost unusable, the screen was not sensitive at all. So, I paid for the Iphone through the Direct fullfilment, and received it about 10 days later. Overall performance is awesome. Forget what people say about battery life, it's actually very good it you only turn on what you need when you need it. Is it that hard to do people? I guess for most it is. Sound quality is great, Ipod is GREAT, GPS is awesome. This is really more of a mini-laptop phone than anything else. Well worth the hype, I think that most people who are bad mouthing either don't really have one, or work for a competitor.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


THE BEST MOBILE MEDIA DEVICE

 

Jul 27, 2008 by phonegeek45

I got my phone around a week ago and i'm still amazed of its capabilities, so far its the best phone I ever had.

PRO'S
1)The call quality is great.
2)Virtual voice mail
3)Safari (so far the best internet phone browser availible)
4)3g (with wifi the phone is just out of the world).
5)Youtube works flawlessly.
6)The Apple store with all of its free apps.
7)easy settings
8)Text messaging with the iphone is the best iv'e seen.
9)Simplicity

Con's
1)Poor battery life.
2)System crash's
3)No stereo bluetooth

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The best phone I have ever owned

 

Jul 23, 2008 by TVP125

My 16gb white iPhone is the best phone I have owned hands down. My phone has awesome build quality no sharp edges no dead pixels the phone is very tight. built the 29th week of 2008 its just solid. Coming from the previous iPhone the 3G is much faster then my old phones edge service and the GPS works great pinpoints my exact location in just seconds. I have had no problem with battery life it is similar to my previous iPhone and last me a whole day with medium use. The 2.0 software does have some bugs but nothing that cant be fixed with a quick update from apple. The app store is a very nice feature and there is some pretty cool stuff on there and with alot of new programs in the works it will add some exciting new features in the future. Typing on the keyboard is easy it will take maybe a day of practice but after you get the hang of it there wont be a problem and you will be able to type with ease. Overall it is a great entertainment device.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Product years ahead of the game....

 

Jul 19, 2008 by ajs253

I don't know who may be subsidizing some of these people who are complaining, but I am willing to bet that most of them are non Apple/AT&T customers.

All I can say is that I personally carry a Treo 800w, BB 8330 and an HTC Kaiser (not the AT&T, but the unbranded, HTC version). The 3G iphone is a fantastic product without doubt. If you are concerned about battery life, you have the option of shutting off the 3G service. Otherwise, the new iphone is an excellent product with a lot of potential. I think once someone spends a few days with the phone, you will be pleasantly surprised with the result.

I use mine with our enterprise server and get push e-mail, etc. I get my mail same time my BB 8330 delivers so no lag time. I am happy that they have improved on the UI, and think this is a better UI than its predecessor. I do believe that the build quality of the predecessor was better, but I am not willing to discount all the other positive qualities of this phone. Bravo Apple. Job well done.

For those who don't like it, over 1 million people -and counting- will disagree. Sorry........

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12345 6 789...19

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2