Phone Scoop

printed October 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1651&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Rant M540

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  97  

Average Ratings

3.68
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 5

Rant from Sprint

 

Jan 8, 2009 by angelsnap

I have had several different phones; this is my favorite. My son has a Rumor and loves it, however when I got my Rant, he said he likes it better. The Rant compared to the Rumor is a little heavier and feels sturdier. The phone is very easy to maneuver around. I do not regret the purchase. I have noticed that the battery gets low easily but it's because the phone is in my purse in its own pocket but the buttons get pushed and the 'security' screen comes on for a couple seconds then turns off. When it's not in my purse, it lasts the average amount of time.

My favorite thing about this phone is its texting capabilities. Very easy to keep track of 'conversations'. The software groups the contacts along with your response.
(I never use the QWERTY keyboard - but it is also very easy)
If you are considering this phone, you won't regret it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


ExiTedEEEee

 

Dec 7, 2008 by sunburned_porcupine

EEEk im so excited. ok so i went tot the sprint store yesterday to see which phone i was getting and i decided between the LG Rumor and the Samsung Rant in the end the rant stole my heart away (j.k.)i was playing with the phone while it was on the display thing and i liked it! =P oh and also it had a thing for phone charms which im a really big fan of so ya!

Pros:
EZ to txt
photot id
gps
camera
when texting a friend the phone makes it look like ur instant messaging which is pretty cool if u ask me!

Cons:
a bit big
screen is hard to unlock

other than that i have no problems with this phone I love IT!!!! laterz

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


im love'n it.

 

Dec 3, 2008 by lazagna4me

im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im love'n it.im

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


uh-huh

 

Nov 17, 2008 by ashapoo0131

dude i got my rant on friday an it has been an awesome fone! im 13 so i am really into txtin an so tha keyboard is greatt! i am sorta comparin it to my old fone,, tha pink centro an tha others before tht, rumor an music,, i loved all of these fones except the rumor,,, it turns itself on an off an calls ppl on its own,, possessed!

anyways,,,
pros- adorable
perfect for txtin
sturdy buttons
good signal
can play music while u txt
good pics
has conversations{lik tha centro}
sound is loud an clear!

cons-
when i put my memory card in it, the pics i had from my palm were too big for the screen,, thts it,, i LOVE THIS PHONE!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Rant is Great!

 

Nov 10, 2008 by scottks5

I've had my new phone for about two weeks and love it. Sprint Navigation is amazing. I won't be buying a GPS for the car while I have this phone. I love the speaker volume of this phone. My last cell phone was a Katana that had the weakest speaker volume ever.

I love the ability to use micro SD cards and load your own music and images from the computer. Same with assigning photos to Caller ID. It saves me from putting on glasses to see who's calling.

The only thing negative that I have noticed is an occasional instance when I plug the phone into the charger and find that it has turned off. Static electricity discharge from dry winter weather? You see the graphic of the phone charging, and it's turned off.

Here in Salt Lake City, I've had excellent tower coverage and zero call drops. The camera is great, but the camcorder is not.

Overall, I love it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Quick Stuff On the Rant! :)

 

Nov 7, 2008 by SprintSmurf

I work at a retail sprint store. So trust me. :)

This phone is a good phone for a heavy texter and music/tv user and does not want a PDA. I have been waiting for sprint to come up with an upgrade from the rumor. The rumor is great, if you're okay without powervision and only want a simple phone. Anyway...

The music volume is loud as is the tv volume.

Sprint OneClick is great. The way it can be customized is also great. Very easy to use.

When downloading any type of ringtones or anything like that, DOWNLOAD the upgraded version. It free! lol Trust me, it will only help you. :)

Battery live is great as well. I can text and play music all day and still have battery left.

The music store and "my stuff" content manager is much more user friendly. Definitely an upgrade from the previous powervision phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not so great

 

Oct 28, 2008 by Samsung_luhv

I just used my upgrade for this phone, actually my moms upgrade since she has the instinct. and when i got this phone, i was soo disapointed. It has a good camera, and good ringtones, loud, and nice voice ringer. No CUSTOMIZATION, except for the carasole(lame). You have to have the ugly yellow and black colors. you can't download ringtones from third parties. And im coming from the centro, but luckly i only paid 50 at best buy for the purple, so im putting it on ebay for 200, and going back to my pink centro. The keyboard is easy and convienent. Nice...thats all really, this phone isn't really all that great. bUt if your coming from a highend phone like the centro, this phone is not worth upgrading to unless you plan to make 150 off ebay for it. The purple ones people really will buy because its rare and only at best buy. If you have the rumor, get this phone, its way BETTER then the rumor and can handle the internet and never shuts off, but i have been having problems not recieving phone calls.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Phone

 

Jan 29, 2009 by strnoliver

The phone is very good
you can hear very well

But there is bad thing I hate
is freeze up on me every times

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


pretty good

 

Nov 17, 2008 by nicoaustx

i got this phone a week ago, and so far it's pretty good. definitely an upgrade from my previous phone. i love that i can check e-mail and go to facebook, and i like the qwerty keyboard. another good feature is that if i need to send a long text message, i can keep typing, and the phone will break it into 2 or more messages itself, unlike my old phone where i had to write as far as i could, send, and then start a new message.

my biggest complaint is with the battery. it doesn't seem to hold a charge. today i unplugged the phone from the charger, with the phone fully charged at 8:30 a.m., and it was dead by 6:30 p.m. that was with very little use today. i don't know if it's my particular phone or the rant's battery in general.

sometimes, the phone goes out of range when it really shouldn't, but that usually doesn't last long. all in all, i'm glad i upgraded.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Unreliable

 

Nov 7, 2008 by scubacamper

Pro's:

Phone is designed for texting - has great slide feature making it easier to text quickly.

Digital camera takes decent pictures

Speakerphone is okay

Con's:

Randomly makes calls by itself

Reception is terrible

predictive entry text assistance is more annoying than beneficial.

buttons too small

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 5

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1