Phone Scoop

printed October 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=165&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 6610

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  

Average Ratings

4.52
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3

The Perfect No-Nonsense Phone

 

Feb 5, 2007 by jreisner

Being a Verizon customer and having used the most complex Smart Phones and PDA's on the market today (I own 7 Verizon phones), when I needed to get a Cingular phone to get on my company's existing plan, I had literally thousands of GSM unlocked phones to choose from. I was not looking to spend a lot of money, and I did not want a camera, music player or anything else. All I wanted was a simple, lightweight, comfortable, unassuming, easy-to-use phone. I knew it would be a Nokia. After reading all of the reviews and trying one out, I chose the 6610, which cost me $50. And I'm very happy I did. This phone is simply the best. I even added the bluetooth adapter AD-5B for $30 and now I can use my beloved bluetooth headset (it was maddening going back to wires). After 3 months, I am simply thrilled with this phone. Short Reasons:

1) Best battery life out there
2) Best reception vs. other Cingy phones
3) Perfect size and weight.

It is very difficult to find fault with this phone, but I tried hard and here are 2:

1)Annoying power button that needs to be held down with your fingernail (which is a problem for most guys)
2) Relatively weak vibrate especially vs. LG's and Samsungs, though about the same as Motos

One other note, if you must have a camera, the 6610i adds a usable one along with a negligible increase in thickness and weight, but you also get a nice option of having all of your menu icons on one screen - a feature I wish the 6610 had.

Other than that, this phone gets an A+. Thank you, Nokia for simplifying one aspect of my life in a very unsimplifying world.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A wonderful phone.

 

Sep 30, 2006 by lefteyeiu2006

I loved this phone. It was always so reliable. I wish T-Mobile still carried it. It was one of Nokia's better models.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


What a great phone !

 

Aug 12, 2006 by ytsaur

Nice looking phone (silver color), easy to use, and almost perfect function. I like it so much.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Review after 1 year of Use

 

Sep 11, 2005 by krappei

After a full year of use and abuse, this is thus far the best cell phone that I've owned. I've previously owned the Nokia 8260 and 8265 and used the Samsung S105. Reception has always been great with Nokias. I'd always have more bars than people w/ Samung or Motorola phones but with the same service provider (Cingular and T-mobile). The faceplate did get pretty beat up after several drops and mishandles but you can easily replace them with new faceplates for around 10 -15 bucks on ebay. The 6610 does what I need it to do, make clear/reliable calls. If you're looking for something fancy go elsewear. But if you're looking for just a plain good phone, you can't go wrong with this. The battery life is excellent after a year as well. I usually talk about 3+ hours a day and only need to recharge every other day. I like the headphones which wrap around your ear instead of just going in your ear hole. The only flaws that bothered me were lack of resistence to scratching the faceplates faced and phone numbers don't save to a sim card (so you can't use saved numbers on the sim card either). Overall, great phone. I recently upgraded to a Samsung e635. I'll have a review for this one soon.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AWESOME PHONE BUT THE VOLUME BUTTON BROKE... TWICE!

 

Dec 20, 2003 by interweb

This is an EXCELLENT phone... No complaints EXCEPT we have two of these 6610 phones and BOTH of them had problems with the side VOLUME buttons where the UP volume button STOPPED WORKING!!!

With one phone it stopped working within two weeks... The other phone it had the SAME defect after about 3 months... Fortunately both were covered under T-mobile warranty...

Has anyone else out there had this defect? I wonder if its a Nokia design defect!! The side volume level up/down is very small and seems quite fragile and when you press it, it doesn't provide good tactile feedback...

PROS:
- Small & Light
- Color
- Lots of cool Java Games
- Excellent Battery Life
- Physically looks good!

CONS:
- Broken UP volume button on side with TWO units

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone

 

Dec 12, 2003 by dropkick

This is a great phone. The RF reception, which is one of the most important features for me, is excellent. I always seem to have more "bars of signal" than others with the same carrier. Also the speaker phone and the rings are very loud. The only bad part about this phone is that the vibration is very loud. For some reason the face plate does not seem to secure firmly at the base of the phone, and causes a loud rattle when the phone vibrates. But all in all this is an excellent phone and I highly recommend it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My best phone yet

 

Dec 10, 2003 by donovansmith

I bought this phone back in July of this year when I signed up with T-Mobile. I use my phones more for Internet access than for talking but still wanted something small enough to carry around with me in my pocket. This is my first Nokia phone and most definately will not be my last. The 6610 is well built, has a lot of features, compact size, and great reception.

It holds a GPRS data connection very well and the infrared port makes connecting to the Internet using GPRS on the phone easy. The infrared port also allows you to beam contacts and calendar appointments to and from a Palm OS device and other Nokia phones with an infrared port. This feature made putting my contacts onto this phone a breeze. The battery life is very good, also. I only charge this phone once every few days or so despite leaving it on all the time (I just silence it at night) although I only talk a few minutes every other day on average. The speakerphone works surprisingly well for such a small phone.

The main things that bug me on the 6610 are in the browser. First, you cannot change the text size. I liked being able to make the text size smaller in the browser on my Sanyo SCP-6200 with Sprint PCS, it made reading news sites much easier since more text could fit on the screen. I have to scroll more than I would like to to read news sites and my email. Also, the browser doesn't allow you to press a number key corresponding to links in a WML page which makes for even more scrolling just to get to certain links. Other little annoyances: there is no standard headset jack, the 4-tone polyphonic ringtone capability isn't as good as other phones with 16 or more tone polyphonic ringers, the screen could have better color and contrast, other phones have many more features for the same price as this one although they lack the small form-factor, and there needs to be at least twice as much memory on the phone.

Despite my small complaints this is a great phone and you won't regret buying it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Ohone For Business...

 

Nov 19, 2003 by Iggster

It's a great phone for business and everyday use. Battery is excellent and magnificent reception.

Only negative..no bluetooth and the earpice connection stinks. Other than that, buy and use this great phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I really enjoy this Nokia!!

 

Nov 8, 2003 by jasoninsandiego

This is the best GSM phone I have ever owned. I use a mobile phone for phone and address book use only. I don't need games, cameras, pictures, etc. The phone has some great features, but what makes this phone works for me is the quaility of the construction, size, and its great signal performance. This phone gets signal were other GSM phones can not. If I would list some cons, I would have to say the price vs features is not their with other phones. Some other phones offer more features for the same price. Overall I am very happy to recommend this phone to other people who's number one concern is quaility of reception and portiablity.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best GSM phone for T-Mobile

 

Oct 21, 2003 by gsantarelli1

I have T-Mobile in Northeast PA and have NO problems with this phone. This is the best RF performer out there for T-Mobile's GSM/GPRS service. I get service in places that others I know who have T-Mobile drop calls. The color screen is great, as well as the replaceable face covers. It would be nice if this had a clip on camera for the pop-port, since the camera headset is a pain to use. If you are thinking about purchasing this for any GSM service, you CANNOT go wrong.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2