Phone Scoop

printed September 2, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1627&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sharp  ›

Sharp Sidekick 2008

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  50  

Average Ratings

4.35
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 4

Sidekick 08 good for 09

 

Jan 8, 2009 by SenSeVa757

I work for a retailer that shall remain nameless so i get a chance to test drive alot of new phones on the market for 3 different major service providers. I "test drove" the SK08 before i purchased it and i was thoroughly impressed. This would be my return to the Danger OS having had Windows based mobile phones for the past 4 years.
The SK08 was pretty easy to use and took no time to get back into. The display is pretty straight forward to use and simple to set up. I can get all my emails on this phone without having to log on to the web everytime. Overall the phone is built for people on the go and delivers what it advertises. I did find a couple of things that wasnt up to my standards. The web browser is somewhat slow for me sometimes. The other issue i had is that it didnt come with a calculator. GRRRR..

PROS
* nice screen resolution
* real scurity password protection
* lighter than previous sidekicks
* Up to 4 email accounts

CONS
* web browser is slow at times
* No calculator

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Garbage

 

Jan 8, 2009 by kingsbridge77

The pro's: Nice calendar, to do, and note features.
Con's:
-Once I exit the subway, I often do not regain service until I restart my device.
-I had internet for a day, then cancelled it. Now I cannot delete the email messages I sent and received during the period that I had internet.
-I often get an annoying error message about the GPRS network, or something.
-cannot download Mp3 tones.
-You have to open the annoying flip-screen in order to make a phone call not in your recent call list.

I do not recommend this phone. It's garbage.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


SK 08

 

Dec 26, 2008 by trobbins43

Pros: Texting a breeze
Comfortable size (as opposed to the diesel LX)
Ability to Customize thru inexpensive shells (outer cover)
Loud Speaker Phone
Decent Web Browser
Good Camera along with Video for the first time
Tons of applications in the download catalog (expensive though)
Cons: Battery Life is pretty poor
No WiFi feature
Blocks free ringtone sites forcing to purchase in the download catalog
No Camera or video external button (which a lot of people might like, not me tho)
In-call has echo effect every once in a while which is really annoying.

Overall, I use the 08 as a txting device which is my primary and favorite way to get ahold of people and it delivers. The keys are perfectly spread out and having large thumbs doesnt hold me back. The poor battery life really does throw me off though and if you dont have a car charger and travel a lot, youre in trouble. If you want a web browsing phone, look else where. I have the sidekick unlimited which is a grandfathered plan (only 19.99 for unlimited txt and web browsing) but it is now 24.99 for web browsing and 15.00 for unl txt which you can get for the G1 or BlackBerry. Theres a large library of ringtones and games but can rack up the bill if you like having a tone for certain people or get bored easy. I hope in 09, Sharp developed a sidekick that doesnt block free tones and a better standard batt.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love it!!!!!

 

Oct 21, 2008 by ebuy_queen

Nice phone,,awesome features...does the job....

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Oct 20, 2008 by sassy12

this phone is so cool and strong i droped my like 20 times it hasn't even broken and oly 1 scrach its still working great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Job Sharp

 

Sep 23, 2008 by chevyg

I am the owner of the LK and I must say that outside of a screen thats a lil bit bigger, the LX has now been replace.

Nice form factor, clear calls and a sidekick with a decent camera. This actually feels like a phone, and the ring volume is alot louder.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


THE BEST PHONE EVER

 

Sep 19, 2008 by j_putmon

This is the best phone ever. I really love this phone. This phone has a lot of features that i love. The only problem that i have with this phone is that you have to buy your own ring tones, but i can live with that.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Sep 1, 2008 by portknox50

I love this phone. I was with verizon and made the switch and am glad i did. This phone does everything and more for a fraction of what it would cost me to do on my LG Dare.
Pros: Light and easy to use
Loaded with features
Web Browser is great
IM systems pre loaded
Loud speaker and ringers

The only issue with this phone is not being able to use your own ringtones. At this point, i will have to deal with that but all the money that im saving with Tmobile will buy me new ones.

If you dont have one and your thinking about it....Get a sidekick!!!!!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sidekick 2008

 

Aug 19, 2008 by tkmcd

This sidekick is totally re-vamped. Since the LX there has been massive improvements, and I mean massive. Remember how the LX was like carrying a laptop in your pocket? Well this one is smaller and more sleek with fully customizable skins and backgrounds to match! Battery life has also been significantly improved. Plus the battery is half the size of that of the LX!

Over all I rate 4.5/5 ; its a great phone for anyone to try!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sidekick 2008

 

Aug 10, 2008 by xPhoneGirlx

This is definitely the Sidekick that previous owners have been waiting for. I ordered mine the day they came out and I love it! I've been through a SK 2, SK 3, SK LX and now the 08. Of course it does still have it's quirks but here goes my opinion of pros and cons:

pros: smaller and lighter, completely customizable( you can actually match the background to the shells you buy in the store, as well as create personalized shells online), track ball is slightly recessed, which i think is a pro, audio is better, background noise isn't as bad, much better camera and video capability, better battery life, the screen is as nice as the lx but smaller, which is ok

cons: can't use pics as backgrounds( as stated by the guy above, although you can use them as screen savers), still only holds 100 text messages, can't use your own music for ringtones,

Overall I think Sharp did an excellent job with the successor to the ID. Can't wait to see what's next!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 4

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1