Phone Scoop

printed November 29, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1616&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG Lotus

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.05
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3456

The Square Appeal

 

Jun 10, 2010 by jreisner

After owning many phones over the years, I wanted one which had a lot of features but was not “over the top” like many smart-phones out there. Having owned only slim and long phones before, at first I was unsure about the squarish look and feel, but it soon won me over.

Here's why:

1) Beautiful wide screen makes for great photo, video and web browsing (which is good with Sprint’s browser, but awesome with Opera Mini – be sure to download it).
2) Thin and light – much lighter than most smartphones
3) Outstanding call quality in & out
4) Better reception than most other Sprint phones (Western PA)
5) Understated, elegant look
6) Metal front and rubber coated back makes for a durable, comfortable design that doesn't try to slip out of your hand like slim, shiny phones
7) Excellent camera, best I've seen in a phone, very quick processing
8) Lightning-fast texting (one touch text button) - Sprint’s threaded messaging is terrific too
9) Good quality one-touch speakerphone
10) Sprint’s application manager allows running multiple apps. in the background - it works great on this phone and rivals many smartphones.

Here’s some bad points:

1) Both screens very difficult to see in direct sunlight
2) Tedious to dial numbers (like most keyboard oriented phones)
3) Phone occasionally freezes and requires removal of battery
4) Battery life not consistent – using browser makes the indicator jump up and down and kills battery very quickly

Summary: This phone has just about everything you need in a convenient package and the “bad” points are not biggies. So either embrace or get past the oddball squarish looks and you will get hooked.
NOTE: The Lotus Elite is similar but adds a full function external touch screen. That is too much for me so I’m sticking with this one, but you may want to look at both.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone was great a year ago

 

Mar 29, 2010 by revAnDroid

My girlfriend has this phone and all she does is tell me how slow, how awful, and inconvenient it is.

Pros:
-Compact
-Cool design
-QWERTY

Cons:
-Issues with colors and resolution
-complicated UI
-Sloooooooow

With the phones that are out now, it would be a mistake to get this bad boy, even if the price is low.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Favorite Phone so far

 

Mar 18, 2010 by HJ

Although I don't have internet capability, I still love my Lotus. Got one for me and one for my mom last summer, and we both have loved them ever since. I use my phone mainly for texting, so those are the main points for me..

pros
-unlike other phones where you have to scroll through your "inbox", and "outbox", I love how with the lotus, you can go through conversations with people.
-easy to use, simple "text" button, to go straight to sending a text
-full keyboard allows for easy and quick messages
-big screen, able to see everything wonderfully
-MP3 player works awesome! great sound, and love the quick buttons on the front (although they sometimes get pushed, and music starts randomly playing while in my pocket)
-Camera works awesome, great pictures (not 12mega pixels, but still great)

cons
-sometimes runs a little bit slow
-my mom especially has been having troubles with battery life, although we've had our phones for a while now, new battery would most likely fix the problem
-Has a bunch of cool features, that for me, I can't use without internet.. but most people have internet on their phone, so that's not a biggy
-the square shape took some getting used to, but I love it now

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best Phone I have owened so far.

 

Feb 17, 2010 by FashionablyLate

Pros: threading text
keyboard
color(purple)
style(unique)
space(not cramped)
battery life is fair
camera takes good pictures in good lighting
good sound quality
wide screens
Text key
pictures IDs show on your call history and text which is cool feature

Cons: No flash
wish you could customize the colors of the menus.. the gray and black is boring.
pictures load slow when browsing

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The best phone I've ever had

 

Feb 2, 2010 by btmsc

I have had this phone for over a year without any complaints.

Pros: The 2.0 Mega Pixel camera takes good pictures and video.
I added a 4GB micro SD card and can store hundreds of pictures.
The vibrate mode works great.
The Volume controls are easy to operate.

Cons: To text numbers you have to hit the Fn key before each number.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


sucks

 

Jan 10, 2010 by googoogaagaa

this phone is ugly, fat, and disgusting.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Lotus

 

Dec 9, 2009 by cellularghost13

I have had the Lotus for over a year.The phone is great for internet,calls, camera, texting.My one complaint is that the battery life is simply horrible.I am finding that by 3PM every day even without heavy text usage the battery is almost drained. Otherwise I would highly recommend this phone to all..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Battery failure under 30 days

 

Oct 31, 2009 by mensajero

CONS: I have 2 sprint (lg Lotus) and the batteries failed under 30 days. I have now new batteries but I dont see the good battery performance stated or even close. Phone too new but shows issues with bluetooth.

PROS: 2 bar signal inside the house (sprint, Brevard County FL)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LOVE IT!!!

 

Aug 16, 2009 by sydneysmommoo

I just love this phone! It was so easy to use I didn't even need the book. Everything about it is great! Great Value for a smart phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Non-smartphone that feels so Smart

 

Jul 11, 2009 by epictempo

Note to other reviewer, if you have one problem with a phone, then it doesn't deserve a 0 rating.

I'm coming off a Centro and an iPhone previously to owning the Lotus and I don't feel like its a non-smartphone at all. Amazing apps, amazing battery life. Call quality is superb and camera is best I've had in a phone. GPS was a welcome surprise. Keyboard is better than Centro's as well. This thing is a beast of a phone, its so capable, LG could advertise it as a smartphone and I'd be fooled. Only problem I've had is opening the phone one handed can be a learning curve.

ATTENTION: PLEASE DOWNLOAD OPERA MINI. It is a ton faster and better than the included browser.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3456

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2