Phone Scoop

printed August 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1613&r=31501

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry Bold 9000

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.48
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 345...8

I MIGHT BE BOLDLY SLEEPING ON THE COUCH

 

Nov 10, 2008 by Chromemember

I got my new BOLD on 11/7/08 and all I can say is wow!!! First of all this has got to be one of the most stylish attention getting phones ever put out. This phone combines the chrome & black look of the IPHONE and then mixes in some blackberry and the end result is tons of people trying to get BOLD with my phone.

I had the 8310 before this and the first thing that blows you away is the resolution of the screen. My phone looks alot better than most HD TV's. The 3G internet speeds are extremely fast and the full HTML is exactly what I've been looking for.

Adding video capture to the 2.0 megapixel camera was a plus but that also brings up my only let down with the phone, my gripe is that it only has a 2.0 megapixel camera. I am sick of the U.S. market having nothing but 2.0 megapixel cameras, I know theres a couple with better cameras but come on now U.S. carriers we can handle better cameras just fine.

The qwerty keyboard is great and the UI is fast and slick. Seriously go out and get yourself a BOLD, you wont regret or return it.

I have to stop here and go make myself a bed on the couch now, I'm sure my wife will be joining the W.A.B.M. (Wifes-Against-Bold-Movement)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BOLD: Best of the BB Breed

 

Jan 12, 2009 by Austiniter

Finally BB has got it right with the BB Bold. This phone's keyboard is generously spaced, calls are clear, reception isn't as good as Nokia but pretty close. The WiFi works great for those warriors who frequent coffee shops or need quick wifi while on the road. Battery time is extremely good, especially if your putting your BOLD asleep in its leather pouch. Overall, this phone has the best qual's of any Blackberry todate.
For those of you who are thinking about purchasing BB Storm - forget it, worse phone on the planet. Hope BB didn't produce too many of these or they're out of business.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


The Bold AND Beautiful!

 

Dec 31, 2008 by SCMac81

After reading these reviews, I'm blown away by the problems that people say they're having with this phone - and not just on this site, but others as well. It's been rock-solid for me since I bought it almost 30 days ago. After a few programming hiccups on the AT&T side, everything is peachy! I don't think I'll ever put it down!

PROS:
- Bright, beautiful screen
- 1gb on-board memory (5 w/ my microSD)
- Size in general; I've got large hands so it's perfect!
- Lovin the WiFi and 3g
- Everything else about the phone!
- Many 1st and 3rd-party apps!

CONS:
- Ok, so it's not much of a con, but rather my burning the battery down quickly by using every feature I can at all times.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Productivity Tool - Pretty good entertainment tool

 

Nov 26, 2008 by sthong

Want a fun device with lots of applications, a good phone, that is not so fast at email or general productivity tasks? Buy the IPhone

Want a device that is super fast at email, managing tasks, and a good phone - and is pretty fun at general entertainment / browsing... buy the Blackberry Bold.

Although I do not own the Blackberry Storm ... I imagine the functionality of the devices to be very similar since it runs pretty much the same OS. However, without a physical keyboard, there is no way that the Storm can be as quick (keyboard shortcuts and typing). Plus, the Storm seems less stable in its current iteration.

The Bold - very happy purchaser.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Wait is Over

 

Nov 7, 2008 by pepsijunky

After months of waiting, I finally have my Blackberry Bold for AT&T. It has been pretty epic so far and that is coming off an iPhone 3G. I basically consider it the close relative to the iPhone but with a keyboard, a few better features, and of course BB e-mail. I give it a 5 out of 5 right now because there is nothing as perfect right now. In a few years phones with have 8 mp cameras but for right now, WOW. Also, I have had a ton of phones, about 26 in the last 4 years.

http://www.mattscheelar.com/2008/11/my-cell-phones-since-may-2004.html

Pros
-Processor is twice as fast as the Curve
-4.6 OS is sick
-3.2 mp camera and video
-1 gig on board memory
-External micro SD slot
-Improved keyboard
-Better grip back
-Screen resolution is ridiculous
-Web Browser is so much better

Cons
-I guess the battery could be better, but it's pretty darn good so not really a con

I am loving this phone right now, the iPhone is on eBay and I do not regret it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Bold My First BlackBerry

 

Nov 7, 2008 by Versed

This is my first Blackberry and I'm impressed:

1. Comes with everything except memory card. Which is nice and rare from AT&T.
2. Best keyboard I have ever seen on a phone.
3. Fast, very responsive using the device, the 3g is fast and stays connected.
4. Nice size, wonderful screen for a non touch screen phone. Bright. Feels good in the hand.

OK. One Con.

1. A bit wider then I like. But knew it going in.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Goodbye Storm!!!

 

Nov 24, 2008 by stephenr

I had been with Verizon for several years and waited in line on Friday in the freezing cold for the storm. After five minutes I realized it was a total letdown. I went over to my local AT&T store and ported my service to the new Bold. Here are my thoughts:

Great build quality
Superior sound/ both earpiece and speakerphone.
Very strong signal, and 3G too.
Keyboard is amazing, and very easy to type.
Display is outstanding.

I am a little skeptical about AT&T but I want to give them a chance. I am sick of Verizon's arrogance and their lack of decent phones. I hope I made the right choice.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BEST BLACKBERRY TO DATE....

 

Nov 11, 2008 by ANDYFLOYD82

I work for ATT, and must admit to being a blackberry fanboy. I have been waiting for this phone forever since blackberry has really needed to get a 3G device out there, the wait is finally over...

I used a 8800 for about a year and a half and loved it. This phone is like the 88xx series on steroids. Its about the same size but not only does the phone look a lot better its a lot faster too. The extra processing speed really helps this phone as it never lags at all and works flawlessly. The signal quality with this phone is outstanding getting more signal in places where my 8800 would be searching for one. Battery life has been on par with my 8800 ( a day and a half ).

PROS-

-Screen quality is outstanding, best screen i have seen ( including i phone )
-Web browsing is finally useable and quick
-OS looks a lot more clean, and the extra processing speed helps when doing anything from opening programs to multitasking.
-3g voice and data at SAME TIME! finally.
-keyboard is better than the 8800 and better than the curve as well.
-speaker quality is so good, appears to have 3 speakers and it does sound just as good as my old nokia n95.
-email is still solid as always
-micro card slot in SIDE of phone!
-3.5mm headphone jack
-1gb of onboard memory

CONS-

-trackball sits kinda low, apparently its to keep dirt out of it. Ill get used to it.
-phone is too pretty dont wanna hurt it, lol.

Thats about it, I really enjoy this phone and I would say its my fav all time phone just barely beating out my Nokia N95, and 8800 since those were the 2 at the top before this one. Hope this helps someone, holler.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone with Problems!

 

May 25, 2009 by BobbyV7887

I AM CURRENTLY AN EMPLOYEE OF AT&T AND I WANTED TO EXPRESS SOME VIEWS/OPIONIONS OF THE BLACKBERRY BOLD 9000!

PROS:
*GREAT CAMERA
*WIFI
*GREAT SCEEN QUALITY/DISPLAY(WATCH MOVIES)
*3G SPEEDS(VERY FAST)
*EASY FOR TXT/E-MAIL
*BLACKBERRY APP STORE(APPS ARE EXPENSIVE THOUGH)
*EXCELLENT SIGNAL
*LOOKS GOOD AND VERY STYLISH

CONS:
*I HAVE HAD NUMEROUS ISSUES WITH THE PHONE SHUTTING OFF!
*FREEZES EVERY NOW AND AGAIN
*DROPPED,DROPPED,DROPPED CALLS ALL THE TIME.

I AM CURRENTY DOING ANOTHER UPGRADE TO TRY OUT THE NEW NOKIA E71X TO SEE HOW IT WORKS I HOPE I DONT EXPERIENCE THE SAME ISSUES

I AM A HIGHLY INTENSIFIED BLACKBERRY USER AND I ENJOY RIM PRODUCTS BUT

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BOLD 9000 YOU NEED TO BRAG ON THIS PHONE

 

May 23, 2009 by skyedog1

I went and tested the new 8900 BB and the Bold with AT&T. This phone is amazing it has everyhing I need. It has 3g which the new 8900 does not.I like the wi-fi which the 8900 did have but I don't want to wait until I'm in a wi-fi area to get the best speeds,the bold has video streaming which the 8900 does not. Both phones are nice but the BOLD is by far a better phone. If you have small hands maybe you might want to look at the 8900. if you want a better phone get the BOLD. Plus AT&T has much better service than what I experience at T-Mobile.I love the BOLD great job BB and AT&T you are the best kept it up. Thank you Johnny at AT&T (Chesapeake Store)VA. for your get customer care.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 345...8

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1