Phone Scoop

printed April 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=161&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Audiovox  ›

Audiovox CDM-8500

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  2  

Average Ratings

2.76
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34

a good simple phone for a simple person

 

Nov 17, 2004 by carlos14

if you are the kind of person who just wants a phone to talk to people this is the phone for you. when i had this phone nothing ever went wrong it was always there for me. the bad thing about this phone is that it's simple no games and such. but other than that it a damn good phone and a cheap price. if you are the kind of person who wants to play games, take some pics, have cool ring-tones i suggest going for another phone. this phone i think is mainly a business phone it's a very good phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not 4 Audiovox CDM-8500

 

Nov 2, 2004 by LiLpRiNcEsS007

I had this phone for about a year now. This is my first phone EVER! It started off OK. Here's what I think about this phone...

PROS:

* Good Price for pre-paid
*2nd Display
*Speaker phone
*Size (small to put in pocket)

Other than that the phone has,

CONS:

*Bad reception
*No color screen
*No games
*Bad ring tones (unless you pay $2 for a good one)
*No Camera to take pics
*Personally, I don't like the set up of the phone book

In conclusion, I don't like the phone and I'm ready to switch to another company. I rated this phone a 1.5 because it only a good phone for making calls and texts. I would like something more high-tech.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Cute but poor performance

 

Oct 2, 2004 by bolan

I've had this for 10 months with Virigin. The form factor is great, I haven't had any mechanical problems, and the battery life seems reasonable. But, the reception has become terrible. My wife has a cheapo Kyocera from Virgin, and hers picks up strong signal where this one does not. Even in our house, in urban Minneapolis, this one does not pick up signal. It picked up signals for the first few months, but it has gotton progressively worse. Now I effectively use it as a pager. I called Virgin to replace the phone, and the phone rep told me they've had lots of problems with this phone. She recommended buying one of the Kyoceras or the Audiovox 8610, but they wont swap mine. But I hesitate to throw $$ at Virgin, since they know this problem and they're still selling this phone....

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


VIRGIN MOBILE VOX8500

 

Sep 9, 2004 by boostmobile i730

THE AUDIOVOX IS NICE AND I AM VERY HAPPY WITH IT IT IS WORTH THE MONEY IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A CHEEP GOOD FLIP PHONE THE AUDIOVOX IS THE ON TO GET I HAVE IT WITH THE VIRGIN MOBILE SERVICE AND I LOVE IT THERE ARE A LOT OF GOOD THINGS ABOUT IT LIKE THR SPEAKER PHONE GREAT IF YOU NEED TO DO STUFF WELL YOU ARE TALKING ALSO THE SCREEN HAS DIFFERENT COLOR BACKLIGHTS WHICH YOU CAN CHOSE FROM AND THE EXTERNAL CALLER ID IS A VERY NICE FEATURE IT TELLS YOU THE TIME,DATE,BATTERY LIFEAND SINGAL STATUS. BUT THERE ARE ALSO SOME BAD THINGS LIKE THE BATTERY LIFE IS NOT THAT GOOD I HAD THE PHONE FOR 2 YEARS AND I JUST BOUGHT A NEXTEL I730 AND THE BATTER LIFE IS NOT ANY BETTER. ALSO THE RINGTONES ARE CRAPY BUT IT IS A LOT BETTER IF YOU DOWNLOAD SOME RINGTONES.AND ALSO THE PHONE DOES CHIP EASLY. BUT OVER ALL IT IS A GOOD PHONE DONT FORGET IT IS A CHEEP PHONE ONLY $70.00 BUT I LOVE IT NONE OF THE LESS AND IF ANYONE ASKED ME WHICH PRE PAID PHONE TO GET I WOULD SAY THE AUDIOVOX 8500 WHICH IS OFFERED BY VIRGIN MOBILE, METRO PCS AND LIBERTY WIRELESS

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Audiovox 8500

 

Jul 30, 2004 by neverknew

I've had this phone for about 8mths now and I do believe that it has done its time. When I first received the phone I was excited about it speaker phone option which I used often and the voice services were wonderful. I also liked the text messaging capabilities and the polyphonic ring tones were just what the doctor ordered so to speak. I never had a dropped call and many times I would have service when most people around me did not.
Within the last two months the phones creaks when I open it and use the menu option button and sometimes said buttons chose not to respond no matter how hard or how many times I push them. I am dropping calls left and right and the signal choses to come in and out as it feels. The vibrate is not even a light tickle anymore is just a slightly audible hum and I find that talk time has decreased to about 60 mins.
Summation?...This phone does not stand the test of time and will not last. It is a pity because I got so comfortable with it and now I have to switch. I cannot afford to buy a new phone every eight months.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


this phone makes me bored..

 

Feb 13, 2004 by chino

sometimes i dont understand how people just assume that if the phone is a flip phone, it must be the coolest thing in the world. this flip phone will give you nothing but problems. the chipset in the phone is not the greatest and you will probably need to send your phone off for repairs once you get it. the animations are soooo annoying. the ringtones on this phone are not that good either. the saving grace on this phone may be the fact that its an audiovox phone and audiovox is pretty good on repairing and servicing their phones. also this phone has a speakerphone but its not that great of quality. also its kinda cool that the backlight under the keypad is blue. otherwise thats probably about it. i wouldnt recommend this phone at all.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Good Phone

 

Nov 22, 2003 by Edgar Argueta

I have had this phone for about a week now and so far it is a excellent phone. I especially like how u can pic a different color on your screen. The menus are easy to browse through. and much,much more. Overall i think that this is a great phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Phone, Hardly Any Setbacks

 

Jun 16, 2003 by RedmoonMidnight

This is the best phone in the entire world for a teenager. I got mine with Virgin Mobile and the coverage is great, the VirginXtras are fun, customer service is the best, the phone is compact and stylish, battery life is great, 7 different backlights, outside and inside LCD.

Greats>>
~7 Backlight Colors (White, Green, Deep Green, Blue, Yellow, Purple). Also "automatic" which automatically changes the color after every opening, closing, or configuring of the phone.
~Great Battery Life
~Voice Services are astounding
~Easy to use keypad
~PIM, Stopwatch, Calculator, World Clock
~Low Rates
~Good reception

Not So Greats>>
~Not so weak but not so strong vibrate.
~Animations are primitive and/or annoying
~VMobile charges you for calls when no one answers or the VoiceMail picks! (AT&T doesn't)

Well the Greats override the Not So Greats and I wouldn't trade this phone in for a flip phone with a camera and a color screen (unless it's offered by VMobile).

Buy it! Love it! Cherish it! It's worth it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Decent Phone So Far (Still New)

 

Mar 9, 2003 by Kurt Landis

I think overall this is a great little phone. I work for a cellular company in the Midwest and we have always had good luck with the Audiovox name. Like the editor stated there are goods and bads about this phone.

Pro's:

LCD Screens:

The external LCD screen shows service level, roaming indicators, voicemail/textmessage indicators, battery life, date/time, and caller id/name). The internal LCD screen also displays a large amount of text for it's size, and both screens can be customized with different background colors.

Size:

The size of the phone is comparable to most of the small flip phones, such as the V60

Features:

This phone is packed full of features, such as voice activated dialing including the ability to speak a specific phone # and have it dial it, the speakerphone works well in non-noisy areas, and there are a lot of ringers to choose from.

Price:

The price at least from our cell phone company is better than most of the other flip phones that we sell.

Contents In the Box:

The nice thing about this phone is that it does come with a clip to use with the phone, which works well. It also comes with a strap if you would prefer to use that, and it comes with a desktop charging stand so that the caller id screen can be viewed and the phone can be quickly grabbed.

CONS:

Ringers:

Although there are 50 ringers total, the phone lacks any normal ringers, and the 10 standard non-song ringers are annoying.

Range:

I don't feel that the range is as good as some of the other phones out there, especially compared to other branded phones such as the Motorola V60.

Sound Quality:

All phones voice quality are not created equal. This phone rates average in compared to other phones I've used. It doesn't sound artificial, but it also isn't nearly as real sounding as compared again to the Motorola V60

Overall I do like the phone. It has a lot of customizable features, and is priced right for the consumer.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very Nice, Easy-to-Use Phone

 

Dec 9, 2004 by sms81

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 34

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1