Phone Scoop

printed November 20, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=158&s=h&p=6

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SPH-A500

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  2  

Average Ratings

3.45
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 12345 6 7

Great Phone! (A500)

 

Feb 10, 2003 by john walker

I've had the A500 for one week now. I love it!! Color is great, and so is surfing the web with Vision. I have only one concern (question); the phone heats up during use. Is there any way to correct this heating situation. It has the standard battery.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone is great for ANYONE

 

Feb 9, 2003 by Nick Phillips

I got this phone for Christmas. So far, it has had only one dropped call. Also, one time it would not let me make a call. However, that was not really a problem. It took me about ten minutes to learn how to do everything. I would say 99% of the time, there has been no problem with signal strength on the nationwide plan. I also have had no problems with the internet usage. Overall, an EXCELLENT phone. [...]

Ed. note: contact info removed

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Samsung A500

 

Nov 15, 2002 by Mark Donatelli

I'm trying out the A-500 for the second time after trying out all the other SPRINT phones now available (except the HITACHI 300 and SANYO 5350).
PROS of this phone are a bright clear display, plenty of volume and the best web browser yet. CONS are that the phone does tend to get a little hot after 10 minutes or so, and you get a squelchy noise on some long distance conversations (a SPRINT problem, I think, not the phone).
This phone is much better than the SAMSUNG 400 or the SPRINT LG. The SANYO 4900 is a great phone except that the web browser is soooooo slow compared to the A-500.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A500 looses out over the LG5350

 

Nov 14, 2002 by MuncleJim

Got rid of my A500 after only 2-days and went with the LG5350 -- a much better value and design.

A500 PROS:

- great color
- sleek design & form factor

A500 CONS:

- poor navigation "system" that is not even close to being intuitive
- horribly cheap AC charger that readily un plugs from the phone.
- too sensitive when in low signal areas -- constant movement of signal indicator from 1 bar, to 3 or 4 bars, to 0 bars (the 5350 keeps a much more steady signal in these situations).
- way over-priced
- don't even think of going with the camera accessory -- it's features/quality/integration are a joke!

Having owned both phones, the 5350 is bar far he better value. It has a few quirks, too, but is priced accordingly ($49 on Amazon right now!)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone......horrible service

 

Nov 1, 2002 by Stephen Pike

Give the phone great marks except for the battery life. Sprint has been horrible with their service, it took 30 hours of being on hold and discussing the connection issues with a slurry of Sprint reps. Love the camera but sprint third-party camera vendor does not work.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LG and Samsung

 

Nov 18, 2002 by Brandon Brunti

While this phone has not yet arrived in Canada, a friend of mine working for Bell Mobility has tested the phone and told me of its quality, and has allowed me to play with the "secret" one they have in store as a demo, which is also connected and allowed me to place calls to survey the phone.

I have been a supporter of Motorola since I first had a cell phone (except for the CanTel Amigo days, ha!), and My most recent phone is the Timeport P7868 flip, with the "colour" screen (well, 3 colours anyway). After about 5 months to 1 year this phone does nothing but drop calls and I need to dial several times in full reception areas to sometimes place a call. Sine Motorola has let me down I plan on giving Samsung a shot since all my friends who own Samsung phones rave about them.

By the way, for all you people posting LG vs. Samsung - guess what? LG and Samsung are the same company, so they are making money on whatever phone you buy! They simply provide different types of phones for different niche markets, but the components within all their electronics are the same, therefore so should reception.

Hopefully by the time this phone hits Canadian shelves they will have ironed out all the wrinkles everyone talks about, like overheating, bad camera etc. I'm glad I'm not the guinea pig!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A500

 

Nov 7, 2002 by Kathleen Collado

This phone is great if all you need it to do is make a phone call, but since I bought the phone for other features that still don't work right I am a little disappointed. They still haven't gotten all the kinks out of this model yet. I understand they will be coming out with a new model soon, don't you think they should work out the problems first. After I purchased all the different ring-tones, screen-savers and games I wanted, I still after about 3weeks or better still can't get to my vault either on my phone or computer. This does get a little frustrating. I did notice the big price drop in this phone. I thought this drop came rather quickly, if I knew it was going to drop so quickly I would have waited, at least then I wouldn't feel so bad spending less money and it not working right. $300 is a lot of money for something that does not work right.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


TURN OFF GPS SAVE BATTERY LIFE!!!!!!!

 

Sep 27, 2002 by Brian Cavallo

One big hint - go into settings, then location, and turn it off. This will increase battery life SUBSTANTIALLY!!!! I'm biased (I work for Sprint) but this is definitely the most eye candy design on the cell phone market right now. The screen is unbelievable - ultra bright and sharp. Feel free to email me with any sprint phone related questions. No billing qestions though. :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Amazing phone!!!

 

Aug 18, 2002 by Yi Chen

I got this phone a coupla nights ago. AMAZING!!! That's all I can say. The digital dial is awesome, makes up for the limited 10 voice dial you can have. The screen is AWESOME, haven't seen a single phone with a better looking screen. The design speaks for itself, I mean the thing looks sooooo futuristic. Samsung even gives you a FREE battery if you purchase it before Feb. 2003, how sweet is that?!?!?!?! The menu is also very beautiful, I mean you get a different background for ever single month on the calender. The reception is very good where I live (MD), most of the people that I call think I'm on a land-line phone, it's that clear!!! So def. get this phone, it's AWESOME!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SUNGA500

 

Mar 1, 2003 by ROY STRONG

Its a great phone and very user friendly despite sprint psc's poor control over the technology.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12345 6 7

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.