Phone Scoop

printed November 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=158&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SPH-A500

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  2  

Average Ratings

3.45
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34567

Holy golly gee Jeepers!!!

 

Jan 11, 2003 by Shane Gentry

Hey yo, this phone is what you call a phenomenon.....I love this phone!!! If you this phone was liquer, it would be Grande Marnier! And boy am I drunk with love for this fine piece of gadgetry.....Every time I hear those awesome ring tones, I get goosebumps the size of freakin golf balls!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone is insane!!!

 

Aug 13, 2002 by Patrick Freitas

This is finally the Next Generation in Mobile Communication. The A500 is light years ahead of any phone on the US Market (including the nokia 9290) Vivid Full color screen and dynamite animations. Everything makes sense on this phone and is laid out perfectly. I've upgraded from the Sanyo 5150 which until this phone had the coolest features around. I still think the 5150 is the best choice for Sprint users not wanting to upgrade to PCS Vision. The only knock on this phone is not the phone. It's with Sprint PCS itself. They are trying to support all of these features with the consumers money which makes sense but they are really sticking it to us....but if you're like me and you've got to have IT!!!.....this is the phone you should choose and never look book. At $300 it is the best bargain out there.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Not recommended

 

Jun 3, 2003 by RingLeader

I had this phone (and camera) for 3 months before buying the Sanyo 5300 the day it arrived in the store (the day before it was released). The only things it has that the Sanyo's do not are:
1) Voice Command - Slower than keyed shortcuts, so not a big deal, in my opinion
2) The ability to assign ringtones to alarms. However, since you can't program weekly or monthly recurring alarms, it has a greater shortcoming.
3) Attractive design - though I place function above form, it would be nice to have Sanyo quality in the Samsung package.

Downsides to owning this phone are lack of support for CMX ringers, which Sanyo readily supports, the lack of recurring alarm options, and a very poor quality camera, compared to others with built-in cameras. Even Sanyo's 8100 is better, and is at least $100 less expensive.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A500

 

Apr 30, 2003 by Takuma Suga

I think this phone is really good because of the over all quality. I has very good color and it has 16 polyphonic but it sounds the best. This phone is so much better than the Nokia 7210, the Sony t300 the samsung n400 because it is .

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


It's good, but...

 

Mar 4, 2003 by DJVinny10

When the Samsung A500 came out, it was by far the sleekest looking phone out there. Feature wise, it was great. The screen looks awesome and the OS is so easy to use. The extended battery for this phone makes it seem like you never have to charge the phone for like one week, and I use 750 minutes a month. Here are the downside...
1) You can not open the phone with one hand. There is no crease to use to open up. Most other cell phones you can open with one hand. This one, you have to master it yourself.
2) For a 3G phone, the only way to put pictures on it is to download from Sprint's website or by the camera. You can not e-mail a picture to your phone.
3) Memory. It could be a greater.
4) Ringer Volume. Not as high as you would like it to be.

I would recommend if you have the money to spare but I do not think worth the price.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


a500

 

Dec 27, 2002 by Roger Ridge

This phone has provided me with new learning experiences daily. I keep finding things I can do with it. As far as reception, I have no problems, I do not get out of range. I am looking forward though to the next generation of phones, my wife will inherit this very capable phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best phone ever, but....

 

Aug 14, 2002 by Matt Maliszewski

The a500 is the best phone that i have ever had, and I say this after one day of use. The graphics obviously blow away everything else on the market. It is sleek, small and stylish, buttons could be a little bit easier to use. Problems: 1. Battery(First day of use, mind you) definently not 2.5 hours 2. I might have not found it yet but can't find how many minutes used, ala like other phones. But besides that phone is great and I haven't even used the pcs vision part of the phone yet either. Great phone recommend it to all pcs users and I know it steep but for high user of day time users 2000m and above they have some good introductory rates that will lower your bill by a couple of bucks.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SAMSUNG A500

 

Aug 14, 2002 by Cain Medina

I give this phone an A+++++. I replaced my A460 with this phone, and it works awesome. This color display just blows the older phones out of the water. I was really amazed with the features of he phone. The one thing that I really liked was the ability to take pictures with it, of course you must buy an external attachment, but to be able to do it is amazing. Great phone, I highly recommend it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung a500

 

Aug 28, 2002 by Phil Suh

I originally had sanyo 5150, and then i switched to samsung a500. Samsung is only better then Sanyo in 2 ways. 1. LCD color and brightness 2. Much louder volume and ringer. Everything else sanyo outperforms, such as option, screen calls, battery life, lcd is bigger, and definately storage space. Samsung only has 500k of total storage space, on the other hand Sanyo has separate storage space for each catagories, like picture id, screensaver, and ringer. I hope samsung had more storage space, cuz im really running low, i had to erase like 2 of my games to download some pictures

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT phone, but why, oh why, does it have to be with Sprint?

 

Aug 16, 2002 by aok

After working with Sprint for 2 days to switch out my old handset to this one, I must say it was worth the hassle. Of course they haven't upgraded my plan to include the "vision service," which they made me sign up for, but I am using the phone fine on old plan. It just baffles me as to who these people are they have working for them, and what kind of training they go through (or don't go through as the case may be)! I was told that this phone COULD NOT be activated on the old plan, and I would need to choose a new plan, so I did, but now they haven't switched me over and the phone IS working on my regular Free & Clear plan. Ack! The phone itself is awesome...color, layout, features...just awesome. And compared to my old handset, the reception just blows it away. No static, and not even a dropped call yet.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 34567

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1