Phone Scoop

printed July 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1565&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Adventure V750

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.54
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 12 3 

Good Phone to Have

 

Nov 6, 2009 by davinny

I had this phone before I got my Blackberry storm that I have now. And while I had the adventure I was in love. The adventure had good sharp looks, plus good battery life. It was that phone you used until there wasn't nothing left to it. But the web browser could have been a little better than it was; that and the back to the phone that you take out to get to the battery wasn't great by far. but as long as you didn't drop it you were good.

Pros: Good phone, nice and slick, plus durable.

Cons: Back of the phone can come off if not put on all the way.

But that is the only thing that I found wrong with the phone while I had it. Best of luck on the new phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very Disappointed

 

Jun 9, 2009 by mightymulhern

When I bought this, I was looking for a phone with a speaker phone and a camera that could take a reasonable picture of my baby girl. Initially I was pleased. The V750 has a speaker phone and takes pretty good pictures for a phone. My cell reception however didn't improve over my old Samsung SCH-A10 which was something I had hoped for.

The first thing I noticed when I started carrying it was that every time I took it out of my pocket, it was in music player mode. I put one MP3 on it to test it, and quickly erased it off after pulling it out of my pocket a few times to see the song playing. That's a great way to waste a battery and the music player cannot be turned off via the phone menu options. It's literally as if the player is a completely separate device activated by a push button on the side.

My second complaint is that you cannot get your pictures off of it with a USB cable. You can't do it with the Motorola drivers or with Motorola Phone Tools despite Motorola instructions suggesting that it can be done. Had I known that going in, I wouldn't have bought this phone. I'm extremely angry after wasting $40 on phone tools and several hours messing with the supposed USB drivers. My next step is to buy a memory card reader because I'm certainly not going to pay Verizon to send picture messages to my email account.

My third complaint is that the battery cover is a very cheap flimsy piece of plastic. It's borderline laughable and would most likely fly off if you dropped the phone.

The bottom line on this phone is that everything works but appears to have been implemented so poorly that I can give an overall rating over 2 stars. I mean come on... I can get MP3s on and off the phone with a USB cable. Why not my pictures? ...and why can't I turn the MP3 player off so it doesn't launch in my pocket? My "real" MP3 player even does that. I'm very disgusted by the lack of thought that went into the design of this device.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Excellent Verizon phone

 

Sep 9, 2008 by dscottpete

I've had the Motorola V750 for 3 weeks now, and overall it's a keeper. Reception is very good, our house is in a marginal signal zone and I've yet to have a dropped call. The reception is every bit as good as my Motorola E815, a phone known for good reception.
Battery life is turning out to be very good though initially I was concerned. After the first charge the V750 only went for 2 days of moderate use before requiring a recharge, and I was concerned the battery life would be an issue. After the next charge I got 4 days of use, and mostly recently I still had 3 bars of battery life left after 6 days. Perhaps the battery is getting conditioned, but what ever the reason I'd now rate the battery life as excellent.
Some folks have mentioned the seemingly flimsy back cover. It does seem flimsy, until you actually place it on the phone, at which point it fits nice and tight (if you do it right you won't see the gaps noted by one of the other reviewers). The back is also nicely textured which helps when holding the phone, and also keeps it from sliding out of a shirt pocket.
The keypad is very good, the keys are nicely spaced and raised so that they're easy to find. The music player works as advertised. Haven't tried the PTT.
The only negative is the size. I bought the phone sight unseen and had expected something a bit thinner. This is no razor, but I certainly wouldn't call it bulky either.

Overall an excellent choice.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best PTT Verizon Phone to Date

 

Sep 8, 2008 by mdprotector

This is the best PTT Verizon phone to date. Unlike jcanning who is on a personal crusade to keep anyone from buying this phone after his one day of experience with it, I will give an honest long term review.

The phone has bright clear screens both main and front. The phone comes with the screen brightness set at 3 out of 5. Obviously setting the screen to 5 makes it jump out at you with brightness and clarity. I have not noticed a difference in battery life with the screen set to the 5.

The PTT feature works tons better better than the first generation. The speaker on the phone is loud and clear for both the music player and the phone. Battery life is great and the signal strength is awesome.

This is definately a step in the right direction for Verizon in the PTT arena. The phone is highly recommended

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not bad, Could be better

 

Jul 31, 2008 by GBC

I've been using for a week and half now. I will not repeat all thats been said but some comments.
Being Light doesn't mean cheap.
Battery cover design is fine. When phones are tested to Mil-Std-810, the battery cover is ALWAYS an issue. It almost ALWAYS comes off and breaks in the drop test. This design combats that problem. I like the cover design, again, thin and flexible doesn't always equal cheap. As far as not fitting, this is not true, Their are two lower side tabs that must be snapped in along with the top latch. If you don't, the appearance is its not fitting correctly.

My biggest problem with the phone to date is very poor battery life. Other than that, the phone is a great first attempt at a iDEN "Like" phone. Whats really needed is a Verizon version of the Sprint Moto V950.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Motorola V750

 

Aug 26, 2008 by mrtasle

Don't buy this phone. The covering and the hinge feel cheap and it felt like it would break. It is a very slow phone. Returned mine the day I got it in the mail. It didn't take too long to see the flaws

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Motorola Adventurer v750 - Cheap piece of junk

 

Jul 30, 2008 by jcanning

Don’t buy this phone before you read a few reviews. First thing off, as I take the phone out of the box is that it is extremely light. I don’t mind plastic so long as the phone is made well. In this case its not. I have a 2 year old Motorola v3, its about 2 or 3 ounces heavier and made a lot more sturdy.The flip swivel part of the phone is made of plastic and nowhere near as strong as my old v3. The v3 is flip swivel is made of metal; the v750 is made of plastic. In fact it has the feel of a cheap piece of plastic that would probably break the first time you drop the phone with it open. Second the back plate that covers the battery is another flimsy piece of plastic that doesn’t even fit right. You set the plate onto the back of the unit and there are gaping spaces along the sides that give little or no protection for the battery. Third the battery cover plate itself easily falls off. Yes the mini-sd is a little more accessible. But a lot of good it does you when you lose the back plate because it’s made like junk.Fourth if you look at the picture of the unit you’ll notice the plastic covers for the data port and the headset earpiece.. Once again no QA in on this cause when you plug in the battery charger, the plastic piece is stretched to the limit and I guarantee that it will probably break in the first week of charging. Even a rubberized cover would have been better. Fifth, the data port connection is new. Go ahead and throw away all your old chargers and usb adapters because they won’t work. To summarize; This phone should not be called ruggedized or even adventurer. More like “rip off” or a “toy for a 4 year old”. I used to think Motorola made good phones, but after getting this phone I am returning it right away as I can tell, it is nowhere as good as my two year old v3.I am extremely disappointed in Motorola for putting out such a sub standard phone with a high standard price.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Flimsy

 

Aug 8, 2008 by b1pw128

I bought a 750 on Saturday and by Wednesday it was trash. Back to the 815 which has been operating flawlessly for three years.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 12 3 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1