Phone Scoop

printed October 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1535&r=38436

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola W260g

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  2  

Average Ratings

4
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

The Family phone

 

Jun 30, 2010 by lancearmy

Never have had any type of problems with this phone. In fact this phone works so incredibly well that I went out and bought my wife one. With both of us using Tracfone our family is really saving alot of money nowadays.

I also travel alot and it is important to note that this phone works every where that I go.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Poor reception!

 

Dec 23, 2009 by MountainMike

I had this phone, the TRACFONE neutered version, and the ability to pull in the AT&T signal from 10+ miles away was poorer than the C-139 and V-170 phones I still have. I hated the C-139, 'cause it would make calls while in the pocket of my Levis! It has an unprotected keypad, of course. The V-170 and W-260g are both clamshell (flip) phones by Motorola.

The sound quality on receive - I am in a fringe area - was poor. Could be the AT&T network, too! They try to put too many people on one "channel" - GSM technology is not the best in a fringe area.

Pros: nicer ringtones (polyphonic).
a nicer design for pocket carry.
okay battery life.

Cons: the phone I had was deaf!
poor sound quality on my end (AT&T).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Good basic phone, but no ringtone selection

 

May 2, 2009 by cat54mom

After 3 weeks of casual use, this seems like a good basic phone for the price, especially if you get it in the "bonus pack" with a car charger, simple case, earphone, and double Tracfone minutes for the life of the phone. I am not a heavy phone user, but I keep the cell phone on during the day time. Battery life seems to be good, and I have noticed no problems with sound quality. It has adjustable settings for both a loud or soft ring tone in addition to vibrate, and maximum volume of ring tones is fairly loud. I don't text, so I can't comment on that.

The main problem I had with it is that the instructions in the manual for selecting a different ring-tone were poor. Neither I nor a friend could figure out how to get to the advertised 35 pre-loaded ring-tones, although both of us have owned cell phones before. After several failed attempts to help me, Tracfone's customer service (both a rep and his supervisor) said the phone didn't have different ring-tones, and claimed that the phone had not been advertised that way, although it is listed as one of the features for this phone on their website. When I called back today, another technical rep tried to help me, and finally after several unsuccessful attempts and conferences with her supervisor, it worked, and the ring-tones were displayed for me to select from. So now I am pleased with the phone, although it would have helped if the first Tracfone representative had been better informed about setting the ring-tones.

(If you have a problem with the ring-tones, here is what you do:
from main menu select Ring Styles -> Style -> Loud Ring -> Select.
The phone will display "changed style", then return to Ring Styles with "Loud Ring Detail" on 2nd line.
Select Loud Ring Detail -> Alarms, and an "Alarms" menu will be displayed, beginning with "Silent". If you continue to scroll down, you can see (and hear) the ring-tones. Repeat process for "Soft ring". Seems straight-forward, so don't know why I couldn't get it to work with many previous tries.)

Ed. note: edited at author's request

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Ok

 

Jan 26, 2010 by narn3049

I got this phone to change from the horrible w175g. I've moved onto verizon but thought I'd get one for backup, since I tabogganed and i was scared to take my intensity if I ever did again, so just in case.

Keys are easy to use
Illuminated front indication lights that I love
Big keys.

Bottom line- it's basic, and it's supposed to be- it's a 19.99 phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good simple phone

 

Aug 24, 2009 by Cha7520

This phone is good if you want a simple and durable phone.

PRO- Nice slim look, good battery life, numbers light up.

Cons- I didn't like the flat panel for the number pad, there is not volume rocker on the side.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Initially for 2 reasons

 

Nov 29, 2010 by Sailingseasofcheese

I got my daughter this phone a year ago, with two things in mind; it looked attractive (well I think so), and it is a flip phone. But seeing that it's now time for the annual upgrade, I thought I'd put this phone to rest in the drawer. And it almost came to that as well, but for the thought that came to me, that this is actually a brilliant phone for a senior person. The buttons for example, are huge. Which is possibly a contributing factor to my daughter's affinity for texting. The screen is bright, and sharp. It could possibly be bigger, but I think it's big enough. It also has very loud ring tones. The only issue I have with this phone is that it runs on the GSM network, which is fine if you stay in town. But if you're going away for the holiday, you'd better hope to get lucky.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Putting the phone to rest

 

Oct 28, 2010 by Graniteroll

I've had this phone for more than a year now, and it's high time I put it to rest. A year worth of service I've eked out of a reasonably cheap phone, and at the time, quite attractive. A year however has gone past, and I don't quite feel the same enthusiasm for the phone as I did then. Possibly because I've also gotten so used to it.
Firstly I'd like to congratulate the little phone for actually surviving a year with me. That makes it very durable. Especially since it's a flip phone, and I initially had my reservations about that. But it's held it's own.
The reason I chose the flip-style in the first place, was because I was tired of having my previous candy bar phone being activated in my pocket. And I like the lights on the outside panel.
The battery life was good for throughout the term. I can still get four days of work out of it no problem.
I never had any real problems with reception in the city. Once, or twice when going to the country I dropped calls. But not to the extent that I'd get too upset by it. The talking, or voice quality on the phone isn't good. Which surprised me,this phone being really basic, and only really having two main functions -talking and texting.
The texting is also not really that great. I'm not an itap fan to start with, but the buttons are difficult to discern using your fingers alone.
I used the calculator once or twice, and the ring tones aren't that bad. Or at least using them for the alarm clock work really well for me.
It's a very basic, nice phone. My next tracfone must definitely have better voice talking quality. And hopefully be as durable as this one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone with a great carrier

 

Sep 30, 2010 by homerunfun0

This phone is heavenly and so is the service. I never have dropped calls with this phone nor do i intend upon having any. Tracfone offers wonderful minute rates and this phone certainly delivers above the competition.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great buy

 

Sep 1, 2010 by crunch09

Great phone, Tracfone did it again. Not only are the rates way affordable the service is way good!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


killer phone

 

Jul 31, 2010 by ClintYoung

This tracfone is the best one they make.

I would recomend it to everyone.

cheap phone with impeccable reception.

I do not lie.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1