Phone Scoop

printed April 19, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1505

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo PRO-700

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  26  

Average Ratings

3.73
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

great, rugged DCS work phone

 

Mar 13, 2009 by trojandrew

boggles my mind why people BUY a phone without a camera then complain there is no camera... did you not realize that until after your 30 day trial?

Ok enough reviewing reviewers. What this phone does it does well. I rock this as my PTT demo with my Curve being my personal phone. I love it's slim size, crazy fast net, and rugged design. If you're looking for *any* Sanyo with a bunch of features, you're barking up the wrong manufacturer; they're all about function and durability.

Pros-
-Just looks cool, love the rubberized and metal exterior.
-Crazy fast net. Of course it's watered down mobile net but Rev A + mobile net = stupid fast.
-DC. It's a DC phone people... **DC**
-Have I mentioned I like the way it looks
-Evangeline Lily's character Kate used it on an episode of Lost... =)

Cons
-Sure fine I'll put 'no camera'. It's the one thing that could make a great, rugged DCS work phone a perfect one.
-hey i'm spoiled by qwerty

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


No Camera....No Problem

 

Dec 4, 2008 by jhenk17

Yeah I know....it doesn't have a camera.

Some places I do business won't allow my phone in the building if it has a camera.

I bought this phone for two reasons:

1) It's a Sanyo...nobody make better cell phones....period.

2) No camera. Finding one without is getting real tough these days.

Phone has excellent reception and battery life. As advertised, it's proven to be quite durable (slipped out of my pocket atop a 10 ft. ladder...no worse for wear).

If you want a tough phone that does things a phone is supposed to do well, this is your next phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


pro 700 not the best

 

Sep 17, 2008 by shy5363

Let me start by saying this phone is a good phone, but if you want to use your blue-tooth it works when it wants to. This is the second time I've had to exchange my unit! I was informed by sprint that it was a hardware issue!!! this is the third hardware issue, as for the other features it has been great a very fast phone but if you are looking for blue-tooth (keep your wired headset)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


sweet fast phone everything ota

 

Jul 16, 2008 by benmalinois

this phone rocks just for the actual fact that , everything on the phone is ota , there is no room for errors,. all and any updates done on the phone is done fast, and easy...great job!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very fast, well done Mil-Spec Q-Chatter!

 

Jun 17, 2008 by erikclarke

This phone doesn't try to be all things to all people. It does succeed very well at communication with the Nextel universe as well as at several other bonus features that are not immediately apparent. It is very loud (ringers and speakerphone.) It has built-in TeleNav and a fine e-mail applications for users of Yahoo, G-mail, AIM, etc. It recognizes D.C. numbers, even when transferred by a (non-Nextel) Blackberry during the Sprint number transfer process, identifying the numbers as D.C. capable. The Q-Chat DC number is your telephone number in xxx*yyy*zzzz, with xxx = area code, yyy = prefix and zzzz = last four digits. Okay, how does it Q-Chat vs. standard Nextel. As far as I can tell in NYC the Q-Chat is at least as fast as Nextel standard DC communication, if not faster. Connections are instantaneous and transmissions are clearly received and transmitted. Obviously, without a camera, photo ID shots must be e-mailed to the phone, but that process was painless and the pictures rendered well on the fine internal screen. The narrow size and rubberized skin make the phone quite elegant on the waist in the holster that is delivered in the box for "face-in" carrying. Quite a pleasing mobile Q-Chat phone with a rock solid, rugged build.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Start To the iden CDMA Transition

 

Sep 14, 2008 by Bogger44fl

Pros
Rugged
Extra roaming coverage with the CDMA 850 which the hybrid phones don't have
I can have my emails forwarded to phone
Great Reception
Loud Speaker and ringers just like most nextels
Great Sprint Nav.
CLEAR AND EASY TO READ DISPLAYS IN AND OUT!
Able to use phone number as direct connect number ex. 386*555*5555
Awesone internet...Fast

Cons
Direct connect a little bugsy sometimes but it is new

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Phone

 

Jul 29, 2008 by KennyJ19

Well i have had this phone for about a week now and so fare i really like it, i went into a store to change from Iden to Qchat and the store told me that i could not keep my same DC# and they took it off and mad it my phone number so when i left the store i called CS and they changed it back to my old DC# and for a few days it did not work right but now it is working fine and i think it is faster then Iden. i wish the coverage was better but were i use the DC its just fine. the Speaker on the phone is very very loud.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Phone

 

Nov 2, 2010 by sacornel

I give this a 4.5 only because it doesn't have a camera. It seems that's a feature most people want. The phone has excellent reception and speaker quality. Speaker phone is probably the best on the planet. Easy to hold in your hand and it won't slip out because of its rubberized construction. It's hard to get out of your pocket though. I've had this phone for 3 years and had to exchange it once because charger connection went out. Other than that, this is the best phone I've ever had.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


You have to be kidding me !

 

Sep 22, 2008 by retrobeast

No Camera???
Way to ruin a perfectly good phone. I do not use the camera that much but there are times it does come in handy.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Jul 25, 2008 by MJBartanis

Fantastic phone in terms of quality durability, signal strength, reception, and all the things you want from a phone, not a toy. Solid look and feel is a plus...I don't feel like I'm going to drop this thing, but if I did it feels like it would survive.

Overall, A great device from Sanyo. I will not be using the DC function (at least not initially) but the demo at the store was amazing. I think Sprint has successfully bridged the iDEN/CDMA gap with this quality device.

I was using a Treo before this for phone and everything else a PDA does but decided to go back to two devices. Work can pay for my toy (PDA) but this is my primary phone and I'm glad I picked it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1