Phone Scoop

printed April 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1482&r=29920

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 6301 / 6300i

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  4  

Average Ratings

4.05
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

not good

 

Aug 25, 2008 by angelzrage

pros? nokia. cons, jumps off uma quickly regardless how far or close i am to the router(tmo. branded)battery is horrible. and connectting to uma shouldnt kill the battery quicker.my nokia 6086 has no problems at all.uma perfect,sound,perfect.i think this is maybe the worse nokia ive ever had.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


T-mobile reps.

 

Aug 25, 2008 by Cincybell

Pretty slick phone...

But T-mobile Reps

When is the skins coming out for these things, any word on them.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Finally! A T-mobile Nokia!!

 

Aug 4, 2008 by sikiguya

I have been waiting for this phone for quite some time! When I started with T-mobile...then Voicestream. I remember getting a really nice little Nokia that I loved. Yes, quit bitching about the buttons. This is designed as a small phone..a micro phone. If you want a big button phone..go find a brick phone..they are still around. Very elegant phone and finally a bar phone that I can take to a meeting and set down.

Let's first talk about the major thing about this phone. Battery. I did what someone suggested...turn off the WIFI. It did increase the battery usage. Frankly, it is still a bit less than the last 3 Motorola I have had. It is still fine. Given all the extra charger you can have, ie car, extra travel charger, etc...this is more than adequate.

Nokia suite is awesome. It is a little slower than the Motorola software. But it is great. It even imported photos I had in Outlook.

The phone is very different than Motorola. If you are looking for some similarity, you will find it. However, Nokia carries a flair that Motorola just lack.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Comes up short

 

Aug 1, 2008 by ithc1

Received the 6301 three days ago and right out of the box came the first problem. Battery cover does not fit flush and was very loose, came off and dropped while making calls. Desk top charger stand could not be used unless the battery cover is removed due to the cover not fitting flush also provides sharp edges to snare your clothing or scratch hands. Nokia quality construction????Received a replacement thinking it was one of a kind and the second was just the same as the first.

Pro-Very good screen graphics
Good reception
Good call volume in ear piece
Easy to use menus
Wi-Fi sets up easily and seems to work well

Cons-Very very poor battery life
Speaker phone has very poor volume
Very poor ringer volume
Poor fit of battery cover
Key pad is very small and is VERY difficult to use without hitting wrong keys
The Navigation key does not respond at times to just one push, must push it two or three times
Sharp edges on bottom of battery cover
Has ringing or tinny sound on some calls.
Phone echoes back on some calls to T-Mobile

Not happy with it. Going to send it back.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice phone

 

Jul 30, 2008 by renejreyes1

Overall the 6301 is a nice phone. I haven't had the battery issues that others have had and I am a talker.

Pros:
-Interface
-Wifi
-2.0 mega camera
-Music player
-FM radio works great
-Predictive Texting Remembers what you use a lot
-Nice screen
-Reception
-Feels solid and has metal battery cover
-IM pretty simple to do

Cons:
-Cannot customize all of the shortcut buttons
-Have to unlock every time or the battery will die fast like any other candy bar

The reason why I gave it a 4.0 instead of a 4.5 is because I had to exchange mine because the buttons back light was not working.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Loveit Love it!!

 

Jul 27, 2008 by emmy275

I love this phone!! I got it in a hurry one day because my old old phone finally died. Having not bought a new phone in a few years I was little behind in knowing what was available now. I stumbled across this phone with some help from my T-Mobile rep and she was absolutely right!! This phone is wonderful. The size and features are great.

I would recommend this phone to anyone everyone!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


How to fix poor battery issue

 

Jul 16, 2008 by djraffi

I have to agree with most of these posts, this is truely an excellent phone, with one con...BATTERY LIFE. I do have somewhat of a fix for this issue. For those of you who are out and about, who do not need wifi connectivity, go to the wifi menu an turn off the wifi radio. This will almost double your battery life since the phone isn't constantly searching for wifi signal. For those of you who have an issue connecting to wifi altogether, try the T-Mobile branded Linksys router, it makes a huge difference in the quality of your connection since it prioritizes voice over data. Let me know what you think!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Still A Bit Buggy But Feels Nice In The Hand

 

Jul 15, 2008 by tzsm98

The look and feel of the 6301 is right. It's well balanced. There's a certain "just right" texture to the keys that tells you someone put a good deal of thought into how a key should feel. The physical aspects of this handset are there.

The looks are there as well. The four buttons flanking the navigation keys are simply elegant and beautiful. Very understated, very functional and intuitive.

When using the keys or looking at the bright and crisp screen everything is exactly the way it should be. Clear unambiguous feedback from the keys lets you know what you are doing without having to look. The screen provides a good deal of information when you are looking.

If mobile handsets were simply mechanical devices or works of art this one would get a five rating and I'd go on a little bit more about how pretty it is and this review would be over. They also serve several other functions so I must continue.

I purchased this handset for its ability to make calls using the wireless router already present in my house. Although it is supposed to be a seamless transition from router to tower, and it usually is, I've noticed some quirks.

The most annoying quirk is the "it's attached to my router when I pick it up but when I hit the send button it is attached to the tower." This happens while sitting my chair 25 feet from the router. After the call connects it will hand the call off to the router.

Second most annoying quirk - I'll want to make a phone call and the phone will show I am attached to the tower. I'll browse to the WiFi menu and attempt to attach to my house router. It will tell me that no network is available. I'll attempt it again and then it will ask me if I want to disconnect from the house router first. I back out to the standby screen and make my call, usually without quirk number showing its head.

So, that's about it. I've had the handset for a week. 5 on looks; 3 on function.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


CUtE PHONE!!!

 

Jul 2, 2008 by tmophonefreak

I ORDERED THIS PHONE THE DAY IT CAME OUT AND ITZ CUTE!!!! I MEAN IT HAS EVERYTHING YOU COULD POSSIBLY ASK FOR THE CAMERA IS 2.0 WHICH IS DECENT I MEAN IT IS A NOKIA AND NOKIAS OVERALL HAVE GOOD CAMERAS. IT HAS THE FM RADIO AND THE MP3 PLAYER. GREAT RECEPTION GOOD CALL QUALITY. NOW HERE COMES THE BAD PART ITS RINGER IS REALLY LOW AND SO IS THE SPEAKERPHONE BUT THAT REALLY ISNT A PROBLEM CUZ I REALLY DONT USE THE SPEAKERPHONE! ALSO ONE REALLY STUPID THING THAT BOTHERED ME WAS THE FACT THAT THE KEYPAD WHERE THE SEND AND END KEYS ARE ARE LIKE A GLOSSY FINISH AND SO IS THE BACK OF THE PHONE WHERE THE CAMERA IS AND THE FACT THAT ITS A GLOSSY BLACK FINISH LEAVES FINGERPRINTS ALL OVER THOSE PARTS OF THE PHONE. I MEAN IT BOTHERED ME CUZ I CANT STAND TO SEE A PHONE ALL DIRTY AND FULL OF FINGERPRINTS. BUT OVERALL ITS A CUTE, SLIM AND STURDY PHONE I REALLY LIKE IT.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1