Phone Scoop

printed December 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=146

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Audiovox  ›

Audiovox Thera / Toshiba 2032

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  6  

Average Ratings

3.14
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

THERA POCKET PC

 

Oct 16, 2003 by vvante

i really thought i had a gem of a pocket pc in the toshiba 23032sp. the phone has great clarity during voice calls on the sprint pcs network. the download speed is pretty fast (56k). the screen is very bright and vibrant. i can use my pocket pc for just about anything from viewing videos, completing work documents via office, etc...

PROS
the thera has everything that my work and home computer have placed together in a smaller but very convenient package.
the extended memory is great for storing pictures and videos. i don't have any playback issues when using the memory card.
very easy to navigate through the menus.
i can download just about anything on my thera without compatibility issues.

CONS
i travel throughout the country daily and i lose coverage quite a bit while in remotely located areas (suburbs).
the thera is a bit clumbersome due t it's boxed edges vice the rounded edges that you see as the industry standard. the extended battery doubles the size of the phone.
it is quite a chore to procure accessories for the thera. i purchased a cradle and i had to wait at least two months prior to receiving it. i even went directly to the audiovox site and that was useless also.

hopefully with future improvements audiovox can improve on the thera.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Thera is a bad choice

 

Mar 13, 2003 by John Roberts

The thera is certainly a PDA with average PDA features but as a Phone it is seriously lacking. Very very short battery life ... cannot install a spare battery ... no voice directed calling ... buttons for calling are cumbersome on the screen. This is a PDA that does cell phone functions and certainly not a phone that does PDA functions.

The real technology need here must serve the priority of the user which in my case is a phone first and PDA functions second to relieve me from having to carry my laptop.

Nice try Audiovox but better make a phone that has: Transfective 65K+ Display and removable replaceable Lithium Polymer batteries (With a charger cradle that also is a PC link cradle versus only a PC link cradle that it comes with) Headset capable with voice dialing flip phone with keyboard would be nice also.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Too bad it's so bad!

 

Jul 15, 2004 by ladyhawk

I've owned many wireless phones from the age of the "brick" to now. I wanted to combine my PDA needs from my Compaq 3955, my phone needs from my LGE VX4400 and my notebook computer. Verizon recommended the Thera by Audiovox. So I ordered one. Now I am very glad I got such a "good" deal on one. The street price for it is way too high. This is one of the weakest phones I have ever used and the operating system locks up between four and six times a week. The screen has to be on the brightest setting in order to see it. The programs available for use on the Thera are nice and I use them well. The inability to alphabetize the phone list is a real pain. The ability to use it as a speaker phone is nice, particularly in the car. The reception is so poor that I almost have to be next to a tower to be able to get a call through. The text messenger gets through about half the time. My recommendation, if you like frustration, buy one!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Major Drawback

 

Oct 17, 2002 by Ryan McGee

One HUGE drawback to this phone is the watcher program's address book. It is supposed to import the names and numbers from your PC2002 contact manager. It does that, however it DOES NOT sort them in alphabetical order. You should be able to click on a row of letters at the top to go that letters list of names, however, since they are not in alphabetical order and there is no way to sort them you cannot do this. As I have over 2000 contacts in my contact manager this is a major hurdle that must be overcome. I called audiovox's tech support and was informed that they have contacted Toshiba and as of yet there is no fix. I was told "that is just the way it works" (or doesn't work hehe).

Buyer Beware!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Poor Phone - Standard Pocket PC

 

Sep 26, 2002 by rossarmstrong

The 2032 cannot be used as a handheld phone. Speakerphone or earbud use only. The phone can only dial from contacts or manual entry only - you cannot paste a number to dial. Battery life is poor - drains quickly (less than 6 hours) especially when standby signal strength is poor or lost.
The Pocket PC features are standard. Nothing noteworthy either positive or negative.
I returned this one and will wait for the expected improvements coming soon in the next batch of phone/PDAs.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Toshiba 2032

 

Nov 11, 2002 by Alan House

As one of the first and most comprehensive Pocket PC phones, it is an admirable piece of work. After initial set-up issues with Sprint, It is working flawlessly. I am probably one of the first users in my area having used this phone for 4 months. Everything works as intended, there are only little nit-pick items to fuss about (contacts etc) and theere is now a bluetooth card available now, so it lacks almost nothing, later as the screen quality improves and as a caller ID screen is placed on top of the unit it will address its only shortcomings, as far as not being able to be used as a regular phone just as a speakerphone or with an earbud, exactly, its not a regular cell phone. Internet has good speed and ease of use, and if you must use it as a regular phone turn it upside down adn turn the volume down!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Can't live without my Thera/2032!!!

 

Oct 20, 2002 by stupid_kboy kboy

This thing does most things that my laptop does, but I can't carry in the back of my pocket!!

Listen to mp3s, make voice calls, send emails sms, surf the net, watch vids, play games.....ALL IN ONE DEVICE!!!

Now that Sprint is offering $10 unlimited 3G data plans, I can also go on ICQ and MSN wherever I am......

I have no problems with the Address book. I'm able to dial directly from the MS Contacts application. I think the UI of the dialling application is superior to the TMobile PPC.

And you CAN use this like a handset, just set the volume to the lowest!!

Thanks Toshiba, this device is perfect!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Small onboard memory.

 

Feb 28, 2003 by robert stevens

I didn't like the small amount of on-board memory. i did buy a 128 MB card that was great for software but doesn't help the computers on-board memory usage for running multiple programs at once ,
BUT!!
http://www.pocketpctechs.com/avxmup.asp

I did find pocketpctechs, that will upgrade internal memory for under 100 bucks..
now i have 64mb on-board of memory :)
i can run icq , msn, multi-task and my browser, without running out of on-board memory :) ..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


EXCELLENT PHONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Feb 28, 2005 by casanova4win

This phone is amazing in that its jut like having a computer with you at all times. I have had this phone for 2 months and have had no problems. I bought a 1GB SD card and am now living in music and movie land. This phone is amazing.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great PDA, Phone need work

 

Dec 20, 2004 by bjgemini11

I use my Thera 2032 mostly for it's PDA functions. I have 2 other phones I use for phone functions due to the lack of ease when making calls on 2032. I have no problems with contacts. Had a problem with syncing to PC but that was solved with most recent update to activesync. If I had paid full retail price, I would definitely be upset. Great value for $149 I paid.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2