Phone Scoop

printed September 17, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=14

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sharp  ›

Sharp Z-800 (Audiovox 7900)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  1  

Average Ratings

2.89
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

is that a japanese cell phone?!

 

Jun 13, 2003 by kideeboyee

This is a pretty OK phone. One of my relatives has it and i decided to test it out. Pros, color display, antennae placement it cool, (more phones antennas should be placed on the top, i think) and BREW. Cons, battery life and display is weak. Overall, this is an average phone by audiovox or sharp. i really enjoy the antennae placement because lots of cell phones in japan look like the sharp Z800. but there are other Japanese companies like sanyo, panasonic, and nec so just be patient and maybe sharp might make a phone like the Z800 but with better features or other manufactures may be ahead. Come on Sharp!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Z-800

 

Jan 10, 2003 by JOHN JOIN

This phone gets a 5 because of many things but the main reason I will give this phone a 5 is because of the ability to use the phone without having a master degree. This phone is cool, simple, and reliable. The outside lcd display on the V60 and 720 are nice but is not something that is a priority for my usage. Brew is always nice to have, just in case you need to visit Modtones to get Flock of Seagulls "I ran" as your main ringtone. Its a good phone and serves it purpose.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


OKapeto

 

Dec 3, 2002 by Okapeto

I must say this phone is the best verizon has come up with. The unique Japanese phone antenna placement is what I've been waiting for on American phones. I know people say it's awful and it's Japanese style is well... annoying but for those people who want to be different, this is the best phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The First Interesting Phone from Verizon in Years!

 

Jul 31, 2002 by Peter Wilson

While this phone won't win any awards for sound clarity, it's ease of use is excellent. The color screen is excellent and easy to read, even if it doesn't look as bright as what you see on the box. For the first time in years, I'm actually using my Verizon phone, which is amazing in itself! All their other phones are BOOOOORING! Some complain about the size, however, it is a great form factor, and conforms very confortably to my face. The only question I have is how Sharp could design this phone, with the microphone in the top half of the phone? Astounding! This probably is responsible for the somewhat dissapointing sound quality. In the balance, I greatly enjoy using this phone, and when people see it, they love it! (When is the last time anyone said that about a Verizon phone?) It definitely gets my thumbs up!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


NICE PHONE

 

Jul 24, 2002 by Billy Johnson

Good phone-wait for price to drop

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Z-800 Vroom, Vroom!

 

Jul 21, 2002 by Ralph Nader

Sadly enough I tried those phone out and it was a great phone but the biggest the complaint is that if it was car it would be a 1970 Buick. But for the most part the color LCD screen and the BREW capability. Opens up the best service for any junkie to get there fix. BREW is so addictive to the point were users find themsleves passed out over there desk w/ there BREW in one hand, handset in another. Bottomline the only other phone that gives this phone a run for its money would be the Sanyo-5150.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Z800, neat, but short of functionality

 

Aug 16, 2002 by Kazbah 2

Phone lacks a usable phone book, unless all your contact names have only one phone number.

The graphics are neat, but because of the above, you have to use multiple "incoming call" graphic slots for the same person.

Function/features: use of keys to navigate are awkward. If you like moving from M to softkey to M to softkey, you'll like it. The keys/menus were less than intuitive nor friendly.

kz

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Do not buy the z-800 phone. It is not worth it

 

Jul 23, 2002 by aa799

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


FEATURES

 

Jun 4, 2002 by DAN SCHOENHERR

OVER ALL THIS AN EXCITING NEW PHONE, THE LOOK, THE DIFFERENT USES ARE GREAT, BUT IS LACKING IN 2 BIG WAYS.

1: THE PHONE DOESNT HAVE A 2-WAY SPEAKER CAPABILITY. THAT IS BEGINNING TO BE A SOUGHT AFTER FEATURE OF PHONES NOW DAYS.

2: THIS IS THE BIGGEST, FOR BEING A 400.00 UNIT, THEY SHOULD HAVE MADE THIS PHONE A 1RXTT, 3G CAPABLE PHONE, THIS MIGHT BE THE DOWNFALL OF SALES OF THIS UNIT. HAVING THE NICE BREW BROWSER IS GREAT, BUT NOT BEING ABLE TO DOWNLOAD OR CONNECT TO THE INTERNET ON A COLOR HANDSET FASTER THAN 14.4 IS A HUGE SET BACK IN THE NOW GROWING MOBILE INTERNET MARKET SEGMENT

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Why you should wait

 

Jun 13, 2002 by Luca Budimir

At first sight it kind of scared me because of its size. I previously owned the v60c and this was a big change for me. I liked the big display, however it looks nothing like the its shown on the net or in advertisements. The colors are much duller and less sharp. I had real trouble with the signal strenght which was fine on the V60c. All these things may be due to it just coming out, however at that price ($400) I expected more. I recently went back to my V60c. I'll wait till it goes down in price or they get out all the bugs.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1